Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Book Blitz & Giveaway: Hunters, by Aoife Marie Sheridan


Hunters
(Demon Series, #1)

~By: Aoife Marie Sheridan

~Released: October 1st, 2014

~Length: 185 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, New Adult, Paranormal 

Will be 99c from October 20-27!!

~Synopsis:

Abigail is nineteen. Her job, she hunts demons.

Her life so far has been tough. Having witnessed her family’s death and her mother’s suicide, she’s been taken in by a priest, who believes her when she says that she sees ghosts. Father Peter trains her as a demon hunter with three other members, one being Daniel, who isn’t what he seems.

But when a possession goes wrong, and ghosts start to attack Abigail, the tight rope she has on her emotions soon starts to loosen. Abigail draws the unwanted attention of the Reote, and she finds out a lot more than she was willing to learn.

Knowledge is power, but for Abigail, it’s her undoing, and the only thing keeping her together is Daniel.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ About the Author ~

Aoife Marie Sheridan has loved reading from a very young age, starting off with mills and boon's books, given to by her grandmother her love for romances grew, by the age of 14 she had read hundreds of them.

Aoife had a passion for writing poetry or in her eyes her journal entries. It was something she did throughout her teens and into her twenties. Aoife won first place for two of her poems and had them published at a young age of just nineteen. Realising she needed to get a real job (What writing isn't) she studied accountancy and qualified working in that field for many years, until her passion for reading returned and she found Maria V Snyder. Poison study one of her favourite books has been read and re-read countless times.

Aoife's first book Eden Forest (Part one of the Saskia Trilogy) came to be after a dream of a man and woman on a black horse jumping through a wall of fire and the idea of Saskia was born. Now with her first novel published and taking first place for Eden Forest with Writers Got Talent 2013, Aoife continues to write tales of fantasy and is currently working on her third book for the Saskia Trilogy amongst other new works.

~ Connect with Aoife Online ~

To contact Aoife you can email her at aoifesheridan101@gmail.com

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ Character Interview
For Abigail ~

1) What is the name of your character?
The Name of my Character is Abigail Thornton. She’s Nineteen and a Demon Hunter.

  2) Is she fictional or a historic person?
Demon Hunter? Fictional I would say. LOL

3) When and where is the story set?
The story is set in our world (Earth) most of it is set in England and the rest in Rome.

4) What should we know about her?
Well Abigail has no living family, she witnessed the death of her mother, then her father and brother but she was saved by Daniel. Abigail has lots of her own demons but she found a way to deal with them, Alcohol. After being taken in by a priest he teaches her to become a demon hunter, and she’s good at what she does. O did I mention that she can see ghosts. ☺

4) What is the main conflict? What messes up her life?
Her feelings for Daniel really cause serious problems; he’s her best friend, her savoir in ways.  Yet she won’t let him see how she feels. Abigail’s main fear is of losing one more person that she loves, so she chooses to keep people at arm’s length. Her past comes back to haunt her also, when ghosts start attacking her, and her brother makes an appearance, she can’t cope so she turns to drink but soon everything starts to spiral out of control. So her life is pretty messed up.

5) What is the personal goal of the character?
To understand what really happened to her family.

6) Is there a working title for this novel, and can we read more about it?
Yes it’s called Hunters (Hunters #1). The first chapter you can read for free here.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ Excerpt ~

Hunters
Taken From Chapter Four
Memories (Abigail)


