Tuesday, January 17, 2017

YA Paranormal Adventure!
*Review*

Hiya guys! Been a while since I've done a simple review post, and it's quite refreshing!

As you may or may not know, one of my goals this year is to read a book a week, and get myself back into the habit of reading. Part of that means I am hoping to have a review a week to post here!

Anyway, the book I read last week was one I've been wanting to read for a couple of years, and I love the cover! I just wish I would have enjoyed it as much as I enjoy the cover. =/

 The Mind Readers
~Released: December 7th, 2010

~Length: 238 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Fantasy, Supernatural, Romance


Cameron Winters is a freak. Fortunately, no one but her family knows the truth …that Cameron can read minds. For years Cameron has hidden behind a facade of normalcy, warned that there are those who would do her harm. When gorgeous and mysterious Lewis Douglas arrives he destroys everything Cameron has ever believed and tempts her with possibilities of freedom. Determined to embrace her hidden talents, Cameron heads to a secret haven with Lewis; a place where she meets others like her, Mind Readers.

But as Cameron soon finds out some things are too good to be true. When the Mind Readers realize the extent of Cameron’s abilities, they want to use her powers for their own needs. Cameron suddenly finds herself involved in a war in which her idea of what is right and wrong is greatly tested. In the end she’ll be forced to make a choice that will not only threaten her relationship with Lewis, but her very life.


Check out my review below! 


Friday, January 6, 2017

New Year...Now What?

Hiya guys! Hope your year is starting out well. Can you believe it's 2017? Most people simply seem to be glad 2016 is over, but it wasn't bad for me. So really, this year will be a regular year, no special "we made it" feeling.


I've spent the past week pondering this year, and last. It's a ritual I do each time a new year begins - I analyze where I'm at now, versus where I was the previous year, five years, ten years, etc. It helps me grow, and figure out where I'm going from here.


Each year, it seems as though I get further from achieving goals I set, and yet, I set more goals. It's all part of the process of life, I suppose, but it's sometimes frustrating this time of year, with so many people talking about goal setting and resolutions.


This year, though, I'm going to do something different. I'm not going to make a resolution list, because really, I never stick to them. I want to, but it never happens. Best laid plans, and all that.

What I will do, though, is admit to some goals I am going to put more effort into making happen, while also admitting they may not, and that's alright.


So, this is my "I'm working on it" list for 2017, as it pertains to the book world, and this blog.

1) I miss reading. I want to read more. In years when my reading game is strong, I've read in excess of 500 books. When it's a poor reading year, I'm lucky to read one. Since I have no idea of whether this year will allow much spare time for reading, I'm going to set what seems to be a realistic idea for a goal. One book a week, with an overall hope of reading 50 books this year. Fingers crossed!


2) Starting up my YouTube channel for this blog.


3) Get back into blogging more, and get better at it. I've already committed to this blog again, and decided to stick with it. That being decided, I need to work on some things to make it pop. Going to be working on that.


4) Connect with more readers. I used to have a good set of bookish friends. Granted, Shelfari going down early last year is a major part of those connections dwindling, but still. Not a good enough reason. I want to make more connections again, and be more active in the book community in general.


Four areas to work on, and each seems realistic. We'll see how it goes!


What are some of the goals you have for this year? Are you setting any resolutions? Let me know in the comments below!

Thanks for visiting! =D


Tuesday, January 3, 2017

*New Contemporary Fiction*
"Apocalypse All The Time" by David S. Atkinson!

 Book Tour!
Hiya guys! Welcome to 2017! We made it through another year of "the world will end this year!" predictions!

In fitting fashion, DRR is amused to share a brand new Contemporary novel! This humorous exploration of humanity's fascination with the end times, and what impact such a fascination has on the way we live our lives, is one we enjoyed.

Check it out, and learn more about the author in an interview, after you watch the book trailer! =D


Apocalypse All The Time


 Apocalypse All The Time
~Released: January 1st, 2017

~Length: 159 Pages

~Genres: Contemporary, Literary Fiction


Doesn’t it seem as if someone issues a new apocalypse prediction every week? Y2K? The Mayan apocalypse? The Rapture? Doesn’t it seem endless? As opposed to the traditional trend of post-apocalyptic literature, Apocalypse All the Time is post-post-apocalypticism.

Marshall is sick of the apocalypse happening on a weekly (if not daily) basis. Life is constantly in peril, continually disrupted, but nothing significant ever happens. The emergency is always handled. Always. Marshall wants out; he wants it all to stop . . . one way or another. Even if he has to end the world himself.

