Friday, November 21, 2014

Tour & Giveaway: The Prospective Princess, by Kary Rader!



The Prospective Princess

~By: Kary Rader

~Published: September 23rd, 2014

~Publisher: Boroughs Publishing Group

~Length: 139 Pages

~Genres: New Adult, Fantasy, Romance


~Synopsis:

Giving up the beautiful Lady Brislyn is only the first step toward Commander Marchant saving her from Darkness—and then winning her heart.

A MAN AMONG PRINCES

Five years ago Lady Brislyn of Komissa fell in love. Five years ago her heart was broken, never to be mended. But when one careless act finds her abducted by marauders and forcibly betrothed to a seductive enemy prince, there’s only one man she can count on to free her: Her father’s brilliant—and devastatingly handsome—military commander. The very man who rejected her.

Five years ago, Commander Marchant rebuffed the fifteen-year-old daughter of his duke. Now she is a woman grown, a Gifted musician whose song captured his heart. Yet Brislyn is not so easily reclaimed. To save her from one royal suitor, he must make a show of engaging her to another. Then March will rescue the kidnapped lady or die in the perilous journey to reach her. If he can survive the storms, the pirates, and the princes, he will win back Brislyn’s heart.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ About the Author ~

Kary Rader is an award-winning author, stay-at-home mom, and part-time Twitter sage, because one shouldn’t have to use more than 140 characters to impart wisdom.

She lives with her husband, three kids, and one low-maintenance kitty cat in Dallas/Ft.Worth Metroplex.

Whether contemporary or fantasy, spicy or sweet, her stories always have true love, romance, and lots of humor.

~ Connect with Kary Online ~


~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ Giveaway!! ~



~Tour & Giveaway organized by Reading Addiction Book Tours.

Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Release Day Blitz & Giveaway: Kissing Frogs, by Alisha Sevigny!!


Kissing Frogs

~By: Alisha Sevigny

~Released: November 18th, 2014

~Published By: Swoon Romance

~Length: 231 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Fairy Tale Retelling



~Synopsis:

Popular party girl and high school senior Jessica Scott has a secret: she used to be a nerd — a big one; a goody two-shoes, grade-skipping, all-state spelling bee champ. But she lost the braces, put on some contacts, and applied all her academic genius to studying and imitating the social elite. Now she rules the school from the upper echelon of the high school realm. With her cool new friends and hottest-guy-in-school boyfriend, life’s a beach — and that’s where she’s headed for Spring Break. That is, until her teacher breaks the bad news that she’s failing Biology — and her only chance to make up the grade is to throw away the culminating trip of her hard-earned popularity and join the Conservation Club in Panama to save the Golden Frog.

Unable to let go of her faded college dreams, Jess finds herself in a foreign country with a new social crew, and one handsome face that stands out as a blast from the past, threatening to ruin her queen bee reputation. Travis Henley may have grown up, but he still likes to play childish games and as payment for retrieving Jess’ lost ring from the bottom of a jungle pool, he wants three dates. While Jess does battle with spiders, snakes, wildfires and smart mean girls, she desperately tries to hang on to the last vestiges of her popular existence like the Golden Frog from its webbed toe. But as she starts to care about something more than tanning and texting – a species on the verge of disappearing forever – she may realize the worth of her inner nerd, and the one frog in particular that could be her prince in disguise.

Set in the lush and tropical El Valle de Anton, this modern fairytale re-imagining of “The Frog Prince” is toe-curling contemporary romance with an environmentalist heartbeat, in the tradition of Stephanie Perkins.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ About the Author ~

Alisha Sevigny holds a degree in Sociology and Professional Writing from the University of Victoria, is a film school graduate, former literary agent and current Social Media and Communications Director for an award-winning English school. A shameless romantic, Alisha and her husband have travelled the world together. On a recent trip to Panama with their new daughter, Alisha fell in love with the country, culture, and their national emblem, the Golden Frog. She was inspired to write her first Young Adult novel, Kissing Frogs. Born and raised in Kitimat, British Columbia, Alisha has always had a strong connection to the environment and conservationist spirit. She now lives in Toronto with her family.