That night, I dreamt of before.
My mother had been always sad. That’s how I remembered her. I didn’t have one memory or a photo of my mum happy. My memories start from the age of four, people say it’s not possible, but I have them and my mum has been always sick. I remember sitting on the stairs and the doctors talking to my father. I wasn’t sure at the time what they were discussing, but later I learned it was because my mother wasn’t getting better. 
Dad had to work, there was no two ways about it so mom took care of us. The first day, my dad was worried when he left me and my brother, who was only three at the time, in my mother’s hands. That first day, I was five. I stayed in my room and kept my brother with me, playing a tea party with Mr. Bear and Diana, my rag doll. Hunger was one reason for leaving the room. I would pass the sitting room door where my mother sat, staring out the window. Her brown eyes darted to me, freezing me to the spot. I was afraid to move, but I didn’t know why.  I just felt afraid of her. I would make a peanut butter sandwich for myself and some Ready brek for Sam; I had seen dad make it before so I was careful. It took me a while as I pulled the chair around the kitchen, reaching the presses and the microwave. I turned to go back upstairs, but my mother blocked the door. I stood still, hoping she wouldn’t see me. 
She was always so quiet, but on this day, she spoke, “If your dad thinks that I don’t mind you and Sam, he will send you away and you’ll never see us again.” 
She knelt down, taking the food from my hands and placing it on the floor. Her face softened and she hugged me. I didn’t hug her back. She cried, saying she was sorry for everything. She pulled back and handed me my food and returned to her seat in the sitting room. I raced up to Sam. His food was cold, but he ate it. He was quiet for a child, well, I realized later on that three year olds are not always as good. We would play up there for the rest of the day until Dad got home from work. I would race into his arms and hug him tightly, knowing everything would be okay. 
“Did you have fun with your mum, today?” Dad asked.
 I thought of what mommy had said to me; I didn’t want to go away from Daddy or Sam. So I nodded, smiled and went back to playing with Mr. Bear. This became our routine for the next month. 
Memories flashed through my mind, snippets of talking to Sam, playing games, saying goodbye as Dad left for work and greeting him when he got home. My mother’s empty eyes, and then the memories stopped, slowing down to another one.
“Sam, I’m going to the toilet, you stay here with Mr. Bear.”
 Sam nodded and continued to pour tea for us all. I closed the bedroom door behind me so he would stay in. He was too small to reach the handle. I raced down to the bathroom. The door was open. My mother was lying on the white tile floor. The tiles were red. She looked so white and the knife Daddy always told us not to touch lay in her hand. I noticed that her arm was cut real badly. I didn’t run to her or cry as I was too afraid of what stood in the corner of the bathroom. 
A dark figure, like a big man, with a cloak over him stared down at my mum. He scared me. My breath came out in small puffs of cold air. I could see the water that dripped from the tap was frozen solid, held in midair. I looked back at the man, frost was starting to grow on his cloak. He wasn’t the bad man that was always around Mommy. He was different, but still he felt wrong. 
 I ran back to Sam and closed the door, pulling him into the corner of the room. It was getting so cold that our breaths were visible in front of us. Sam started to cry, but I pulled him beside me while crossing my legs so I wouldn’t pee, but it was so cold and it took Daddy a long time to get home and I didn’t want to go into the bathroom where mommy and the man were. 
I could hear my daddy’s scream before he burst into the room, gathering me and Sam in his arms. He was crying. I had never seen daddy cry before. 
“I’m sorry, Daddy. I wet myself,” I said.
 My dress was ruined. I loved this dress. It made me feel like a princess.
“Did you go into the bathroom?” Dad asked, his voice sounded scared, maybe he’d seen the bad man, but then I remembered all the times he said that it wasn’t real, and that I shouldn’t make up stories, so I didn’t say anything about the man. I didn’t want daddy to lock me in my room again. 
“Mommy’s hurt and she was near the toilet I couldn’t go” 
He held me tightly and, at the moment, I thought everything would be okay, but I was so wrong.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ Giveaway!! ~

Enter for your chance to win an eBook copy of Hunters!!



~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~Book Blitz organized by Xpresso Book Tours.
~Giveaway organized by Desert Rose Reviews & Xpresso Book Tours.

