Tuesday, July 17, 2018

"Control Freakz" by Michael Evans!

Hiya peeps! Today, I'm reviewing a dystopian adventure, written by a 15 year old debut author! Check it out, and let me know what you think in the comments below! =D

Control Freakz

~Author: Michael Evans

~Released: October 3rd 2017

~Publisher: Palmetto Publishing Group

~Length: 278

~Genres: Dystopian, Sci-Fi


Alone. Abandoned. Threatened. Natalie has lost all hope for a better future. Everything she’s known and everyone she’s ever loved is gone, and it’s up to her to get her old life back. In Michael Evans’s first novel, Control Freakz, Natalie’s journey toward a better life begins. 

When Protocol 00 is enacted, Natalie’s family is taken by the government, along with the families of her two best friends, Ethan and Hunter. With nothing to lose, and the threat of government hitmen kidnapping them at any moment, the three must battle to survive in a horrid, post-apocalyptic world run by President Ash and his invasive government. They want answers. And they’re willing to jeopardize everything in desperate pursuit. 

Risking ruthless leaders, attempted mind control, and her very existence on the planet, Natalie, along with Hunter and Ethan, will stop at nothing in their quest to regain everything they’ve ever known. Her spirits crushed and her will to live destroyed, Natalie knows everything is dead and gone, and soon she will be, too. 

Memories connect us to the past, and can often cause us to long for a better future, but they can drive our minds into a state of hell if a better future is unattainable. Nevertheless, Natalie’s hope for a better a future remains.


 My Review


PG-17

Could be a great story, if not a little cliche.

Dystopian novels are very popular at the moment, and seem to be a dime a dozen. I enjoy many of them, but if there isn't something that pops out to make it unique, it ends up leaving me somewhat unsatisfied. Unfortunately, this book falls into the latter category. It isn't a bad story by any means, and was still entertaining, which is why I'm going with 3 1/2 roses.

The plot was good, with a fair mix of action, adventure, suspense, and setup. It was laid out fairly well, and I didn't notice many plot holes or hiccups. There was an obvious sense of growth and change as the plot progressed, and while it ended in a way that I probably wouldn't have gone with, it was interesting. I think it may be a soft setup for a sequel, but it felt unclear, so it may be able to be a stand alone without solid closure.

The characters were fairly well developed, with unique personalities and individual quirks. I enjoyed the main character alright, and her side kicks were entertaining. I felt as though there needed to be either a fourth character with a lighter personality to round them all out, although that is simply personal preference - I enjoy seeing characters with dramatically different personality traits to bounce off each other. These three weren't bad though, and did a fair job of carrying the reader through the story.

The writing wasn't bad, especially for a fifteen-year-old teenager. Had I been unaware of the author's age before reading, I would have assumed a college student, at least. The style was contemporary, while still painting clear scenes of a dystopian future, without being too wordy or getting lost in arbitrary details.

Overall, I see good things coming out of this author, and will be following his future works. This book was entertaining, and while I don't see myself making this a "read multiple times" book, I'm thankful to the author for the chance to have read it for a review. I would recommend it to fans of dystopian adventures, and believe it could be entertaining for the vast majority of its readers.

*I was given a complimentary eCopy of this book, from the author, to read in exchange for an honest review.

~Rose
@Desert Rose Reviews


Do you enjoy dystopian novels? Let me know in the comments below!

Thanks for visiting! Have a fantastic day!

Keep creating! =D


Friday, July 6, 2018

First Movie Review!
"Stick It"

Hiya peeps! I'm super excited today, because it's my first movie review on DRR! I have previously shared this review on my UnPlugged blog, and since it's in my top 3 favorite films of all time, I thought it only fitting to cross-post it here, to kick off the movie reviews on this blog.

So, without further adieu, here we go!

Stick It

 Stick It (IMDb)
~Starring

~ReleasedApril 28th, 2006

~Written & Directed byJessica Bendinger

~GenresComedy, Drama, Sport

~Plot (from IMDb):

After a run-in with the law, Haley Graham (Missy Peregrym) is forced to return to the world from which she fled some years ago. Enrolled in an elite gymnastics program run by the legendary Burt Vickerman (Jeff Bridges), Haley's rebellious attitude gives way to something that just might be called team spirit.

Tuesday, July 3, 2018

"The Coyote: A Motivational Novel" by Steven Georgiou!

Hiya peeps! Today I'm sharing a children's novel - full novel, yes - with you. It's a wonderful motivational story. Check it out, and be sure to leave a comment below!

The Coyote: A Motivational Novel

The Coyote
~Author: Steven Georgiou

~ReleasedNovember 5th 2017

~Length: 219 Pages

~Genres: Children's, Inspirational, Fantasy


Many years ago, a young coyote named Raki was a confident fearless animal, who lived in a mysterious desert. But as he grew up due to his father’s strict ways and conditioning, Raki changed into a cowardly miserable coyote!

Time passes, and now a shadow of his former courageous self, dangerous times have occurred as evil wolves take away Raki’s family!