~ Connect with Alisha Online ~


~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ Excerpt ~

I flop down on my bed, gripped by a sudden fierce home sickness, wishing I had my phone. I have no idea what’s happening with Miles. Alyssa, Ky, and the rest of the crew are probably lounging by a pool having a grand ol’ time, not even missing me one bit. And I’m trapped in a foreign country with people who can barely tolerate me. Not to mention my former nemesis. 
Twisting the ring around my finger, a picture of my old self pops up, entering a classroom, late and puffing, red-cheeked and frizzy-haired. The door slams behind me and everyone looks up. In the frantic run to find my class my shirt has come untucked. I look down and see a white splotch of toothpaste on my red pants. So not the impression I want to make on my first day of middle school.
I look around for a seat, feeling awkward and like a total loser. My gaze lands on a familiar face: Travis Henley. He’d been a year ahead of me in elementary. He gives a cool nod of acknowledgement. Probably still sore I’d kicked his butt in the school’s Spelling Sensations contest. I’d won with “inoculate.” He’d spelled it with two n’s. The lingering smugness fades as I realize the seat next to him is the only one empty. Everyone’s staring. I scurry over, arms crossed tightly over my books.
“Anyone sitting here?” I whisper. 
“Well, well, look who’s too smart for sixth grade.” He looks me up and down, taking in my disheveled appearance. “Have a seat, Messy Jessie,” he drawls. 
And the name stuck. He’d teased me mercilessly right up until graduation, when he’d stuck some toilet paper on the back of my gown as I walked up to receive my award of academic achievement. 
Fortunately, we’d gone to different high schools—though apparently not anymore—and I spent that summer before freshman year reinventing myself. Luckily I was a quick study, and during that first year learned to hide the fact that I had a brain. It seemed to make people feel more comfortable. Sophomore year was marginally better, and by junior year “Messy Jessie” was long gone. I applied my book smarts to carefully analyze the formulas for popularity and through strategic learning and hard work, clawed my way up out of Geeksville and into the realm of the Socially Acceptable. Thanks to my mom’s Pilates connections and a bit of luck, I’d managed to befriend the popular crowd, miraculously landing in the stratosphere of the high school hierarchy. 
And now it all could be ruined because of some stupid frogs. And Travis, if he decides to spill the beans about my former self. I’m sure Chrissy and Kiki would love to share the news with the rest of Cassels. Nothing like outing the phony.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ Giveaway!! ~


~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~Blitz & Giveaway organized by YA Bound Book Tours.

Sunday, November 16, 2014

Book Blitz: Tainted Energy by Lynn Vroman!!

 

 Tainted Energy on Goodreads

Tainted Energy
(The Energy Series, #1)

~By: Lynn Vroman

~Published: November 4th, 2014

~Publisher: Untold Press

~Length: 304 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Fantasy, Romance




~ Synopsis:

For seventeen-year-old Lena, living in the trailer park with the rest of town’s throwaways isn’t exactly paradise. Dealing with a drunken father who can't keep his fists to himself doesn’t help matters either. The only good thing in her life, other than track, is the mysterious man who visits her dreams, promising to find her.

When a chair burns her arms, Lena chalks it up to stress-induced crazy. Yet as bizarre incidents escalate, even being crazy can’t explain it all away… until one day dream guy does find her.
Tarek lost Lena seventeen years ago after she was accused of treason and marked Tainted. He finally discovers her reborn on Earth into a life of suffering as punishment for her crime.

However, someone else has already found her… and wants her dead. Willing to sacrifice everything, he fights to keep her safe so she can live the only life she’s ever known—even if that life doesn’t include him.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

 ~ About the Author ~

 Goodreads Author Page
Born in Pennsylvania, Lynn spent most of her childhood, especially during math class, daydreaming. Today, she spends an obscene amount of time in her head, only now she writes down all the cool stuff.

With a degree in English Literature, Lynn used college as an excuse to read for four years straight. She lives in the Pocono Mountains with her husband, raising the four most incredible human beings on the planet. She writes young adult novels, both fantasy and contemporary.

~ Connect with Lynn Online ~


Check out an interview with Lynn on this blog, and one at this podcast!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ Excerpt ~