Sunday, October 19, 2014

Book Blast: Quickbane, by Chelsea Starling



Quickbane
(The Vale Chronicles, Part 1)

~By: Chelsea Starling

~Released: June 13th, 2014

~Length: 192 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Sci-Fi, Fantasy


~ Synopsis:

Jesobel Vine wants nothing more than to be a typical Pyxie teenager.She wants to ride her beloved horse, Firefly, shoot her bow, and fall in love with her dreamy best friend, Glyn. But Jesobel is marked not only as the future Royal Starkeeper of Pyxis, but as the Heart of Azimuth—the one to lead her people back to their lost realm—a burden too dangerous for daydreams. As Jesobel struggles to accept her destiny, reluctantly studying mystic magic, she becomes doubtful she will ever be worthy to rule. And when her fiery temper enrages the daemon-possessed Starkeeper of Equuleus with a hex-gone-wrong—igniting an orphic war—Jesobel must find a way to alter the global disaster foretold by a celestial legend.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ About the Author ~


Warrior, mermaid, wordsmith, performer for kings and queens, Chelsea Starling is fucking awesome. She raises bear cubs with one hand, and conjures whole worlds with the other. 

~ Connect with Chelsea Online ~


~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~Blast organized by Girls *Heart* Books Tours.

Friday, October 17, 2014

Review: The Last Orphans, by N.W. Harris

 Goodreads

The Last Orphans

~By: N.W. Harris

~Published by: Clean Teen Publishing

~Released: October 9th, 2014

~Length: 274 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Apocalyptic, Coming-of-Age, Fiction



~ Synopsis from Goodreads:

One horrifying day will change the life of sixteen-year-old Shane Tucker and every other kid in the world. 

In a span of mere hours, the entire adult population is decimated, leaving their children behind to fend for themselves and deal with the horrific aftermath of the freak occurrence. As one of the newly made elders in his small town, Shane finds himself taking on the role of caretaker for a large group of juvenile survivors. One who just happens to be Kelly Douglas—an out-of-his-league classmate—who, on any other day, would have never given Shane a second glance. 

Together, they begin their quest to find out why all of the adults were slaughtered. What they find is even more horrifying than anything they could have expected—the annihilation of the adults was only the beginning. Shane and his friends are not the unlucky survivors left to inherit this new, messed-up planet. No, they are its next victims. There is an unknown power out there, and it won’t stop until every person in the world is dead. 

A spine-tingling adventure that will have you gasping for breath all the way until the last page, The Last Orphans is the first book in an all-new apocalyptic series.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ My Rating:

4/5 Roses

~ My Review

From the synopsis and cover, I had been expecting a post-apocalyptic type of story, with death, destruction, chaos and the like.  There was certainly a strong element of death and trauma, with an added element of reality I hadn't been anticipating.  Told from the point of view of a boy-turned-leader, this book dives into the first hours of the world turning upside down, leaving death and violence in every corner.

While there are many characters presented in this story, it focuses on five or six in particular - a group of young adults who bravely take on the task of leading the surviving orphans to safety.  Each teen is unique and different, and are made to grow up very quickly in the face of disaster.  They all do what needs to be done, and become an inspiring group of youngsters.  The main character in particular, Shane, is unceremoniously made the leader of the misfit band of teens.  Pushing past his own shock and grief, he finds the strength to rise up as the leader the orphans need, and keep everyone safe and alive.  His courage is inspiring, especially as we get an inside look at the doubts and fear he has about being a leader, and being capable of keeping others safe and alive.

The surprising thing to me about this book, is the blunt and unapologetic realism and honesty.  What would happen if all the adults suddenly died?  How would teenagers and kids act?  Juvenile delinquents without their restraints; angry teens without their boundaries; bullies without their authority figures.  This book sheds a slightly horrifyingly honest light on the nature of humans, even at a young age.  Mixed in with all of that, you have the blunt honesty of death and carnage.  Very little is left to the imagination when scenarios of nature attacking are explored and explained.  While the gory and gruesome events would normally push me away from continuing reading this book early on, they (unfortunately) fit the story, and (however morbidly) peak my curiosity as to why it's all happening, and what the orphans will do.

