Friday, October 31, 2014

Review Tour: The Spirit Heir, by Kaitlyn Davis!!

 Author's Tour Schedule Blog Post

 The Spirit Heir on Goodreads
The Spirit Heir
(A Dance of Dragons #2)

~By: Kaitlyn Davis

~Published: October 30th, 2014

~Length: 248 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Fantasy, Romance


~Synopsis:

From bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis comes the second book in the thrilling A Dance of Dragons series—perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Graceling, and Game of Thrones!

Drenched in darkness and surrounded by the echo of screams, Jinji waits deep in the dungeons of Rayfort, haunted by the memory of the knife stabbing Rhen, plagued by a foreign voice whispering through her mind. A few floors above, Rhen rests trapped in a coma, about to wake to a changed world—a world where his best friend is a woman, his nephew is the king, and an enemy army surrounds him on all sides. 

But human wars are insignificant compared to the darkness gathering unseen. Memories of lives she never lived flash through Jinji's thoughts, hinting at a past that cannot be repeated. A mysterious phantom visits Rhen, carrying cryptic messages of the future. And somewhere out there, the shadow continues to lurk in silence. 

Startled by their altered relationship and tempted by new feelings, Rhen and Jinji must find a way to work together. The fate of humanity rests on their shoulders and the real battle has only just begun…

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ About the Author ~

 Goodreads Page
Kaitlyn Davis is the bestselling author of the Midnight Fire series, a young adult paranormal romance, and the A Dance of Dragons series, a young adult epic fantasy.

Kaitlyn graduated Phi Beta Kappa from Johns Hopkins University with a B.A. in Writing Seminars. She's been writing ever since she picked up her first crayon and is overjoyed to finally share her work with the world. She currently lives in New York City and dreams of having a puppy of her own.

~ Connect with Kaitlyn Online ~


To stay up-to-date with all of Kaitlyn's new releases, sign up for her new release newsletter here!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ Book 1 in the Series ~

The Shadow Soul
(A Dance of Dragons #1)

~Published: February 18th, 2014

~Length: 262 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Fantasy, Romance


~Synopsis from Goodreads:

Game of Thrones meets Graceling in a new young adult fantasy by bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis. Told in alternating male and female perspectives, The Shadow Soul has been hailed as "an amazing start to a new series that is going to have people of all ages wanting so much more." (Happy Tails & Tales Reviews)

When Jinji's home is destroyed, she is left with nowhere to run and no one to run to--until she meets Rhen, a prince chasing rumors that foreign enemies have landed on his shores. Masquerading as a boy, Jinji joins Rhen with vengeance in her heart. But traveling together doesn't mean trusting one another, and both are keeping a deep secret--magic. Jinji can weave the elements to create master illusions and Rhen can pull burning flames into his flesh.

But while they struggle to hide the truth, a shadow lurks in the night. An ancient evil has reawakened, and unbeknownst to them, these two unlikely companions hold the key to its defeat. Because their meeting was not coincidence--it was fate. And their story has played out before, in a long forgotten time, an age of myth that is about to be reborn... 


~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ My Rating ~


5/5 Roses

~ My Review ~

The first book in this series was completely intense, and introduced some incredible characters.  They embark on an epic adventure, full of action and nail-biting suspense.  The ending left me desperate for the sequel, hoping it was just as good, and incredibly curious as to what would happen with Jinji and Rhen.  This book did not disappoint, and if anything, I liked it even more than the first!

These characters grew in so many ways throughout this book, and became more than their pasts and secrets.  In this installment, their desires and possible futures were explored, and they became much deeper and relatable.  Several questions were answered from the first book, while many others were raised, keeping the suspense and interest peaked.

As always, I loved the author's talented writing.  She easily pulled me into the world she created, and the tension between the two nations at war.  I love how she developed her characters, and how much effort she put into every aspect and detail of this story.  Nothing was left wanting, and her writing is by far on the top of my list of favorites.  

I would definitely recommend this book to any fan of the first book, although I would recommend reading the series from the beginning.  I can not wait for the third book in this series, and am sure I'll love it as well. The ending to this book had me gasping and completely excited, and left my mind spinning and mushy, in the best kind of way.  My only regret in reading this book, is that the third isn't ready for me to pick up and read right away!  

~I was given an eBook copy of this book, from the author, to read in exchange for an honest review.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Thanks for stopping by!  Feel free to leave any comments or thoughts below, and be sure to follow us for future posts!

Keep Creating!