There's no place like home…There's no place like…Oh, wait, there is. Rusted palaces just like mine usually found on Cops…Bad boys, bad boys…shut up, brain.
I wasn't running away. Swear to God. I thought about it, though. Thought about it every morning when I followed the path through the woods to the school and back. After last night, escaping sounded perfect. Not possible, but pretty damn great to think about.
The daily ritual gave me an hour with the frost biting my nose and dead leaves crunching under my old sneakers. Running was kind of mandatory, seeing as how track started next week, but I loved it.
Out here, there was no dumb shit dad, no helpless mom. No worry an anxiety attack would interfere with my ability to ignore school's rigid caste system, of which I stayed planted in the bottom rung–the untouchables. Trees didn't care where I lived. Squirrels didn't judge my clothes. But as usual, the view of the trailer park ended my life-pardon.
I stopped at the wood's edge for a minute, slowing my breath. One month and I was out of here. Not even the crazy shit from last night could dampen that excitement.
One foot met muddy asphalt as a breeze pushed through the sweaty hair stuck on my forehead and rustled the barren tree limbs. The air felt warm on my face, defrosting my runny nose–a deep contrast to the crisp, spring morning breeze. 
Odd, but hey, warm air? I'd take it.
Then I heard it again, the same voice from last night.
Lena. My name carried through another bout of warm air, soft but clear.
"Hello?"
It's time.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~



~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ Giveaway!! ~


~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~Blitz & Giveaway organized by YA Bound Book Tours.

Friday, November 14, 2014

Release Day Blitz for the Spring Knight, by Mia Hoddell!


 Spring Knight on Goodreads
Spring Knight
(Seasons of Change, #4)

~By: Mia Hoddell

~Released: November 14th, 2014

~Length: 181 Pages
(Novella)

~Genres: Young Adult, Romance




~ Synopsis:


She wants the leading role in everything but her own life.

Kayleigh Barrow always gets the leading role. Top of her class, well liked, and a good actress, she’s most comfortable on stage where she can pretend to be someone else and forget the real Kayleigh exists. However, when auditions for the latest production are opened up to the entire university, the lines between fantasy and reality start to blur.

The last person Kayleigh expected to audition was Aiden Hanson. Renowned player and popular on campus, Kayleigh has tried to conceal her feeling from him for years. She knows it would be stupid to think he’d want her or an actual relationship, but when they’re thrown together in the production, Kayleigh can no longer hide from him.

No matter how much she tries to distances herself, he’s always there. Neither of them can deny their attraction, but Kayleigh has to question Aiden’s motives. He’s never had a serious relationship and she refuses to be another conquest. Yet, when her acting starts to become real and she can no longer hide behind her character, Kayleigh must decide whether Aiden’s worth the risk, or if he’s only after a challenge and will end up breaking her heart.

Spring Knight is the 4th book in the Seasons of Change series. However, all books are standalone reads and can be enjoyed separately, but can also be enjoyed as part of a series because characters overlap.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

 Seasons of Change series on Amazon


You can also download the first three Amazon best-selling novellas:
Summer Demons
Winter Angel
Autumn Ghosts
for only 99c/77p here!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ About the Author ~

 Goodreads Author Page
Mia Hoddell lives in the UK with her family and two cats. She spends most of her time writing or reading, loves anything paranormal and has an overactive imagination that keeps her up until the early hours of the morning.

With three poems published before the age of sixteen, Mia moved on to short stories but finding she had too much to tell with too little space, Mia progressed to novels. She started her first series (The Wanderer Trilogy) at the age of fourteen and since then hasn’t stopped writing. Elemental Killers is her second series and with an ever growing list of ideas, Mia is trying to keep up with the speed at which her imagination generates them.


~ Connect with Mia Online ~


Subscribe to Mia's Newsletter for information on
 ARCs, giveaways and new releases!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ Excerpt ~

Black. It was the only colour she could see as she stood on top of the platform. Her vision had tunnelled with the waves of vertigo that hit her body, allowing only the dark colour into her eye line. With the strength of a gale force wind, it pounded on her chest, causing her to stumble back as its icy hold sent a shiver along her spine. The break from seeing the ground wasn’t enough, though. She couldn’t go far enough to feel safe. If she moved more than one step in any direction she would fall.
She felt dizzy ... lightheaded.
It was the worst possible time to find out she was scared of heights, but maybe it was the thought of jumping rather than the actual distance. Not only did she feel faint, but also sick. Kayleigh didn’t even know how those two actions could combine, but she let out a nervous giggle and hoped another type of blackness would capture her mind before she made a complete fool of herself. It probably made her sound insane, but she couldn’t stop the sound.
No longer could she find the answer to why she was on a platform, willing herself to fall. It had seemed logical and easy on the climb up, but now she suddenly felt as if she was standing on top of a building, rather than a few metres in the air. Her heart was pounding in her chest; the rhythm frantic as she urged herself to peer over the edge once more. Palms slick with sweat, her fingers slipping over each other, she twitched nervously as she strained her neck to catch a glimpse of the floor.
“I can do this. Just lean back and it will all be over,” she muttered to herself, only adding to the crazy image she had going on.

