Monday, April 21, 2014

"He + She" Cover Reveal & Giveaway!

 Goodreads

He + She

~By: Michelle Warren

~Expected To Be Released: June, 2014

~Genres: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance


Birthday Break!

Hey all, Rose here!  For those of you who actually follow our blog, you may have seen a drop in posts the past week or so.  Well, we've had some personal stuff happen at home, and our schedule is just redonkulous.  We've decided to take a break from blogging at the moment, and especially from book tours.

My birthday is next week (yay!! :D) so I am taking a few weeks off from reviewing & blogging for that as well - giving myself a Spring Break/Birthday Break.

We are planning on resuming everything again once May starts, but for the next week or so, I'll be MIA from blogging and DRR social media.

For any author waiting on a review from me - I apologize for the inconvenience this may pose for you, but this girl needs a break! :)

I hope you guys enjoy the rest of April, and we'll see you all again soon! :D

Ciao,

~Rose

Tuesday, April 15, 2014

Review: "Uglies" by Scott Westerfeld

One of the first modern Young Adult series I read, was the Uglies series, by Scott Westerfeld.  I fell in love with this story, with Tally, and with this author.  Over then next two weeks, I'm going to spotlight each book in the series, along with my review.  Enjoy! :D

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ About the Author ~

Scott Westerfeld is a New York Times bestselling American-born author of YA sci-fi literature. He was born in the Texas and now lives in Sydney and New York City. In 2001, Westerfeld married fellow author Justine Larbalestier.

His book Evolution's Darling was a New York Times Notable Book, and won a Special Citation for the 2000 Philip K. Dick Award. So Yesterday won a Victorian Premier's Award and Midnighters 1: The Secret Hour won an Aurealis Award. Peeps and Uglies were both named as Best Books for Young Adults 2006 by the American Library Association.

~ Connect with Scott Online ~


~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Uglies (Uglies Book 1)

 Goodreads
~Published: January 1st, 2005

~Length: 448 Pages

~Genres: Dystopian, Young Adult, Adventure, Romance, Sci-Fi

~ Synopsis (from Goodreads):

Everybody gets to be supermodel gorgeous. What could be wrong with that? 

Tally is about to turn sixteen, and she can't wait. Not for her license - for turning pretty. In Tally's world, your sixteenth birthday brings an operation that turns you from a repellent ugly into a stunningly attractive pretty and catapults you into a high-tech paradise where your only job is to have a really great time. In just a few weeks Tally will be there.

But Tally's new friend Shay isn't sure she wants to be pretty. She'd rather risk life on the outside. When Shay runs away, Tally learns about a whole new side of the pretty world and it isn't very pretty. The authorities offer Tally the worst choice she can imagine: find her friend and turn her in, or never turn pretty at all. 

The choice Tally makes changes her world forever...

~*~*~

~ 5/5 Roses ~

~ My Review ~

Take perfection, and the desire to be perfect too far, and you have The Uglies series. Uglies is the first book in this series, and it is amazing. Filled with action, romance, suspense, and an honest truth about where our society could be headed, this book will leave you craving more, while re-thinking your own self-image.

This book follows Tally as she prepares for her 16th birthday, the operations that will make her "Pretty" and allow her to live with the rest of the pretties. She spends her time finding flaws in her face and body, hating her natural self, and dreaming about the cosmetic upgrades she'll get once her life "begins." One night of adventure and fear change her life forever.

She finds people on the outside- people who never become "pretty." What's more, she finds herself, and starts seeing things for the way they're meant to be. Natural. Especially when she finds a young man who sees her as beautiful without the upgrades. Her whole world shifts, and life hands her a crossroads. Turn in her traitor friends (as criminals), or never turn pretty. Can she give up her life-long dreams to save her friends, or will she give in, and forget the natural beauty she started to find?

This book takes you on a wild adventure of self-discovery, both for Tally, and yourself. Personally, I loved this book. The future world Mr. Westerfeld created is awesome, and I adore the hover-board scenes. I would love to live in this world, surviving on the outside, but with a hover-board to have fun with! I would certainly recommend this book, and series, to anyone who enjoys dystopian adventures.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

To find out more about this series, please visit the links with the book & author info.  