Apocalypse All the Time explores humanity’s fascination with the end times and what impact such a fascination has on the way we live our lives.

Tuesday, December 27, 2016

*New YA Fantasy*
"Light in My Dark" by Jean Gilbert & William Dresden!

Book Blitz!

Hiya guys! How was your Christmas? If you didn't celebrate yesterday, what did you do this weekend?

Today, DRR has a YA Fantasy, published about two months ago! We've added an excerpt for you to check out, so see if this book is one you'd like to add to your lists! Also, be sure to enter the giveaway at the end of the post before you go!


 Light in My Dark
~Released: October 21st, 2016

~Publisher: Rogue House Publishing

~Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

On sale for $1.99 for a limited time!

Two boys love her. Two worlds need her. Only she can save them both.

Sixteen-year-old Harper Deveraux has longed for an adventure ever since her mother died of cancer four years ago. Much to her dismay, she is stuck in Glen Eden, a small mountain town in upstate New York that does little to fuel her hopes and dreams.

Another year of high school has begun, and with the Moon Dance only a few weeks away, Harper suddenly finds herself torn between the affections of two boys: her best friend Jack, and a new boy from the City named Knes who might not be from this world.

Strange things begin to happen in Glen Eden when Harper uncovers a mystery that involved her mother and a realm shrouded in darkness that lies beyond the wall... A realm that Knes intends to take her to. Only Jack stands in his way.

Light In My Dark, is an action-packed modern YA fantasy, filled with dark forces, love, and self-discovery.

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Merry Christmas!!

Hiya peeps! We are soooo excited that it's this time of year again - it's our favorite time of year!


We've been loving the Christmas music, decorations, and wonderful mood everyone has been in this year. Between the #sharingiscaring posts spreading love in the book/author community, to the acts of kindness we've seen around, our faith in humanity has been restored somewhat.


We appreciate all of you, and hope to connect with you even more from here on out!

Love you guys,

~Rose & Ken
@Desert Rose Reviews





Thursday, December 22, 2016

*Holiday Hop & Review*
"Song of the Sending" by Corinne O'Flynn!

Hiya guys! DRR is participating in a Holiday Hop this year, featuring a review of an awesome book! I've been looking forward to reading this one, and this hop gave me the perfect excuse to bump this one up my TBR list. ;)

Check out my thoughts on it, and be sure to enter the giveaway at the end of the post!

Song of the Sending

(The Expatriates, #1)


 Song of the Sending
~Released: October 16th, 2014

~Length: 340 Pages

~Genres: Urban Fantasy


They told him his world was destroyed.
And they were the last to escape.
They thought he was safe.
They were wrong.

Seventeen-year-old Jim Wales can communicate with animals, but that's not why he lives with a traveling carnival. Turns out his family’s been hiding him there since he was little, since someone started hunting all the scholars. Jim is a scholar--someone who can manipulate energy using magic--and he has no idea.

When a message arrives from Jim’s father--who supposedly died twelve years ago--Jim’s whereabouts are discovered, their carnival is attacked, and his mother is kidnapped. On the run with a strange glass map and a single coin, Jim finds himself racing to reclaim the father he thought he’d lost, plotting to save his mother, and discovering the truth about who he is.

But going home isn’t the same as being safe, and trust is everything. 

Thursday, December 15, 2016

*New Release Blitz*
"Home" by Aubrey Kendall!

 Blitz

Hiya everybody! DRR here, sharing a pre-order blitz for a brand new release! This military contemporary romance novel would be a great way to start the new year, so be sure to check it out, and add it to your TBR lists!

 Home

~Expected Publication Date: January 5th, 2017

~Genres: Military Contemporary Romance


Moving into a new town as a child, Rowan befriended two boys named Greg and Mac, eventually earning the kids a nickname of the Three Musketeers. Even as they grew into adulthood, the three would continue their everlasting friendship. 

Now, as adults, Greg and Rowan are married, and he has joined the military. Unexpected twists and turns take the two on a dramatic rollercoaster as Mac is on the outside looking in. 

With Mac’s hands tied behind his back, all he can do is watch and be there for his friends. As the tribulations unfold, Mac is drawn in closer and needs to find a way around his own emotions.

Will their lives be the same? Will Rowan make it through the trials of heartache and pain her new life has taken?