People were shuffling anxiously on the ground, unsettled by her actions. “Block them out, Kayleigh. You can do this,” she chanted ritually under her breath before she inhaled sharply. Slowly counting, she exhaled with a deep sigh when she reached twenty. Her whole body relaxed with the action and Kayleigh closed her eyes, trying to find a sense of peace and stillness. Unfortunately, all it did was make her knees weaker. Reopening her eyes, Kayleigh kept her head up and her chin parallel with the floor. If she didn’t look down, what she was about to do couldn’t scare her … at least that’s what she told herself.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~Blitz organized by the author.

Thanks for dropping by and checking out this awesome series!  
Feel free to comment below, and be sure to follow us! :D

Thursday, November 13, 2014

Cover Reveal: Feel, by Karen-Anne Stewart

Feel

~By: Karen-Anne Stewart 

~Expected Release Date: December 2014

~Genres: New Adult, Paranormal, Romance


~ Synopsis:

The one whose emotions I can’t feel is the one who makes me feel the most.

I was a sensitive, at least that’s what I was told by the boy who saved me from the overwhelming emotions that consumed my soul, the boy who saved me from myself when my gift became stronger. Through the years, he was my redemption, my reason to take my next breath…then, he was gone.

Jensen always told me I was strong, but I didn’t believe him until I was forced to be strong on my own, and I kept breathing without him. I’ve taken 42 million breaths since the moment he sent me away. Now, four years later, he’s standing in front of me, and I can barely breathe.

This isn’t just a story about the abilities I possess; it’s a story about something much stronger…the love of the man who possesses every part of me.

***Disclaimer – Feel is intended for readers 18+ due to strong language, mature scenes, and some violence.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ About the Author ~

Karen-Anne Stewart has always adored reading and has now fallen in love with writing. Her written works are The Rain Trilogy: Saving Rain, Healing Rain, and After the Rain. Her debut novel, Saving Rain: The First Novel in The Rain Trilogy, was a nominee for the Book Junkie’s Choice Awards and is a nominee for the 2013 RONE Awards.

When Karen-Anne isn’t writing, she enjoys spending time with her family and friends, hiking, and visiting new places. She fuels her addiction of creating new stories by her only other addiction, caffeine, and listening to a myriad of musical genres. Tucked away near the Blue Ridge Mountains, Karen-Anne lives with her husband, daughter, two dogs, and their cat. She plans on writing new adult romance as long as her fingers maintain dexterity.

~ Connect with the Author Online ~




~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Thanks so much for stopping by!

~Rose
@Desert Rose Reviews

Tuesday, November 11, 2014

Cover Reveal: Sparrow Way, by Annie Rose Welch!!

 Sparrow Way on Goodreads

Sparrow Way

(Saving Angels #5)

~By: Annie Rose Welch

~Genres: New Adult, Fiction, Fantasy, Romance

If you want to check out the first 4 books in the series, please visit the series page on Goodreads!!

~ Synopsis:

The final journey of the Saving Angels series.  

All roads lead you home.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ About the Author ~

 Goodreads Author Page
Born and raised in New Orleans, Annie has a habit of shortening her words and telling long stories. She speaks with a southern flair and cooks with it too. At the tender age of twenty- one, she hitched up her wagons (took her first plane ride) and moved out west to the big shake (California). Her writing career began one sleepless night when she imagined a gorgeous woman and a man with maniacal hair floating above her like lightening bugs falling from the sky. Curious about them, their story, and why they were floating around in her head, she sat down and penned (typed) her first novel, Marigny Street. A dream come true for her, she hasn't stopped writing since. She loves a damn good love story, always has, no matter what the genre. She is particularly moved by imperfect love that in its own unique way is perfect, the notion of love at first sight, soul mates, and things that are generally out of the norm.

When she's not writing she enjoys dabbling in photography and finding new, inspirational music to add to her collection. She currently (still) resides in the big shake (although her southern roots are calling her home) with her husband, daughter, and their two peculiar dogs, Boudreaux and Tabasco (who, call her crazy, bark with an accent). 

For lagniappe (a little extra), a virtual cup of café au lait and beignets, please visit Annie's website.

She can also be found on:


~*~*~*~*~*~*~




~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Thanks for stopping by, and please feel free to follow us!

Keep Creating!

