Friday, July 3, 2015

*Tour: Author Interview & Giveaway*
"Serina, Sweetheart" by Megan Carney!

 Tour Schedule
*Materials & images provided by Xpresso Book Tours.

 Sarina, Sweetheart
~Published: March 5th 2015 

~Length: 227 Pages 

~Genres: New Adult, Science Fiction


Her name is Sarina Wocek. Her breath is poison. She was not born out of love.

Twenty-three years ago, government officials traced the budding epidemic of hemorrhagic fever HF186-2A in south Florida to the Wocek family and their adorable six-week-old daughter, Sarina. Her father, Gregory, admitted his role in genetically engineering a biological weapon with pride. She was taken to a lab hidden in a rural area of New Hampshire. She hasn’t left since.

Her government keepers could cure her, but they won’t. Genetically engineering a child to be a weapon of mass destruction, that’s unethical. Refining a weapon of mass destruction that someone else created? That’s just being clever.

After twenty-three years of captivity, she escapes. She crosses an ocean to put her father and the lab behind her, but it’s not enough. When she sees the first bleeding sore, she knows she didn’t leave the virus behind either.

The only way she’ll be free is by destroying every trace of the lab. She only has one advantage; she doesn’t care if she makes it out alive.

*Freebie Sale!*
"Eric Elmoor and the Gauntlet of Godric" by Thomas Meyers!

Hey peeps, Rose here.   So, one of my author friends is running an awesome promotion for his book right now, and asked me to share it with you guys.  It's for a book I've reviewed, and really really enjoyed.  You can see my review here, or check out the spotlight below for more info!  This is an awesome book for any fantasy fan, for sure.  It's like the Hobbit/LotR, mixed with Percy Jackson, mixed with I don't know what, but it's awesome!  Check it out, and pick it up today!  Why not, it's Free! :D

Thursday, July 2, 2015

*Review & Spotlight*
"Holding On and Letting Go" by Lucy Kelly!

*Materials & images courtesy of Goodreads; review owned by Desert Rose Reviews.
**Originally published September 17th, 2013; re-posted for our TBT Review.

The Ties That Bind Us #1


~By: K.A. Coleman (Pen Name was Lucy Kelly)

~Published: March 10th, 2013

~Pages: 186

~Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary Romance, Realistic Fiction

Goodreads
Is there a way to describe the ties that bind us together? What happens when one of those ties is unexpectedly severed? Can everything else remain the same? Will the other ties hold strong?

 Two years after her little brother's death, sixteen year old Emerson Caulfield returns to a home that she spent the last two years missing. In theory, everything should be the same. Her best friend, Matt, still lives next door. Her house is in the exact same condition as they left it. The scenery and hallways haven't changed, yet for Emerson, everything is completely different. The place may be the same, but Emerson is most certainly not. She returns home hurt, angry, and miles away from the girl she once was.

 The 60,000 word novel alternates between the perspectives of Emerson, who is struggling to keep breathing on a daily basis, and Matt, who wants to have his old best friend back so badly that he is willing to overlook the fact that she has completely changed. Though their friendship and relationship is a major part of the story, it takes backseat to the unique bonds between siblings, what happens when your worst enemy is in fact yourself, and the hardships that come with growing up and changing.

Friday, June 26, 2015

*Quiz* What Literary Character Is Your Mental Twin?




I got:


Bilbo Baggins
Bilbo
Fond of a warm hearth and a full belly, your mental twin is Bilbo Baggins! While you are typically a quiet and reserved individual, your adventurous imagination often gets the better of you as curiosity is constantly bubbling up from within. You may be absolutely in love with your books and maps and tokens of the world - but as a wise wizard once said - "The world is out THERE"! Your knack for exploring and discovering new things is unmatched, as is you're cunning when put under pressure. Yet no matter how far you travel or stray from the path you once thought you'd walk - there will never be any comforts quite like home.

What did you get?

Thursday, June 25, 2015

*Review*
"Captured" by Erica Stevens!