The answer to that was shocking, and left me speechless.  This is no doubt a book that will stay on my mind for months to come, and I'm sure one that will become an October read for me every year.  Well written and different, this is a story I think any apocalyptic fan would enjoy, and I look forward to reading more from this author.

~I was given an eCopy of this book, from the author, to read in exchange for an honest review.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ About the Author ~

 Goodreads
Born at the end of the Vietnam war and raised on a horse farm near small town north Georgia, his imagination evolved under the swaying pines surrounding his family’s log home. On summer days that were too hot, winter days that were too cold, and every night into the wee morning hours, he read books.

In addition to writing, he has been a submarine sailor, nurse, and business owner. His studies have included biology, anthropology, and medicine at UCSB and SUNY Buffalo. He is an active member of SCBWI and lives in sunny southern California with his beautiful wife and two perfect children. He writes like he reads, constantly.

~ Connect with N.W. Harris Online ~


~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Thanks for reading!!  Please feel free to comment below, and follow us for future posts and reviews!

Keep Creating!

Desert Rose Reviews

Cover Reveal!! Hurricane Butterfly, by MeChelle Vermeulen

Hurricane Butterfly

~By: MeChelle Vermeulen

~Expected Release Date: December, 2014

~Genres: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary


~Synopsis:

Twenty-year-old Sophie Blake, is trying her best to get her life back after a horrific dog attack ten months ago. However, this proves to be more difficult than she anticipated. With the help of her best friend Ben Slone, it seems as if she’s making progress, but the truth is that she can feel herself sinking deeper into a black hole…until a tall dark stranger comes knocking, looking for Ben.

Joshua Roxwell has been drowning his demons with Whiskey and woman in an attempt to deal with his guilt after the tragic death of his sister. When he finds an envelope addressed to Ben Slone, written by his sister before her death, he decides to track him down. Instead of resolving their differences, he meets the one girl who silences his demons…but redemption comes at a price.

This is a story of heartache, friendship and love, with a wicked twist…

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ About the Author ~

No author photo/bio available at the moment.

~ Connect with MeChelle Online ~


~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~Cover Reveal organized by Xpresso Book Tours.

Saturday, October 11, 2014

Book Blitz & Giveaway: Summer Alone by Amy Sparling!!


Summer Alone 
(Summer Alone #1)

~By: Amy Sparling

~Released: October 1st, 2014

~Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary


~ Summary from Goodreads:

From the best selling author of Summer Unplugged, comes a new series set in the same world. 

Becca's senior year of high school is approaching and she's tired of being the dorky best friend. Determined to reinvent herself with help from Bayleigh, she plans to spend the summer breaking out of her shell. When Bayleigh gets grounded and sent away for three months, Becca's plans come crashing down before they've even started.

Now Becca is alone and can't even talk to Bayleigh on the phone. Not wanting to miss out on the summer before senior year, she takes a job at the local indoor BMX track. The job is fun, her boss is laid back, and the place is packed with hot guys. One of them just might have a crush on her. This may be a summer without her best friend, but it doesn't mean she'll have to spend the summer alone.

Part 1 of a 4 part novella series.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ Excerpt ~

It’s the first day of summer and I’m sitting in my bedroom, still wearing pajamas. It’s pretty much where I can be found any time I’m not in school. If there’s one thing to know about me, it’s the one thing everyone knows about me: My name is Becca Sosa and I am a loser. Or in the words of Trey Sheppard at the senior’s party last week, I am a lame-o dork-o.

I hate insults like that. The ones that are said behind your back, directed to other people as you walk by. The insults you weren’t prepared to hear because the people who say them—Trey Sheppard—are usually nice to your face. It’s one thing to call someone an asshole if they are being an asshole; that’s a trait you have control over, something you can choose to be or not to be. Like when my best friend Bayleigh accidently dropped a piece of popcorn and it fell on her little brother’s head and he got all confused about it. Then she kept tossing popcorn at him all night, just to mess with him. I told her she was a jerk for doing it. That’s an insult that was deserved, even though she thought it was hilarious.