~Rose
@Desert Rose Reviews

Monday, November 10, 2014

Book Blitz Spotlight: Sanguinary, by Margo Bond Collins!




Sanguinary

~By: Margo Bond Collins

~Published: October 8th, 2014

~Length: 188 Pages

~Genres: Fantasy, Romance


~ Synopsis:

Only fifty years left before vampires rule the world.

When Dallas police detective Cami Davis joined the city's vampire unit, she planned to use the job as a stepping-stone to a better position in the department.

But she didn't know then what she knows now: there's a silent war raging between humans and vampires, and the vampires are winning.

So with the help of a disaffected vampire and an ex-cop addict, Cami is going undercover, determined to solve a series of recent murders, discover a way to overthrow the local Sanguinary government, and, in the process, help win the war for the human race.

But can she maintain her own humanity in the process? Or will Cami find herself, along with the rest of the world, pulled under a darkness she cannot oppose?

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ About the Author ~

About the Author Margo Bond Collins is the author of urban fantasy, contemporary romance, and paranormal mysteries. She has published a number of novels, including Sanguinary, Taming the Country Star, Legally Undead, Waking Up Dead, and Fairy, Texas

She lives in Texas with her husband, their daughter, and several spoiled pets. Although writing fiction is her first love, she also teaches college-level English courses online. 

She enjoys reading romance and paranormal fiction of any genre and spends most of her free time daydreaming about heroes, monsters, cowboys, and villains, and the strong women who love them—and sometimes fight them.

~ Connect with Margo Online ~

Email: MargoBondCollins@gmail.com

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ Excerpt ~

"Ooh," the taller woman said, "your friend doesn't like it when you flirt." 
I glared at her. Vampires should not know more about me than I do. 
"I'll have to see that she gets over it," a voice drawled from behind me. I whipped my head around in time to see a man standing up from a barstool behind me. I hadn't even noticed he was there
God knows how I could have missed him. 
He wore jeans and a dark blue button-down shirt. He had on dark brown cowboy boots, and as he turned away from the bar, he picked up a black felt cowboy hat from the seat next to him, placing it on his head. On anyone else, I might have assumed that the hats and boots were an affectation. On him, they looked perfect. He was utterly beautiful, with bright green eyes, and dark hair that curled down to barely brush the back of his collar.
I am undercover, I reminded myself sternly. Here to do a job. 
When Garrett caught my gaze in his, flicking his glance toward the cowboy vamp, it was all I could do to keep from sighing aloud. 
Would it have killed my partner to be a little more descriptive when he briefed me?
Of course that was the vampire cowboy I had to get close to tonight. 
No making eyes at the informants, Cami. 
But damn, he was hot.
"Nice scars," he said, sliding his gaze along my bared shoulder. 
"Thanks," I said, almost breathless. 
"But I thought you didn't do Un-Claimed strays, Reese," the short woman said, managing to both pout and smile at the same time. 
And I am absolutely not attracted to vampires.
I could keep telling myself that.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

 ~ Interview ~

with Margo Bond Collins

When did you start writing? What has your writing life been like?
For as long as I can remember, I’ve been making up stories. The first story I remember actually writing down was basically fan-fiction of The Wizard of Oz. I wrote it in long-hand in a yellow legal pad. I’ve been writing ever since. But about ten years ago, a friend suggested I join in National Novel Writing Month (nanowrimo.org). Until then, I had always written short stories. That year, I finished the first draft of what would eventually become Legally Undead—it will be my third published novel, but it’s the first one I wrote.

I ended up as an English major in college because I was fascinated by the ways stories work. And then I went on to graduate school because I couldn’t figure out what else to do. I ended up with a Ph.D. in literature almost by accident; I just never quit wanting to learn about all the stories in the world!

So now I teach literature and writing in my day job, and the rest of the time, I write, both as a fiction author and as an academic.

What gave you the idea for this book?
Most of my ideas come to me almost in passing, when I see something that catches my attention. In the case of Sanguinary, it was a color. My husband and I have season tickets to the Dallas Opera, and the interior walls of the Winspear Opera House—the ones that separate the lobby from the theater itself—are a gorgeous dark red. As we were walking out one night, I glanced back and saw that the tint of the outer glass walls turned the inner walls to a blood-red. At the same time, I saw a woman in a dark red dress of the same color. And of course that led to thoughts of vampires and murder (doesn't that happen with everyone?! Or is it just sicko writers?)—and the story spun out from there.

