Thursday, June 21, 2018

"Run from a Shadow" by Ruth Callick!

Hiya peeps! Check out this new adult action adventure! Set in the late 60s, it's entertaining and suspenseful.

Let me know what you think in the comments below! =D

Run from a Shadow

 Run From Shadows
~Author: Ruth Callick

~Released: November 6th, 2016

~Length: 232 Pages

~Genres: New Adult, Action, Adventure 


It is 1969 when two young boys approach Casey Hammond in the airport, alone and scared and lost in a country not their own. She agrees to help them get to their uncle—but she has no idea of the danger and intrigue she will soon encounter. 

It seems there are foreign nationals in pursuit of the children, which risks the safety of the entire group. When an arrogant but handsome young man comes to their rescue, she soon learns he is the children’s older cousin. He has volunteered to become their protector as they attempt to get the children safely to their uncle. More quickly than she could have imagined, Casey soon finds herself growing attached to the two children—and their attractive, warmhearted cousin. 

In this thrilling romance, set in the sixties, a young woman sets out to help two children defecting from a communist country—and falls in love along the way. 

Tuesday, June 19, 2018

"No Man's Land" by Hervey Copeland!

Hiya peeps! I've got a gritty action novel for you guys today. Check it out, and let me know what you think in the comments below! =D

No Man's Land

 No Man's Land
~Author: Hervey Copeland

~Released: November 2nd, 2016

~Length: 143 Pages

~Genres: Adult Fiction, Adventure, Action, Suspense


Author Mark La Croix has left the hustle and bustle of the city and is leading a quiet life in a cabin, deep inside the Colorado Rockies. While working on his latest novel, he makes a gruesome discovery and uncovers secrets that some would want to remain dead and buried.

Soon Mark becomes a target and is forced to run for his life. The nearest town is thirty miles away, and the only way to escape is through the forest. The people chasing him are hot on his heels, and will stop at nothing to prevent him from getting out of the wilderness alive.

Monday, June 18, 2018

Musical Monday ~ "Why" by NF


Hiya dudes! I'm so friggin' excited for today's post! I've mentioned the last few months how I'm going to be expanding the areas of reviews I post here, and music has been a major area I want to start sharing reviews. I haven't known where to start though, because believe it or not, I love music even more than I love books, which is definitely saying something.

An artist I've followed for a couple of years just dropped a new song yesterday though, and it seems like the perfect opportunity to jump into music reviews, because this song is amazing, just like the artist. He is a rapper (yes, I listen to rap), so if you're not a fan of rap, feel free to skip this post - I'll be posting more song and artist reviews from other genres soon. For today though, it's all about NF. So, here we go.

Some of you may have heard of NF, especially from a couple of his songs on the radio, namely "Let You Down" or "Therapy Session" or even "No Name" all of which I have posted below.





His newest song, just released yesterday, is titled "Why" and it's amazing. If you'd like to give it a listen, check out the video, and my review below.




NF has captivated me with his lyrics and passion for years. I've listened to every song he's released, even before he was NF. I almost hate when a good artist becomes well known and "famous" because they often lose their spark, or change to appease their labels or fans. With NF's album Therapy Session, I began to worry he wouldn't be able to grow well, and would become another Eminem, unable to keep himself real and honest, in the moment, instead of stuck in the past.
This song proves to me, NF is growing well. While it's slightly less passionate and energetic as some of his other popular songs, as it stands, I think it's a good one. This is how an artist should grow, both as an individual, and a musician. I am immensely proud of this song, and the path he's taking, so far. The raw honesty of it is in line with his past work, and shows where he's at, even after the money and the recognition.

The video is simple, showing the various layers he's in mentally as well as in his life at the moment. Balloons from celebrating, but black because if feels fake. "Lies" written on the wall, as well as in the lyrics repeatedly, show how he's feeling as well as his struggle. The sword shows he's wanting to fight the challenges, but doesn't know where to begin or how to go about it, especially as he sits in the chair in a pose of pondering frustration.
Both the lyrics and video are well done, showing the depth of his struggle, and keeping himself honest and raw. This has always been his greatest talent as an artist, and I hope he keeps it as he continues to grow. I expect his next few songs to be equally as energetic and thoughtful, and can't wait to see what he puts out next.

