Friday, September 15, 2017

"Ann, Not Annie" by Sage Steadman!

 Book Tour

Hiya peeps! Check out my review for this new release, and be sure to enter the giveaway at the end of the post!

Ann, Not Annie


 Anne Not Annie
~Published: September 20th, 2017

~Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult

On sale for $1.99 until release day!

Ann, not Annie, is tired of her nominal existence and has vowed to turn things around by dating the hottest guy in school, Jacob Waters. Easier said than done since Jacob isn’t even aware she exists. The truth is, due to Ann’s lively temper she spends more time in detention with the rest of the school rejects than she does fantasizing about Jacob Waters wearing spandex.

Her best friend and devout alien believer, Lisa, doesn’t like the changes she’s seeing in her BFF. Neither does Danny Feller, a fellow detention inmate and resident lost boy who has started keeping an extra watchful and unwanted eye on Ann.

When a chance encounter in an empty hallway changes everything, Ann finds all her dreams coming true and she is well on her way to living the perfect life she’s always wanted. But appearances aren’t always what they seem and Ann is going to have to face not just cold hard facts, but also her past.

Tuesday, September 12, 2017

"Touch of Fondness" Audiobook Review!

 Book Tour

Hiya peeps! I've got a new audiobook to share with you today. It's a new adult contemporary romance, and hopefully you'll enjoy it. Not too steamy, check out the excerpt and my review, before you enter the giveaway for a chance to win a $10 gift card!

Touch of Fondness

(Stay In Touch Series, #1)

 Touch of Fondness
~Author: Joy Penny

~Narrator: Susan Marlowe

~Publisher: Snowy Wings Publishing

~Released: July 12, 2017

~Length: 8 hours 17 minutes / 299 Pages

~Genres: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance


Four friends. Four college grads. Four people figuring out that life doesn't always turn out the way you expected.

Brielle Reyes may not have post-college life planned out like some of her friends do, but she figures she'll work for her mother's home cleaning service while job hunting for something that makes use of her history and philosophy degrees. It'll work out as long as she doesn't fall in love. Her last relationship was a disaster and she has no idea where she'll be in a few weeks, let alone the rest of her life. Since the only guy in her age range she sees now on a regular basis is cantankerous if handsome client Archer Ward, she probably won't have a hard time sticking to that vow. Probably.

Archer Ward likes very few things: illustrating as a somewhat-celebrated comic artist and his privacy. When his meddling mother hires him a cleaning service on an almost daily basis because she doesn't fully trust her son to live on his own with his disability, he's at first annoyed - even if his house cleaner is the most beautiful woman he's ever spent more than a few minutes with. When he realizes her dreams may take her far outside of his restricted orbit, he has to decide whether to stifle his interest in her or risk messing up her plans to explore if there's something more between them.

Neither can deny they're growing a little fond of each other, even if falling in love just now makes no sense whatsoever. But how often does love ever make perfect sense?

Monday, September 11, 2017

"Anticipation" by S.D. Thomas!


 Anticipation Blog Tour

Hiya peeps! I'm super excited to share a brand new release with you today. Anticipation is a young adult christian contemporary romance - how awesome is that!? I'm so excited to see more of this genre hitting the shelves, and am so happy to help share and promote this one! It sounds super sweet, so be sure to check it out, see the author's playlist and dream cast, and enter the giveaway at the end of the post!

Anticipation

 Anticipation
~Released: July 2017

~Publisher: Bookerfly Press

~Length: 245 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Christian, Contemporary, Romance


Cassie Smith wasn't expecting to fall in love with her best friend, Mark Santos, or the emotional turmoil she encounters in the relationship. But, this newfound love has her questioning the only commitments she's ever made: to God and to leaving her hometown. Will she change her mind and stay with Mark? Or will she risk everything she's ever known and loved to continue with her original plan?  

Thursday, September 7, 2017

"The Supernatural Pet Sitter" by Diane Moat!

*Be sure to check out this post on my new book blog!

 Book Tour

Hiya peeps! Today is a new audiobook release perfect for the fall season! A middle-grade fantasy fitting for the modern time. Check out the audio excerpt and my review below, before you enter the giveaway at the end of the post! =D

The Supernatural Pet Sitter

(The Magic Thief, #1)


 The Supernatural Pet Sitter
~Author: Diane Moat

~Narrator: Barbara Goldie

~Released: August 3, 2017

~Length: 4 hours 3 minutes / 140 Pages

~Genre: Middle-Grade Fantasy


Every animal can talk to you. You just have to know how to listen.