How often do you write, and how much?
I write something every day, whether it’s academic writing, fiction, or my blog. I’ve recently started making sure that no matter what else I may be writing, I write something fictional every single day. “How much” varies. I aim for a minimum of 500 words a day—my average word-count for thirty minutes of writing. I generally write more than that, but sometimes I don’t quite reach it. Last night, for example, I managed to write one sentence just before I fell into bed. But I made sure to get that one sentence down so I could continue to claim that I write every single day! 

Which authors do you admire and why?
Too many to count! Because I’m a literature professor, I have piles and piles of favorite authors. Right now, though, I’m particularly fond of Neil Gaiman, Robin McKinley, Holly Black, Ann Aguirre, and Melanie Karsak. What I love about all of them is their ability to create such realistic worlds, to draw me in and keep me interested in the stories they spin out.

Where do you write and what do you use: PC, laptop or MAC?
I have an office that I use for all my work: academic writing, fiction writing, editing, and online teaching. My desk is against a window so I can see outside. I’m surrounded by books and papers. I write directly on my laptop, but when I get stuck, I sometimes switch to handwriting; this seems to shift my brain onto a different track and helps me get over writer’s block. 

What are you working on at the moment?
Piles of projects! I’m currently working on the next entry in my Hometown Heroes series, a contemporary romance novel. I’m working on the sequels to Fairy, Texas, Waking Up Dead and Legally Undead. And I'm working on the next Night Shift book.

What are your writing goals for the rest of 2014?
Always keep writing! I have three works in progress that I plan to complete. And I also have two others that I want to get to. So I guess that means my goals are to finish several more novels. (I’m suddenly realizing that I might be insane . . . )

Any advice for aspiring writers?
The very best advice I ever got was just this: keep writing new things. Always have a work in progress. Finish writing a piece, do a quick edit, and submit it somewhere for publication. Then move on to the next project. Don’t wait to hear back—that way lies madness! If it’s rejected (and often it will be; that’s the nature of writing for publication), don’t let it get you down. Just send it out again and go back to your work in progress.

Thanks so much for having me today!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ Guest Post ~
By Margo Bond Collins

My Top Five Favorite Vampire Books/Series


I loved Black’s short story of the same name and was initially a little disappointed to discover that the novel was not, in fact, a continuation of the same story but rather a new story set in the same world. But that disappointment quickly disappeared as Black’s novel drew me in. The vampires here are horrifying—and being the single (potential) exception to that rule makes the love-interest vampire equally terrifying and attractive, adding up to the kind of vicarious adrenaline rush that draws me to vampire tales in the first place.

Sunshine by Robin McKinley 

I re-read this book every year or two—I just finished the latest re-reading in November. McKinley does a beautiful job of setting up a world that is almost, but not exactly, like our own. The eponymous protagonist almost seems to ramble sometimes, but the voice is perfectly her own and the things she reveals about herself are beautifully woven back into the plot. Also, the vampires are creepy as all get-out!  

Quiver by Holly Luhning 
Unlike most of the books I read, Quiver is not speculative fiction. It’s a psychological thriller about obsession—specifically, obsession with Elizabeth Bathory, the psychotic sixteenth-century Hungarian countess who bathed in the blood of her (many!) victims in an attempt to make herself younger. Luhning’s depiction of a dissatisfied academic pulled further into a world of horror and intrigue is both compelling and unsettling. So this isn’t really a “vampire” novel in the strictest sense—but it draws on vampire mythology in interesting ways.  

Guilty Pleasures (Anita Blake, Book 1) by Laurell K. Hamilton 

This was probably the first book I ever heard called a “urban fantasy”—though the term Hamilton used for it was “paranormal mystery.” In the early novels of this series, Anita Blake, is based more on the gritty noir detective than the romance heroine. Though the series shifts toward the erotic later, the early novels are still among my favorite paranormal mysteries/urban fantasies.


This series has landed on my favorite vampires and my favorite shapeshifters lists. I’m a fan of shapeshifter novels in general, and of this series in particular. I like Hunter’s twist on the shapeshifter standards—in these novels, Jane shares her body and her consciousness with a big cat she calls Beast. Watching the two of them negotiating their shared life is almost as much fun as watching them work through whatever mysteries and problems come their way because of Jane’s job as bodyguard to vampires.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~Book Blitz organized by the author's assistant.

Thank you for stopping by!  Feel free to follow our blog!

Keep Creating!