But lame-o dork-o? I didn’t set out to become the lamest, dorkiest person in the city of Lawson.

It’s not like I was intentional about it. Besides, I’m normal. I’m not dorky. I don’t wear thick-rimmed glasses with tape holding them together, or suspenders or orthodontic headgear or something like that. That’s why those are the worst insults. Being made fun of for somethingthat’s just…just you.

The sad thing is that I didn’t realize there were people who thought of me that way. Sure, when your best friend is crazy beautiful and wild in the best way and makes friends everywhere, you kind of expect to be known as the less popular one out of the two of you. But I guess I hadn’t realized how low I actually was on the popularity totem pole.

Bayleigh has always been more popular and more outgoing than me. She’s had boyfriends since we were in sixth grade, back when having a boyfriend meant holding hands before and after school and telling everyone you had kissed when really you hadn’t.

But even with the drastic differences in our personalities and likeability factor at school, Bayleigh has always stuck by me. We met at a daycare when we were four years old, during a time when my stay at home mother had temporarily gotten a job to help pay for Grandma’s nursing home. Bayleigh and I were instant best friends, according to our mothers, and even though I only had to go to that daycare for four months, our moms exchanged phone numbers and we stayed best friends with play dates and sleepovers. I really owe a lot to Bayleigh. She’s the world’s greatest best friend.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ About the Author ~

In case you didn't know, Amy isn't my real name. It's a pen name I use to publish books and novellas for teens that have a romantic theme. My real name is Cheyanne Young and I also publish YA books under that name, but they are usually in different genres and for older age groups.

I chose the name Amy Sparling when I independently published my first book, Deadbeat. I wasn't sure if I would keep the pen name at first--I wasn't even sure if I'd keep publishing. But I got incredibly lucky and found a group of young adults who loved my stories and kept asking for more. You guys seriously have made my writing hobby into the greatest part of my life. I will continue writing books under this name as well as publishing books of a different nature under my real name.

If you'd like to be the first to know about new book releases, sign up for my mailing list.

~ Connect with the Author ~



~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ Giveaway!! ~


~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ Blitz & Giveaway organized by YA Bound Book Tours.

Thursday, October 9, 2014

Our 5th & 6th Liebster Awards!! :D

Hi everyone!  Rose here.  We've been getting back into blogging after a summer vacation away, and are excited to share a double Liebster Award post with you!


We were nominated for our 5th Liebster award several weeks ago, by Cynde @ Falling For Books!  Much thanks to her for the nomination.

While we were preparing our post for that award, we were nominated again, by Ellen @ Random Smiles!  Thanks to her for the nomination!

So, we decided to join the two, and limit redundant topics and posts.  We are going to answer both sets of questions from our nominators, however we're only going to have one set of random facts, one set of nominees, and one set of questions for our nominated blogs/bloggers to answer.  We love this award, but goodness, 22 facts, 22 blogs to nominate, and 22 questions is a bit of a daunting task! haha

For those of you who haven't heard of the Liebster award, it was created to help recognize new bloggers, and is passed along from blogger to blogger.

You can click here to learn more about this award.

Here are the Rules:

1. Link and thank the blogger who nominated you.
2.  List 11 facts about yourself.
3.  Answer the 11 questions that the person who nominated you asked.
4.  Nominate 9 bloggers with less than 300 followers and leave them a comment letting them know they've been nominated.
5.  Ask 11 new questions for your nominees.
6.  No renominating the blog that nominated you!

So, here we go!!

11 Random Facts About Rose ~

1.) I am married to my best friends.

2.) Some of my hobbies are reading, cooking, writing, making music, and singing.

3.) I am currently a stay-at-home-wife and pet mommy.

4.) I am addicted to Pinterest and Shelfari.

5.) I have very few friends, but the ones I have are true.

6.) I have moved more times than the number of years I've been alive.