Pepper Neely is better at this than most, especially because she is in charge of pet sitting all the familiars in her neighborhood. A familiar is a pet magically linked to a witch or warlock. As a gnome, Pepper is no stranger to spells and sorcery. She also knows that, despite their special name, familiars aren’t all that different from regular animals. They get anxious when separated from their people, so Pepper uses her special gnome powers to calm them down. She watches Cranky the high-strung ferret, Frank the laid-back parrot, King Arthur the elderly tortoise, and many others.

Then, something terrible begins happening to the familiars. Someone is stealing their magic! It not only prevents Pepper from communicating with them but breaks their magical connection with their people. When King Arthur’s magic is stolen, his owner’s powers stop working too. Pepper can sense that the tortoise is very scared.

In order to protect the animal's magic, Pepper decides to track down the culprit. With the help of her best friend, Luna, and her brother, Jax, Pepper fights to protect all of the special pets.

Wednesday, August 30, 2017

Audiobook Review for "Vegas to Varanasi" by Shelly Hickman!

*This post is also featured on my new book blog, Desert Rose Word Candy!

 Book Tour

Hiya! Check out this review for Vegas to Varanasi! It's an awesome audiobook, and a fun tour to be a part of!

Vegas to Varanasi


 Vegas to Varnasi

Fortytude, Book One

~Author: Shelly Hickman

~Narrator: Jazmine Ramay

~Released: July 27, 2017

~Length: 6 hours 35 minutes / 235 Pages

~Genres: Romantic Comedy


Anna has never been the beautiful one; she’s always been the nice one. So when the gorgeous man sitting across the table at a wedding reception remembers her from high school—and quite fondly at that—she’s taken off guard.

Formerly overweight and unpopular, Kiran has never forgotten Anna, the one person who was kind to him when no one else could be bothered, and Anna’s a bit flustered as she slowly comes to grips with his intense attraction for her.

In what feels like a romantic dream come true, all-grown-up, hunky Kiran invites Anna on a trip to Varanasi. But her troubled, whack-a-do ex-boyfriend starts interfering, creating drama at every turn, which begs the question, “Can nice girls really finish first?”

Tuesday, August 22, 2017

Blog Update

Hiya peeps! I've got a blog post update for you all, and I'm excited!


When I started Desert Rose Reviews, I hadn't intended for it to be a book blog. I just wanted to share my reviews of stuff, as suggested by a friend to help boost my confidence, and get me out of my shell a bit. 


I had set it up to review everything, not necessarily to be book focused. When I stared it though, I had recently re-discovered my love for books, and was spending most of my time reading. Therefore, my posts were about reviewing books.


I adore this blog, and it's going to keep going! However, I am making some changes.

I'm ready to expand the kinds of reviews I post though, and still want to use this blog to do that. I want to review books, movies, music, food, places, jewelry, clothes, products - anything I can!


Still, I do adore books. They are a huge part of my life, and I love promoting books and authors! So, I've made a second blog, that is specifically a book blog! I'm so stoked!!

Desert Rose Word Candy

 Desert Rose Word Candy

I hope you'll follow that blog and keep up with my book posts. It'll basically be the same stuff I post here, but even more, as I'd like to delve further into the book world...again.


I do hope you'll stick around here though, especially if you have multiple interests, like I do! I'll be reviewing a bunch of stuff, and sharing them all right here.


Thanks a ton for your support, and I hope to see you in future posts! =D

Ciao for now,

~Rose
@Desert Rose



Monday, August 21, 2017

"Masked" by J.D. Wright!

 Book Blitz!

Hiya peeps! Check out this awesome book!

Masked

Superheroes Undercover, #1

 Masked
~Published: August 15th, 2017

~Publisher: Limitless Publishing

~Genres: Paranormal, Superheroes, Young Adult


Vada’s To-Do List:
– Turn 18 (check!)
– Register super name
– Order supersuit
– Attend superhero indoctrination
– Graduate high school
– Start kicking criminal tail

Vada Lawson can’t wait to be a superhero. Born into a family with special powers, she’s been training to fight criminals and villains her whole life. But her indoctrination into the underground super community is derailed when normals start breaking out in superpowers themselves.

Not trained to control their new abilities, the normals are frightened and vulnerable. Then their mutilated corpses begin turning up all over town. What the heck?

Somehow, with the help—and hindrance—of an annoying newly-minted super named Orion, Vada has to stop the chaos before it destroys her and everything she holds dear…and ruins her superhero debut.