Book 2 spotlight & review coming soon! :D

Thanks for reading, and as always: 

Keep Creating!

Sunday, April 6, 2014

Two Reviews: "Cossacks In Paris" & "Clonmac's Bridge" by Jeffrey Perren

Recently, I read two books by an author I've come to really enjoy.  Author Jeffrey Perren has three books on Goodreads so far, and I adore two of them (the third will be devoured soon, I'm sure!).  I'd like to spotlight this author and these two books today.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ About the Author ~

Jeffrey Perren is the author of the historical novel Cossacks in Paris.

He wrote his first short story at age 12 and went on to win the Bank of America Fine Arts award at 17. Since then he has published at award-winning sites and magazines from the U.S. to New Zealand.

Educated in philosophy at UCLA and physics at UC Irvine, he lives in Sandpoint, Idaho.

~ Connect with Jeffrey Online ~


~*~*~*~*~*~*~

The first book I read and reviewed from Mr. Perren was Cossacks in Paris.  I really enjoyed this book, and would love to share it with you!

Cossacks In Paris

~Published: November 25th, 2012

~Publisher: ClioStory Publishing

~Length: 389 Pages

~Genres: Historical Fiction, Adult, Cultural



~ Synopsis from Goodreads:

How far can one man go for his freedom?

Rebellious Breutier Armande, a rising young civil engineer in Paris, is drafted into the Grande Armeé on the eve of Napoleon's 1812 Russian campaign.

On a scouting mission in St. Petersburg he meets Kaarina, a Finnish mathematician and daughter of the counselor to Tsar Alexander I. The pair soon fall in love. But Kaarina is betrothed to Agripin, a vicious Cossack and a favorite of the Tsar.

When she refuses him, Agripin kidnaps her, aided by Kaarina's envious twin sister, Kaisa. At a time of Europe's brief, uneasy truce Breutier deserts Napoleon's army and the Tsar's employ to reclaim Kaarina. Dodging the vengeance of the world's most powerful rulers sends Breutier on a perilous quest to hunt down the era's most ruthless Cossack.

Interweaving the characters' personal dramas with the epochal events of the following two years forms the core of the story. Historically accurate, the novel climaxes at the moment when, for the first time in 400 years, foreign armies invaded France, leaving behind Cossacks in Paris.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~


~ 4/5 Roses ~

~ My Review ~

Cossacks in Paris is a very simple title, for such a deep book. Between the political conflict, personal conflict, human drama, and following true world-changing history, this book is certainly one you get lost in. It sucks you in and keeps your attention throughout the book, not letting up until the very end. 

Mr. Perren did a fantastic job with this book. He takes his readers on an amazing adventure that puts them up close and personal with the main ringleaders of the War of 1812. He forces you think about this intense dramatic event as something more than just random, distant facts on a piece of paper. He makes it real, and truly makes you feel as though you're experiencing the events fold out in real time.

More than just the events, are the people involved. The descriptions of the characters and their personalities are fantastic, and I loved learning about each one. Mr. Perren did an excellent job in describing them all, and it's obvious he put a lot of effort and time into every detail of this book. I very much enjoyed reading from several different points of view, and seeing an epic conflict unfold from various angles. 

While reading this book, I told my husband many times how "It feels like I'm reading a documentary!" When I say documentary, I mean one of those really good ones- the kind you actually like watching, and one that keeps you completely enthralled. This book is just that, and I think even better- a film would be hard pressed to beat the entertainment and craftsmanship of this book.

I would definitely recommend this book, especially to anyone who enjoys historical novels. This isn't one that will bore you at all- it will have you biting your nails, feeling the emotion of the characters, and the tension created by Napoleon and Czar Alexander. 

*I was given an eBook copy, from the author's publisher, to read in exchange for an honest review.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

After enjoying Cossacks In Paris so much, I was more than willing to read and review Mr. Perren's newest novel: Clonmac's Bridge.

Clonmac's Bridge

~Published: March 24th, 2014

~Publisher: ClioStory Publishing

~Length: 422 Pages

~Genres: Historical Fiction, Mystery, Adult, Contemporary, Medieval



~ Synopsis:


A maritime archaeologist recovers Ireland's earliest bridge near Clonmacnoise Monastery - only to find it intact after 1,200 years underwater.