7.) I can not live without music.

8.) My favorite genre of books is Young Adult Paranormal.

9.) I have violet eyes.

10.) I love to travel.

11.) I have spent a lot of my life acting, directing, and working on sets for plays and commercials.

Questions from Cynde @Falling For Books:

1.) Why do you blog?
As an outlet to share and express the things I wish to critique, rave about, and discuss. 

2.) Why do you love to read?
It's a great escape from life, into a world not my own.  The same reason for why I love acting and music. 

3.) What is your favorite genre?
Young Adult Paranormal/Supernatural.

4.) When did you fall in love with books?
Before I could even read.  I learned to read at age two, because I already loved books, and wanted to know what was inside them :)

5.) Paper back or eBooks?
If I have my choice, I'd rather read a paper back book.  However I have to admit, I tend to read eBooks more often, as they are more convenient and often on sale for free or very inexpensive.

6.) Where do you like to read?
Curled up in my favorite chair, or in a tree/hammock :)

7.) What is your favorite book and why?
I don't have a favorite book.  That's one of the questions I dislike the most, because there are simply too many great books out there, in too many fantastic genres, and I can't pick just one. 

8.) What do you do when you are not reading?
Listen to music/sing; play with my dogs; hang out with my best friends; travel & explore; write in my own books.

9.) What about a book makes you choose it?
Usually the synopsis, genre, or the author.  I often assess the cover as well, and sometimes that does influence whether I read a book or not.  

10.) What is your favorite movie?
Again, there are too many great movies out there to choose from, and too many genres.  Being an actress myself, I'm not able to pick one favorite!

11.) If you were to write a book what would it be?
I am writing several books at the moment, and the majority of them fall into the Young Adult/ New Adult Paranormal genre.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ Questions from Ellen @Random Smiles:

1) What book would you like to cast for a movie and who would play the lead roles?

Wow, that's a difficult question!  One of the many books I'd love to cast for a movie would be the Taken Trilogy, by Jessica Frances.  I'd cast as follows:

Zoe: Alexis Bledel
Charlie: Alexander Ludwig
Rose: Ashley Greene
William: Tahj Mawry
Blake: Corbin Bleu
Stan: Gary Oldman
Martha: Jaime Pressly

















~*~*~

2) What is your favorite reading genre?

I love Young Adult/New Adult Paranormal.

3) Who are your TOP 10 authors?

Not in any particular order:

10) Jason T. Graves
9) Lanie Jordan
8) Jessica Frances
7) J.H. Walker
6) P.T. Michelle
5) Scott Westerfeld
4) Ally Condie
3) Andrea Cremer
2) Sophie Davis
1!!) Blank!  I actively choose to not have a favorite author.

4) What are your TOP 5 books?

Not in any particular order:

5) The Academy Series, by C.L. Stone
4) Rewrite Redemption, by J.H. Walker
3) Talented, by Sophie Davis
2) The Uglies Series, by Scott Westfeld
1) Blank!!  I actively choose not to have a favorite book.

5) What is your favorite children's book?

I don't have a favorite children's book.  I always enjoyed the Nancy Drew series, The Babysitter Club books, and the Animorphs series.  I also really love a book called Scared Stiff - great book to read around Halloween, if you want the bejesus scared out of you!! haha

6) If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go to meet an author?

I think it would be a ton of fun to meet authors in France.

7) Where is your go to reading spot?

The love-seat in my living room.  It'll be the hammock we'll have in the back yard, if we ever get one.

8) If you could write your own book; any genre/topic, what would it be about?

I am writing several books at the moment, and they're mostly YA/NA paranormal, with very PG romance background stories.

9) Coffee, Tea or Hot Chocolate?

I adore hot chocolate in colder weather, but not in the summer.  Hot weather is definitely tea weather :)

10) What is your favorite season of the year?

Winter!!

11) What was the last random thing to put a smile on your face?

A text from my guy :)

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

My Nominees ~
~ My Questions For My Nominees: 

What is your blog about?