Wednesday, October 29, 2014

Book Blitz & Giveaway: Betrayed, by Felicia Starr



Betrayed
(Breaking the Darkness #2)

~By: Felicia Starr

~Released: October 29th, 2014

~Publisher: Crushing Hearts Black Butterfly

~Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance, Drama


~Synopsis:

Kasha Alexander has been through a great deal since the death of her Gram, kidnapped, and abused, she has fought her way out of captivity with the help of the one man who just might be her saving grace, Graven.
Graven has been searching for Kasha for a millennia and now that he’s found her, he’s not about to let her go. He will protect her in any form, no matter what the cost…
Little does he know how high that cost will be….

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ About the Author ~

Romance writer Felicia Starr was born and raised in New Jersey. She has been an avid traveller starting at a young age taking magical adventures exploring scenic and historic sites across America with her grandparents. Lover of almost all things paranormal and science fiction, yes that includes fantasy and no it does not include movies about giant ice spiders.

Her days are spent counting down the minutes until her next cup of coffee, preferably with a caramel swirl, her nights are filled with reading and quiet meditations drawing inspirations for her stories.

Felicia has been writing in one form or another for as long as she can remember and still has her first bound book that she wrote and illustrated in grade school. When not wrapped up in writing or reading she is finding the next best way to create lasting memories with her husband and sons. 

Reading for fun, writing for passion… always thinking and dreaming in scenes.

~ Connect with Felicia Online ~


~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ Giveaway!! ~


a Rafflecopter giveaway


~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~Release Day Blitz organized by Girls *Heart* Books Tours.

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Giveaway for a signed paperback copy of "Out of Agony" by Lynette Endicott!!

Author Lynette Endicott is celebrating the release of Out Of Agony in paperback, by giving away a signed autograph copy! 
 Get your entries by entering below.




~Published: July 21st, 2014

~Published By: Desert Breeze Publishing, Inc

~Length: 110 Pages

~Genres: Contemporary Romance, Adult Fiction

Goodreads
Amazon Paperback
Kindle
Barnes & Noble
Desert Breeze Publishing

~ Synopsis:

Brian Van Pelt has barely survived an anguished year of loss, hiding his sorrows under the facade of a cool and uncaring attorney. Not able to deny his grief any long, heartache drives him to collapse and his life takes an unexpected turn.

When Jessie Ingram comes to work at his law firm, she is intrigued by the conflicting darkness of Brian's behavior and the tender inconsistencies that hint at something deeper within him.

Despite her interest, she has her own pain, supporting her niece Sara, who has a virulent cancer with aggressive treatments that take such a toll they would not be worth it — except they are Sara's only hope of survival.

Will life’s hardships bring Brian and Jessie together? Will they be able to heal and possibly find love?

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ About the Author ~

Lynette Endicott grew up in Illinois, met her husband in Western Nebraska, lived 25 years in Kansas where their daughter was born, and has been in Fresno, California since 2000. She has a son-in-law (who lives with her daughter nearby), and has rescued a dog, a bird and three cats. She and Ollie, her terrier mix, volunteer as a team at the local library, where children read to the dog. 
At a youth camp when she was 14 the editor and teacher of a writing class challenged her to submit something to his youth magazine. She did and it was the first of 10 articles and stories accepted by the publication over the next few years. Nothing like front end success to keep her writing! 

Lynette enjoys reading contemporary romance and speculative fiction and writes both. Her debut book, Starting Over Book One: More Than A Job, and two more books in that series, The Return of Joy and Finding Her Voice are available now. The first three of the Time After Time Saga with Tami Dee are available now, including Animal Instinct, Survival Instinct and Pioneer Instinct. The fourth in the series of six, Protective Instinct, was released in August 2014. 

Because she didn't have pets until after her 50th birthday the animals she enjoys find their way into all her books. Usually you will also find a character with a disability as part of the day-to-day fabric of the story. In More Than A Job, Paige works in services to people with disabilities until she loses her job and starts over. In The Return of Joy, Atlas, the yellow lab, becomes a Therapy Dog. In the Time After Time series animal helpers assist the hero and heroine in all six of the books in the series.

Lynette loves hearing from her fans! Please connect with her on:

Goodreads ~ Website ~ Pinterest ~ Facebook ~ Twitter

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ Giveaway!! ~




~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~Sale and giveaway organized by Gliterary Girl Media.

Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Book Blitz & Giveaway: Hunters, by Aoife Marie Sheridan


Hunters
(Demon Series, #1)

~By: Aoife Marie Sheridan

~Released: October 1st, 2014

~Length: 185 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, New Adult, Paranormal 

Will be 99c from October 20-27!!