Obviously, you guys, I love NF. If you didn't know, he's a Christian rapper, in that he is a rapper who happens to be Christian, not that he raps about being a Christian. While it is an element to a few songs, it's simply part of his life, just as much as his mother dying or the drugs she took, his rough childhood, or his desire to find himself and not give up on his dreams.

If you're a fan of rap, check him out - I'd be surprised if you don't end up liking him quite a bit.
If you're not a fan of rap, like I said earlier, I'll be reviewing other artists soon.
If you have songs or artists you'd like me to review, drop a comment below, and I'll check it out!

Thanks for visiting! Have a great day! =D

Keep creating, & God bless!



Thursday, June 14, 2018

Middle Grade Adventure Novel
"The Adventures of Warren Steadmill" by Jeremy F. Rosenberg!

Hiya peeps! I've got a fun middle grade adventure novel to share with you today. This is a year old last week, and a story I think a lot of young readers would enjoy.

Check it out, and let me know what you think in the comments below.

The Adventures of Warren Steadmill


 Adventures of Warren Steadmill

~Released: July 6th, 2017

~Length: 357 Pages

~Genres: Middle Grade, Fantasy, Adventure, Coming-Of-Age


You’re probably asking yourself: Why did Warren Steadmill leave his life of wealth and comfort, and how did he become Fortune Island’s most beloved folk hero? The question has fascinated scholars for decades. Well, Warren’s love for the tablemaker’s daughter led to him becoming the apprentice of her psychotic father, which led to him undertaking a sea voyage that was immediately attacked by pirates, which in turn led to him and a team of roguish actors infiltrating the crumbling castle of a madman, and later trying to stop said madman from taking over the country with an army of masked mercenaries. Along the way (or so scholars have determined) Warren encountered a loquacious traveling salesman, unusually persistent innkeepers, unexpected steampunk weirdness, heartfelt correspondence, political upheaval, a tale of a villainous bear, and various and sundry sisters, fairies, witches, nannies, dandies, inventors, and assorted indescribable lunatics, all chronicled with great fanfare in The Adventures of Warren Steadmill, which attempts to explain all of this in a picaresque coming-of-age romantic comedy fantasy adventure story that probably doesn’t really explain anything at all and in all likelihood will just keep the scholars guessing for a few decades more. 

Fortune Island’s most beloved tall tale springs to life in this achingly heartfelt, hilarious tome filled with wonder, whimsy, and adverbs. 

Tuesday, June 12, 2018

Intense Psychological Thriller
"Pages in the Wind" by Sally Saylor De Smet!

Hiya Peeps! I've got an intense novel to share with you guys today, definitely not for the faint of heart. This isn't a light read, but it will be one that sticks with you for a very long time.

Check it out, and let me know what you think in the comments below!

Pages in the Wind

 Pages in the Wind
~Author: Sally Saylor De Smet

~Released: September 10th, 2017

~Publisher: Greenly Publishing

~Length: 401 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, New Adult, Mystery, Thriller, Suspense


After the brutal murder of her father, Emily Quinn finds herself detained at the San Francisco County Jail, charged with first-degree murder for a crime she cannot remember.

Emily’s mother, a wealthy socialite, quickly distances herself from her troubled daughter, but in an attempt to salvage the family name, hires world-renowned psychiatrist, Daniel Lieberman, to assist in Emily’s defense. The famed doctor, an aging, lonely psychiatrist with an addiction to sugar, caffeine, and understanding the human mind, quickly becomes sympathetic to Emily and her tortured childhood.

Together, Lieberman and Emily explore the frightening and twisted world of her damaged psyche, uncovering the complex reasons behind the young woman’s self-hatred and disconnected self-image.

They develop an abiding partnership, weaving through unexpected revelations and disturbing secrets. Of particular interest to the doctor is Emily’s strange attachment to the imaginary girls she sketches—and is driven to personify.

The secrets hidden in Emily’s mind could help with her defense—or confirm the death penalty case against her. But Lieberman senses other secrets hide within the patient’s mind, particularly the events surrounding the unexplained death of her twin sister, Penelope.

A gripping, twisting tale of psychological intrigue, Pages in the Wind enters the mostly uncharted realm of the human mind, seeking truth buried deep within Emily’s subconscious. Lieberman can help her uncover her past, but Emily is the one who has to face it—or remain damaged forever.

Friday, May 25, 2018

Sup Y'all? May Update!

Hiya! Thought it was a good time for an update. 