What kind of books do you enjoy reading the most?

What kind of music do you enjoy?

If you could write a book about anything, what would it be about?

Where is your favorite place to get comfy and read?

Do you like to eat/drink anything while you read?  If so, what?

What book/series are you looking forward to the most?

What is your favorite book-turned-movie?

What book would you love to see made into a movie?

Who would you cast for the above movie, if it were up to you?

Just for fun: are you doing anything for Halloween?

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Thanks again to my nominators, and congrats to our nominees!  Hope you all have fun! :D

Ciao for now!

Saturday, September 27, 2014

Undertow Book Blitz & Giveaway!!


 https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18301716-undertow?ac=1

Undertow
(Undertow #1)

~By: K.R. Conway

~Released: October 18th, 2013

~Length: 398 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, New Adult, Paranormal, Romance, Urban Fantasy, Fantasy, Mystery


~ Summary from Goodreads:

Luckless Eila is unknowingly the last of her kind: Rare. Gifted. Breakable. Stunning Raef is her kind's historic enemy: Soulless. Lethal. Lost. A legendary death 160 years before would set their lives to collide, forcing a beautiful killer to become a savior, a simple wallflower to become a warrior, and ruthless destiny to become a death sentence.

~ Full Summary:

High school senior Eila Walker knows that good luck skips over her like an Easter Bunny on Speed. So when she inherits her grandmother's million-dollar Cape Cod home, she is downright shocked. And yeah, her new town isn't perfect: the cheerleaders are heinous clones, the local undertow can kill ya, and her Great Grams was supposedly fried by lightning in the harbor square. Still, Eila is hopeful her luckless days are in the past . . . until history decides to repeat itself.

A self-proclaimed loner and previous-social reject, Eila thinks she's hit the jackpot when drool-
worthy Raef O’Reilly becomes her friendly, yet weirdly protective shadow. But being hauled beneath the waves by an unnatural undertow slams the brakes on bliss – especially when Raef storms to her aid with coal-black eyes and iron-like strength.

Eila, entirely freaked, demands an explanation and Raef comes clean, revealing that neitherof them are average humans but rather the genetic remnants of an angelic pissing-match gone wrong. Eila supposedly can channel the power of human souls, while Raef is quite adept at stealing them. Even worse, the legend about her ancestor isn't such a myth, since Eila’s grandmother was one kick-ass warrior until her lightning-like power backfired. A power that is written all over Eila's DNA.

Now sought by Raef’s own family for her destructive ability, Eila must trust him to watch her back. But when a quest for information goes terribly wrong, Eila is suddenly left with only two options: become a weapon for the enemy or follow in her Gram’s fearless footsteps to save those she loves. Unfortunately she needs a willing enemy to ignite her suicidal energy and the only one she trusts has been guarding her butt and scorching her lips.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ Excerpt ~

Raef’s POV:

Five weeks ago, I nearly killed the girl I loved.

It wasn't an accident. It wasn't a mistake.

I did it deliberately, and the feeling of her body weakening in my arms haunts me still, as if branded into my hands. The sound of her last, thin breath replays over and over in my mind, a taunting reminder of what I am capable of and what I had done.

She carries the mark of where I had forced a stolen soul into her - a thin, finger-long scar engraved between her breasts.

She tries to hide it, but I know it's there.

She will carry that scar to her grave, a permanent reminder of who I truly am - a killer, designed by the darker hand of fate.

The scar had bled down her beautiful, fair skin that night, turning the bodice of the white ball gown she had worn into a sickening, mottled pink. In my mind I see her, lifeless, tucked under me as I try to shield her from the pieces of falling stone and wood that rain down around us. Debris that was from the massive hole her energy had drilled through the Breakers. Energy that was unleashed when her body switched to overload, and her DNA hit the self-destruct button because of me.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ Giveaway!! ~


~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~ Blitz & Giveaway organized by YA Bound Book Tours.