~Synopsis:

Abigail is nineteen. Her job, she hunts demons.

Her life so far has been tough. Having witnessed her family’s death and her mother’s suicide, she’s been taken in by a priest, who believes her when she says that she sees ghosts. Father Peter trains her as a demon hunter with three other members, one being Daniel, who isn’t what he seems.

But when a possession goes wrong, and ghosts start to attack Abigail, the tight rope she has on her emotions soon starts to loosen. Abigail draws the unwanted attention of the Reote, and she finds out a lot more than she was willing to learn.

Knowledge is power, but for Abigail, it’s her undoing, and the only thing keeping her together is Daniel.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ About the Author ~

Aoife Marie Sheridan has loved reading from a very young age, starting off with mills and boon's books, given to by her grandmother her love for romances grew, by the age of 14 she had read hundreds of them.

Aoife had a passion for writing poetry or in her eyes her journal entries. It was something she did throughout her teens and into her twenties. Aoife won first place for two of her poems and had them published at a young age of just nineteen. Realising she needed to get a real job (What writing isn't) she studied accountancy and qualified working in that field for many years, until her passion for reading returned and she found Maria V Snyder. Poison study one of her favourite books has been read and re-read countless times.

Aoife's first book Eden Forest (Part one of the Saskia Trilogy) came to be after a dream of a man and woman on a black horse jumping through a wall of fire and the idea of Saskia was born. Now with her first novel published and taking first place for Eden Forest with Writers Got Talent 2013, Aoife continues to write tales of fantasy and is currently working on her third book for the Saskia Trilogy amongst other new works.

~ Connect with Aoife Online ~

To contact Aoife you can email her at aoifesheridan101@gmail.com

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ Character Interview
For Abigail ~

1) What is the name of your character?
The Name of my Character is Abigail Thornton. She’s Nineteen and a Demon Hunter.

  2) Is she fictional or a historic person?
Demon Hunter? Fictional I would say. LOL

3) When and where is the story set?
The story is set in our world (Earth) most of it is set in England and the rest in Rome.

4) What should we know about her?
Well Abigail has no living family, she witnessed the death of her mother, then her father and brother but she was saved by Daniel. Abigail has lots of her own demons but she found a way to deal with them, Alcohol. After being taken in by a priest he teaches her to become a demon hunter, and she’s good at what she does. O did I mention that she can see ghosts. ☺

4) What is the main conflict? What messes up her life?
Her feelings for Daniel really cause serious problems; he’s her best friend, her savoir in ways.  Yet she won’t let him see how she feels. Abigail’s main fear is of losing one more person that she loves, so she chooses to keep people at arm’s length. Her past comes back to haunt her also, when ghosts start attacking her, and her brother makes an appearance, she can’t cope so she turns to drink but soon everything starts to spiral out of control. So her life is pretty messed up.

5) What is the personal goal of the character?
To understand what really happened to her family.

6) Is there a working title for this novel, and can we read more about it?
Yes it’s called Hunters (Hunters #1). The first chapter you can read for free here.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ Excerpt ~

Hunters
Taken From Chapter Four
Memories (Abigail)