*Originally published on July 16th, 2013; re-posted for our TBT Review.  Materials from Goodreads; review owned by Desert Rose Reviews.

The Captive #1

~Released: June 6th, 2012

~Length: 168 Pages

~GenresYoung Adult, New Adult, Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy, Dystopian, Sci-fi

Goodreads
Shelfari
Amazon

Blood Slave.

Captured, taken from her beloved family and woods, Aria’s biggest fear is not the imminent death facing her, but that she will be chosen as a blood slave for a member of the ruling vampire race. No matter what becomes of her though, Aria knows that she must keep her identity hidden from the monsters imprisoning her. She has already been branded a member of the rebellion, but the vampires do not know the true depth of her involvement with it, and they must never know.

Though hoping for death, Aria’s world is turned upside down when a vampire named Braith steps forward to claim her. He delays her execution, but Aria knows it’s only a matter of time before he drains her, and destroys her. Especially once she learns his true identity as a prince within the royal family; the same royal family that started the war that ultimately brought down humankind, reducing them to nothing more than servants and slaves.

Aria is determined to hate the prince, determined not to give into him in any way, but his strange kindness, and surprising gentleness astonish her. Torn between her loyalties to the rebellion, and her growing love for her greatest enemy, Aria struggles to decide between everything she has ever known, and a love she never dreamed of finding.

Wednesday, June 24, 2015

*Tour: Dream Cast, Excerpt & Soundtrack*
"Catalyst" by Casey L. Bond!

*Materials & images provided by Girls Heart Books Tours.

 Catalyst on Goodreads
~Released: June 18th, 2015

~Length: 198 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult Dystopian


**0.99 cents until 21st goes up to $2.99**

The city of Confidence is surrounded by a thick, concrete wall. These walls are built to protect those within and to keep dangers outside. What happens when the only danger to the citizens within is its leadership?

When a young man on a suicide mission meets a young woman with a terminal illness, both of them use one another as a means to their own ends. They never expect to become friends. They never expect to become so much more to each other. Their backgrounds and the secrets they uncover are more dangerous than any plans they could make together or separately. 

Revolution begins with a spark.

Tuesday, June 23, 2015

*Cover Reveal*
"#Poser" by Cambria Hebert!

Hey guys, Rose here.  Hope you're all doing well :)

I've recently decided to limit the cover reveals I do.  People don't seem to be that interested in them, and I generally end up participating in future events for that book if it sounds interesting, or it's an author I support.  Having redundant events for the same book can feel spammy, so I'm opting for events with more substance. 

You must be thinking "Why is there a cover reveal up then.  Now.  That I'm supposed to look at.  Right down there."

Well, cuz this series is kinda fun!  I've supported the whole series so far, and figured why not?  

I don't plan on having many more cover reveals on my blog, but this series is so much fun, I can't help but keep up the support.  Cambria Hebert is an author I really admire, and her work is inspiring.  Plus, her covers rock ;) 

So, here's the cover for the newest book in her Hashtag Series - #Poser!!  It's pink!! :D

 #Poser on Goodreads
~Release Date: August 18, 2015

~Designed by: Mae I Design

~Genres: New Adult, Contemporary, College Romance, Sports 


Purchase Previous Books in the Series

Posers gonna pose

I am a man who had nothing, but found everything.

I’ll never go back to nothing ever again.

I vowed to protect her, and that’s exactly what I’m gonna do. 

The pictures I stumbled upon haunt me still, the secret I shoulder is heavy.

They say secrets put distance between two people, but the truth is far more destructive than keeping it will ever be. 

I won’t ever tell. She can’t ever know.

 Poser on Goodreads
When I look in the mirror my reflection is of who I’m afraid I’ll become and not the man I am. 


It makes me feel like a poser, no better than all the others pretending to be exactly who they aren’t.

How does a man keep it together when everything is unraveling right here in his hands?

I didn’t start any of this.

I never asked for it.

But it came knocking at my door. 

When secrets and threats knock, I don’t hide.

I open the door. 

Because the best way to take down a poser is to be one.