My post last month was refreshing, and I've been planning some awesome new material. I've mentioned recently that I plan to review things other than just books on this site, because it isn't just a book blog. I have one of those - this is my review site. So pretty soon, I'll be venturing into reviews of all sorts of things, including (but not limited to) music, movies, jewelry, food, products, and anything else I think may benefit others.


I'll still be sharing my book reviews here as well, but if you're not interested in seeing reviews of all those other interests, please follow my book blog. I'll be cross-posting my book reviews there, as well as sharing book events, author interviews, giveaways, and any book-loving fun things I can come up with!


If you do enjoy reviews of various things, and know someone who may enjoy the site as well, please share! I'm excited about this new project, and can't wait to see what happens next!


Hope you're all having a great start to the Summer! Any fun plans?


Ciao for now,

~Rose



Sunday, April 8, 2018

Blog Update: I'm Not Going Anywhere

Hiya guys and dolls! 


After giving myself a couple weeks to chill out, step back, and figure out what I want to do, I think I'm finally there. I'm not going anywhere. My love of books will never die, and I absolutely love reviewing.


I started this blog because I love reading, I love helping authors, and I love reviewing. I've put a lot of energy into this thing, and I'm no where near done.


Amazon sucks - I think we can all agree on that. But to let them kill my entire blog and all the work I've done would be tragic - they're acting like bullies, and the worst thing I could do, is let them push me completely away. They're one company, and that's it. I don't like bullies, and while they may have made me an angry little hornet for a few weeks, I'm glad to be done with them & their stupid rules.


This whole thing actually turned out to be a good thing (as most everything always ends up). So many of you have reached out to me in various ways, and have shown me support as a reviewer I haven't gotten much of the last year or so. That takes a toll, and when everything else adds onto that, it becomes a hot mess.


To those of you who reached out to me and showed me support, I do truly appreciate it. 


Many of you commented how reviewers don't tend to get much support, esp considering how much they give to authors, and without sounding terrible, I think that's been part of my problem. We don't get the same kind of support we give, so after a while, it gets overwhelming.


When that happens, at least for me, I have to take a step back and remind myself why I'm doing this. For the love of books, and the awesome feeling it gives me to truly help someone else. I tend to bite off more than I can chew, or in this case, plan for a work schedule that changed on me, but I still tried to keep that same pace. Didn't work out that way, and I need to give myself permission to adjust - hopefully authors will understand, and if not, well, what can I do. I'm a volunteer, not an employee. I needed to remember that.


With that said, I am going to keep moving forward, but I am going to make a few changes to how I do things. Mainly, I'm tossing out my schedule, and replacing it with a flexible one. I will do my best to read several books a week, and will get everything done as quickly as I am able, but I'm not going to kill myself trying to get reviews done immediately, because with me, I end up stealing time I should be giving to other projects.


Some of you know and some of you don't, but I'm an author myself, and that needs to be a priority. Aside from that though, I also help run two small businesses, as well as a pet rescue, and all that takes up quite a bit of my time, as it should. We all have a lot going on, but I think it's important for me to at least throw it out there.


I will put up my reviews wherever the book is listed/I'm able to, obviously, and each book I review will still have a permanent post on this blog. I will still accept reviews, and I'll do my best to hit release dates or special dates authors mention, but I'm not committing to any specific "I'll have it done by this date" agreements any more. I just can't, with so many other things, this has to be a side hobby I do for fun. This isn't a job, I don't get paid, and the jobs I have that do pay my bills need to take priority.


So, hopefully we're all good to go. If you're an author waiting for a review from me, I do apologize for the inconvenience of having to wait, but it is what it is. If we've agreed to a review date, I'll still do my best to keep it, but I can't make any promises. One way or another, you'll get a review, I'm at least sure of that much.


To everyone who's stuck with me, supported me, loves books, and loves authors, I appreciate you more than you know. I'm glad to have had the chance to re-evaluate this blog and reorganize myself, because I'll be moving forward far more healthy and capable of supporting the authors I love. A big part of even wanting to keep going, is because of you awesome folks, so thank you. You guys are awesome, and it was super sweet of you.



Looking forward to reading a ton of great new books!!


Be sure to follow me here, on social media (facebook & twitter), and follow my book blog for more fun book-lovin' fun!

Thanks for visiting!

Have a fantastic day! =D