That night, I dreamt of before.
My mother had been always sad. That’s how I remembered her. I didn’t have one memory or a photo of my mum happy. My memories start from the age of four, people say it’s not possible, but I have them and my mum has been always sick. I remember sitting on the stairs and the doctors talking to my father. I wasn’t sure at the time what they were discussing, but later I learned it was because my mother wasn’t getting better. 
Dad had to work, there was no two ways about it so mom took care of us. The first day, my dad was worried when he left me and my brother, who was only three at the time, in my mother’s hands. That first day, I was five. I stayed in my room and kept my brother with me, playing a tea party with Mr. Bear and Diana, my rag doll. Hunger was one reason for leaving the room. I would pass the sitting room door where my mother sat, staring out the window. Her brown eyes darted to me, freezing me to the spot. I was afraid to move, but I didn’t know why.  I just felt afraid of her. I would make a peanut butter sandwich for myself and some Ready brek for Sam; I had seen dad make it before so I was careful. It took me a while as I pulled the chair around the kitchen, reaching the presses and the microwave. I turned to go back upstairs, but my mother blocked the door. I stood still, hoping she wouldn’t see me. 
She was always so quiet, but on this day, she spoke, “If your dad thinks that I don’t mind you and Sam, he will send you away and you’ll never see us again.” 
She knelt down, taking the food from my hands and placing it on the floor. Her face softened and she hugged me. I didn’t hug her back. She cried, saying she was sorry for everything. She pulled back and handed me my food and returned to her seat in the sitting room. I raced up to Sam. His food was cold, but he ate it. He was quiet for a child, well, I realized later on that three year olds are not always as good. We would play up there for the rest of the day until Dad got home from work. I would race into his arms and hug him tightly, knowing everything would be okay. 
“Did you have fun with your mum, today?” Dad asked.
 I thought of what mommy had said to me; I didn’t want to go away from Daddy or Sam. So I nodded, smiled and went back to playing with Mr. Bear. This became our routine for the next month. 
Memories flashed through my mind, snippets of talking to Sam, playing games, saying goodbye as Dad left for work and greeting him when he got home. My mother’s empty eyes, and then the memories stopped, slowing down to another one.
“Sam, I’m going to the toilet, you stay here with Mr. Bear.”
 Sam nodded and continued to pour tea for us all. I closed the bedroom door behind me so he would stay in. He was too small to reach the handle. I raced down to the bathroom. The door was open. My mother was lying on the white tile floor. The tiles were red. She looked so white and the knife Daddy always told us not to touch lay in her hand. I noticed that her arm was cut real badly. I didn’t run to her or cry as I was too afraid of what stood in the corner of the bathroom. 
A dark figure, like a big man, with a cloak over him stared down at my mum. He scared me. My breath came out in small puffs of cold air. I could see the water that dripped from the tap was frozen solid, held in midair. I looked back at the man, frost was starting to grow on his cloak. He wasn’t the bad man that was always around Mommy. He was different, but still he felt wrong. 
 I ran back to Sam and closed the door, pulling him into the corner of the room. It was getting so cold that our breaths were visible in front of us. Sam started to cry, but I pulled him beside me while crossing my legs so I wouldn’t pee, but it was so cold and it took Daddy a long time to get home and I didn’t want to go into the bathroom where mommy and the man were. 
I could hear my daddy’s scream before he burst into the room, gathering me and Sam in his arms. He was crying. I had never seen daddy cry before. 
“I’m sorry, Daddy. I wet myself,” I said.
 My dress was ruined. I loved this dress. It made me feel like a princess.
“Did you go into the bathroom?” Dad asked, his voice sounded scared, maybe he’d seen the bad man, but then I remembered all the times he said that it wasn’t real, and that I shouldn’t make up stories, so I didn’t say anything about the man. I didn’t want daddy to lock me in my room again. 
“Mommy’s hurt and she was near the toilet I couldn’t go” 
He held me tightly and, at the moment, I thought everything would be okay, but I was so wrong.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ Giveaway!! ~

Enter for your chance to win an eBook copy of Hunters!!



~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~Book Blitz organized by Xpresso Book Tours.
~Giveaway organized by Desert Rose Reviews & Xpresso Book Tours.

Sunday, October 19, 2014

Book Blast: Quickbane, by Chelsea Starling



Quickbane
(The Vale Chronicles, Part 1)

~By: Chelsea Starling

~Released: June 13th, 2014

~Length: 192 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Sci-Fi, Fantasy


~ Synopsis:

Jesobel Vine wants nothing more than to be a typical Pyxie teenager.She wants to ride her beloved horse, Firefly, shoot her bow, and fall in love with her dreamy best friend, Glyn. But Jesobel is marked not only as the future Royal Starkeeper of Pyxis, but as the Heart of Azimuth—the one to lead her people back to their lost realm—a burden too dangerous for daydreams. As Jesobel struggles to accept her destiny, reluctantly studying mystic magic, she becomes doubtful she will ever be worthy to rule. And when her fiery temper enrages the daemon-possessed Starkeeper of Equuleus with a hex-gone-wrong—igniting an orphic war—Jesobel must find a way to alter the global disaster foretold by a celestial legend.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ About the Author ~


Warrior, mermaid, wordsmith, performer for kings and queens, Chelsea Starling is fucking awesome. She raises bear cubs with one hand, and conjures whole worlds with the other. 

~ Connect with Chelsea Online ~


~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~Blast organized by Girls *Heart* Books Tours.

Friday, October 17, 2014

Review: The Last Orphans, by N.W. Harris

 Goodreads

The Last Orphans

~By: N.W. Harris

~Published by: Clean Teen Publishing

~Released: October 9th, 2014

~Length: 274 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Apocalyptic, Coming-of-Age, Fiction



~ Synopsis from Goodreads:

One horrifying day will change the life of sixteen-year-old Shane Tucker and every other kid in the world. 