So it is up to the now cowardly coyote along with his loyal lizard friend to venture across the treacherous desert, to save his kind, and discover his destiny along the way!

A motivational and heart-warming tale, portraying that who we really are deep down is incredibly powerful, and through great adversity you can accomplish almost anything!

“I’m Sorry, Please Forgive Me, Thank You, I Love You”

Written by Steven Georgiou, a London born and raised entrepreneur of Greek Cypriot heritage. This is first novel.

Friday, June 29, 2018

"From Wrath to Ruin" by Justin Enos!

Hiya peeps!! I'm excited to share this amazing adventure with you! If you enjoy dystopian, fantasy, or just good old fashioned adventures, be sure to check it out, and let me know what you think in the comments below!

From Wrath to Ruin

 From Wrath to Ruin
~Author: Justin Enos

~Released: April 26th, 2017

~Length: 386 Pages

~Genres: Fantasy, Dystopian



In exile from his homeland... 

As a mercenary, Tijodrin has wandered far and wide, and now his travels have brought him to the great city of Hohvenlor, a city he knows well. He quickly finds himself caught up in a fierce rivalry that threatens to destroy two powerful merchant families and turn the streets of Hohvenlor into a battlefield. 
Within the city walls, Tijodrin will find danger in many forms. Can he survive 
the endless plots of the vengeful merchants and the swords of their bloodthirsty henchmen, as well as the lurking daggers of the shadowy assassin's guild?

Tuesday, June 26, 2018

Illustrated Comic Book Style Adventure
"Four Color Bleed" by Ryan McSwain!

Hiya peeps! Any super-hero or comic book fans here? I certainly am! Check out this awesome illustrated novel all about comic books, super-heroes, and adventure, and let me know what you think in the comments below!

Four Color Bleed

 Four Color Bleed
~Author: Ryan McSwain
 
 
~Released: August 31st 2017

~Publisher: Pithos Publishing

~Length: 437 Pages

~Genres: New Adult, Contemporary, Fantasy



Four Color Bleed is a novel about comic books, nostalgia, and the nature of reality. Featuring illustrations by Rian Gonzales, Weshoyot Alvitre, Ben Zmith, Morgan Perry (aka Geauxta), Ben Cohen, Kevin Kelly, Adam Prosser, and Chris “Chance!” Brown. 

Ralph Rogers was the darling of the comic book industry, a teenage artist who’d taken the world by storm. He had it all, until a high-profile scandal left him in disgrace. Years later, his reputation in tatters, Ralph has fallen into an obsession with the legendary lost comics of Pithos Publishing—a shadowy company that vanished into the fog of time. As he uncovers the mystery of Pithos, the curtain unravels between his own mundane life and a fantastic version of reality. Ralph suddenly has everything he’s ever wanted: He’s a celebrity, a beloved artist, and he’s been reunited with the girl of his dreams. But soon this new paradigm turns deadly, and Ralph must fight for his life in a land where the impossible is commonplace, where caped heroes rule the sky, and where the villainous Ocularist will stop at nothing to conquer the world.

Thursday, June 21, 2018

"Run from a Shadow" by Ruth Callick!

Hiya peeps! Check out this new adult action adventure! Set in the late 60s, it's entertaining and suspenseful.

Let me know what you think in the comments below! =D

Run from a Shadow

 Run From Shadows
~Author: Ruth Callick

~Released: November 6th, 2016

~Length: 232 Pages

~Genres: New Adult, Action, Adventure 


It is 1969 when two young boys approach Casey Hammond in the airport, alone and scared and lost in a country not their own. She agrees to help them get to their uncle—but she has no idea of the danger and intrigue she will soon encounter. 

It seems there are foreign nationals in pursuit of the children, which risks the safety of the entire group. When an arrogant but handsome young man comes to their rescue, she soon learns he is the children’s older cousin. He has volunteered to become their protector as they attempt to get the children safely to their uncle. More quickly than she could have imagined, Casey soon finds herself growing attached to the two children—and their attractive, warmhearted cousin. 

In this thrilling romance, set in the sixties, a young woman sets out to help two children defecting from a communist country—and falls in love along the way. 

Tuesday, June 19, 2018

"No Man's Land" by Hervey Copeland!

Hiya peeps! I've got a gritty action novel for you guys today. Check it out, and let me know what you think in the comments below! =D

No Man's Land

 No Man's Land
~Author: Hervey Copeland

~Released: November 2nd, 2016

~Length: 143 Pages

~Genres: Adult Fiction, Adventure, Action, Suspense


Author Mark La Croix has left the hustle and bustle of the city and is leading a quiet life in a cabin, deep inside the Colorado Rockies. While working on his latest novel, he makes a gruesome discovery and uncovers secrets that some would want to remain dead and buried.

Soon Mark becomes a target and is forced to run for his life. The nearest town is thirty miles away, and the only way to escape is through the forest. The people chasing him are hot on his heels, and will stop at nothing to prevent him from getting out of the wilderness alive.