What could account for this astonishing longevity - and why are his colleagues and the Church desperate to stop him finding out? And why is his consummate love his greatest enemy?

Griffin Clonmac will go through hell to find out.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ 4/5 Roses ~

~ My Review ~

An exciting adventure full of mystery, danger and history, Clonmac's Bridge takes us to several areas of the world, as an archaeologist fights to uncover the truth. 

I loved connecting with these characters, while experiencing their enthusiasm and passion for history. With the feisty and independent Mari, and the quirky, passionate Griffon, this story comes to life, and captures you completely. Their swirling relationship was sweet, and I loved the changes Mari went through, as she found a new level of independence from her past and her father.

Jeffrey Perren is a very talented author, easily taking his readers on grand adventures, while teaching them something along the way. This book is a wonderful example of his skills as a storyteller, writer, and history enthusiast. 

I would recommend this book to any fan of historical novels - if you think it sounds interesting, then I'm sure you'll enjoy it. I plan on reading it again, several times, and look forward to future books from Mr. Perren. 

*I was given an eARC copy of this book, from the author's publisher, to read in exchange for an honest review. 

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~To see my UnPlugged Review of Cossacks In Paris, please visit our UnPlugged blog!

What do you guys think of these books??  Do you enjoy historical novels?  Let me know in the comments below!

Thanks for reading, and as always:

Keep Creating!! :D

Saturday, April 5, 2014

Press Release for a Great Cause!!

 Bride of Tyler on Amazon

Best selling author Katie Crabapple donates proceeds of her upcoming release to help save a young boy. 

Inspirational romance novelist Katie Crabapple will be donating a portion all proceeds from her upcoming release, Bride of Tyler, to a nine year-old boy suffering from Fanconi Amenia. In an effort to help Tyler’s family afford after care for a bone marrow transplant he desperately needs, a portion of all sales from Bride of Tyler will go into this fund. Katie finds a particular kinship with this family because not only is Katie a mother to a young boy herself, but the family hails from Wisconsin, Katie’s hometown. 

When asked about why she chose this particular fund to donate to, she had this to say, “Tyler is a special kid who has to wake up strong and stay strong every day. I'm passionate about helping him, because his mother has been my friend for several years, and Tyler is the same age as my little boy. I can't imagine what she's going through and how her heart must break every day.  Having to worry a little bit less about how they'll be able to pay the bills as they put Tyler first, where he should be, will give them peace of mind as they go through a very difficult holiday season.”

About Bride of Tyler: Bride of Tyler is a story about a shy young woman who takes a chance by agreeing to marry a virtual stranger. She tries to find love in the only way she feels is open to her and marries a minister from Tyler, Texas. It's a journey that causes her to question a faith she had very much believed was solid and strong.

About Tyler: Tyler is an amazing young man that is in the 4th grade at Amery intermediate school. Their family is so incredible in all they do in the community through Cub Scouts. Tyler is going to receive a Bone Marrow Transplant in November as a result of having Fanconi Anemia (FA). More information about this disease can be found at fanconi.org. Tyler will be in the hospital for quite a while and due to the medical costs the proceeds from Katies book will go to offset these expenses. Tylers Facebook Donation Page.

Katie Crabapple is a Christian homeschooling mom who loves to write. She believes that love is the center of mans walk with God and wants to share simple lighthearted stories about finding ones soul-mate within God’s family. She believes that God gave us everyone sense of humor for a reason, so she inserts a little bit of wittiness into her imaginative and inspirational stories. 


“I can’t imagine a world without laughter.” ~ Katie Crabapple


~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~Promotional Press Release organized by Gliterary Girl Media.

--Publicity Contact: Sara O’Connor of Gliterary Girl Media 
(800) 621-5518 ext. 804
soconnor@gliterarygirlmedia.com

Friday, April 4, 2014

Thursday, April 3, 2014

"Priceless" Book Blitz & Giveaway!!


Priceless
(Rylee Adamson, #1)

~By: Shannon Mayer

~Published: June, 2013 (First Published: November, 2012)

~Publisher: HiJinks Ink Publishing

~Length: 269 Pages

~Genres: Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Mystery, Romance