In a span of mere hours, the entire adult population is decimated, leaving their children behind to fend for themselves and deal with the horrific aftermath of the freak occurrence. As one of the newly made elders in his small town, Shane finds himself taking on the role of caretaker for a large group of juvenile survivors. One who just happens to be Kelly Douglas—an out-of-his-league classmate—who, on any other day, would have never given Shane a second glance. 

Together, they begin their quest to find out why all of the adults were slaughtered. What they find is even more horrifying than anything they could have expected—the annihilation of the adults was only the beginning. Shane and his friends are not the unlucky survivors left to inherit this new, messed-up planet. No, they are its next victims. There is an unknown power out there, and it won’t stop until every person in the world is dead. 

A spine-tingling adventure that will have you gasping for breath all the way until the last page, The Last Orphans is the first book in an all-new apocalyptic series.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ My Rating:

4/5 Roses

~ My Review

From the synopsis and cover, I had been expecting a post-apocalyptic type of story, with death, destruction, chaos and the like.  There was certainly a strong element of death and trauma, with an added element of reality I hadn't been anticipating.  Told from the point of view of a boy-turned-leader, this book dives into the first hours of the world turning upside down, leaving death and violence in every corner.

While there are many characters presented in this story, it focuses on five or six in particular - a group of young adults who bravely take on the task of leading the surviving orphans to safety.  Each teen is unique and different, and are made to grow up very quickly in the face of disaster.  They all do what needs to be done, and become an inspiring group of youngsters.  The main character in particular, Shane, is unceremoniously made the leader of the misfit band of teens.  Pushing past his own shock and grief, he finds the strength to rise up as the leader the orphans need, and keep everyone safe and alive.  His courage is inspiring, especially as we get an inside look at the doubts and fear he has about being a leader, and being capable of keeping others safe and alive.

The surprising thing to me about this book, is the blunt and unapologetic realism and honesty.  What would happen if all the adults suddenly died?  How would teenagers and kids act?  Juvenile delinquents without their restraints; angry teens without their boundaries; bullies without their authority figures.  This book sheds a slightly horrifyingly honest light on the nature of humans, even at a young age.  Mixed in with all of that, you have the blunt honesty of death and carnage.  Very little is left to the imagination when scenarios of nature attacking are explored and explained.  While the gory and gruesome events would normally push me away from continuing reading this book early on, they (unfortunately) fit the story, and (however morbidly) peak my curiosity as to why it's all happening, and what the orphans will do.

The answer to that was shocking, and left me speechless.  This is no doubt a book that will stay on my mind for months to come, and I'm sure one that will become an October read for me every year.  Well written and different, this is a story I think any apocalyptic fan would enjoy, and I look forward to reading more from this author.

~I was given an eCopy of this book, from the author, to read in exchange for an honest review.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ About the Author ~

 Goodreads
Born at the end of the Vietnam war and raised on a horse farm near small town north Georgia, his imagination evolved under the swaying pines surrounding his family’s log home. On summer days that were too hot, winter days that were too cold, and every night into the wee morning hours, he read books.

In addition to writing, he has been a submarine sailor, nurse, and business owner. His studies have included biology, anthropology, and medicine at UCSB and SUNY Buffalo. He is an active member of SCBWI and lives in sunny southern California with his beautiful wife and two perfect children. He writes like he reads, constantly.

~ Connect with N.W. Harris Online ~


~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Thanks for reading!!  Please feel free to comment below, and follow us for future posts and reviews!

Keep Creating!

Desert Rose Reviews

Cover Reveal!! Hurricane Butterfly, by MeChelle Vermeulen

Hurricane Butterfly

~By: MeChelle Vermeulen

~Expected Release Date: December, 2014

~Genres: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary


~Synopsis:

Twenty-year-old Sophie Blake, is trying her best to get her life back after a horrific dog attack ten months ago. However, this proves to be more difficult than she anticipated. With the help of her best friend Ben Slone, it seems as if she’s making progress, but the truth is that she can feel herself sinking deeper into a black hole…until a tall dark stranger comes knocking, looking for Ben.

Joshua Roxwell has been drowning his demons with Whiskey and woman in an attempt to deal with his guilt after the tragic death of his sister. When he finds an envelope addressed to Ben Slone, written by his sister before her death, he decides to track him down. Instead of resolving their differences, he meets the one girl who silences his demons…but redemption comes at a price.

This is a story of heartache, friendship and love, with a wicked twist…

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ About the Author ~

No author photo/bio available at the moment.

~ Connect with MeChelle Online ~


~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~Cover Reveal organized by Xpresso Book Tours.