Friday, June 23, 2017

Review of "The Discharge" by Gary Reilly!

Hiya peeps! I'm excited to share an awesome book with you guys today. Written by the late Gary Reilly, it chronicles the life of a soldier in the Army, and is highly autobiographical - how cool is that!?

I was able to do a review, and also have that posted below. Check it out, and if you like what you see, be sure to add the book to your tbr list!

The Discharge


 Discharge
~Released: June 23rd, 2017

~ Publisher: Running Meter Press

~Genres: Historical, Military


The Discharge is the third novel in Gary Reilly’s trilogy chronicling the life and times of Private Palmer as he returns from the U.S. Army to civilian life after a tour of duty in Vietnam. It is a largely autobiographical series based on his own two years of service, 1969-1971, which included a year in Southeast Asia.

In the first book, The Enlisted Men’s Club, Palmer is stationed as an MP trainee at the Presidio in San Francisco, awaiting deployment orders. Palmer is wracked with doubt and anxiety. A tortured relationship with a young lady off base and cheap beer at the EM club offer escape and temporary relief.

The Detachment is the second in the series. This novel covers Palmer’s twelve months in Vietnam as a Military Policeman. In the beginning, he endures through drink and drugs and prostitutes but comes to a turning point when he faces his challenges fully sober.

Now, in The Discharge, Palmer is back in the United States. But he’s adrift. Palmer tries to reconnect with a changed world. From San Francisco to Hollywood to Denver and, finally, behind the wheel of a taxi, Palmer seeks to find his place.

Thursday, June 22, 2017

Review for "The Bad Boy's Girl" by Blair Holden!

Hiya peeps! I've got a review to share today, for a book I agreed to read and review for a promotional tour early last month. I ended up not being able to give it a good rating, and swapped my review for promotional content instead, because the tour is meant to help the book, not harm it.

I don't intend to harm it here either, simply share my review now that it's been more than six weeks since the tour ended.

This is my "official & professional" PluggedIn review, sans spoilers. If you like spoilers and want more of a book discussion/book club setting review, I have one! This book definitely inspired some passionate feelings and opinions, and you can check those out here if you wish.

Without further ado, here we go.


The Bad Boy's Girl

 The Bad Boy's Girl
~Released: February 21st 2017

~Length: 395 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Romance

~Parent's Guide: PG-17


Tessa O’Connell is a girl as ordinary as they come-or so she thinks. Her aim for senior year is to keep her head down yet somehow manage to convince her childhood love Jay Stone to love her back. What she isn’t prepared for is for Jay’s brother, Cole to return to town and change the life she’s always been seemingly content to live. Tall, gorgeous as all hell and a bad boy with ocean blue eyes and the perfect edge of adorability, he was her greatest tormentor, her number one enemy.But the guy that’s come back is like no one Tessa’s ever come across. He challenges her, he tests her limits, he forces her to bring out the girl she’s long ago buried under a veil of mediocrity and most of all he compels her to consider that perhaps the boy that infuriates her to the point of no return might just her guardian angel. This new edition contains never before seen, exclusive content!

Wednesday, June 21, 2017

New Release by Kailee Reese Samuels!

 Tour


Hiya peeps! I have a new romance release to share with you today! I've included an excerpt for you to check out, as well as a giveaway at the end of the post! Let me know what you think, in the comments below!

Grunt

The SOS #3

 Grunt
~Released: May 30th 2017

~Genres: Adult Fiction, Romance


Six days.
No one thought I could last
Here in the cell—I now call home
They didn’t know I grew up in the prison of my crime family’s dream.

Six weeks.

No one thought I could withstand
The loss, the drugs, the torture
They didn’t know how much I would enjoy their game.

Six months.

No one thought I could survive
Their puppet and prey—but I like to play—Hard.
And I don’t lose.

They picked the wrong guy. Their so-called ‘grunt’ would fight to get home and take revenge. I vowed to come back—for her—for Kaci. But everything changed.

My maniacal mind wrapped with a pretty mug, I am an unforgiving opponent, tough—tougher than they ever imagined.

And I will never – ever – break.

Trailer Reveal for "The Prophetess" by Desy Smith!



Hiya guys! I'm sharing a trailer reveal for a new fantasy romance coming this Autumn! The cover reveal is currently set for August 2nd, but the trailer looks epic! Check it out, and be sure to let me know what you think of it in the comments below!


The Prophetess


 The Prophetess
~Publisher: Floebe Publishing

~Genres: New Adult, Fantasy, Romance


High up in the heavens, righteousness faces off against the greatest dissenter of all time, and in the crossfire, an angel loses his wings…

Fallen from Heaven and forced to live amongst the humans in exile, angel Ezekiel bares the tragic fate of a disgraced angel. Having overheard the rebellious Lucifer’s plans to rise up against the sanctuary of Heaven, Ezekiel remains silent, and for his inaction, he is cast from the pearly gates and onto the unforgiving lands of the mortals. Two thousand years pass with a cold and hollow wind at his back, and for a moment, Ezekiel resigns to his fate.

However, in the year 2016, the winds of fate begin to change, and redemption comes in the form of his brother, Gabriel, who bares great news. Ezekiel is given a chance to return to Heaven, but only once he has taken down Molach, an evil demon on the rise. If Ezekiel can stop Molach from helping Lucifer return, he will be welcomed back into Heaven. However, there is more than just a demon in his path, Ezekiel must uncover what else fate has in store for him, including a lovely solitary Prophetess named Isabelle and the endless possibility for joy and whimsy she offers. Can Ezekiel rise once more to the great destiny that awaits him? Or has he been amongst the fickle mortals for far too long?

Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Audiobook Review for "Wired" by Leslie North!

 Book Tour


Hiya peeps! I have an audiobook post for you today, with a Dream Cast I put together, and my review! There is also a giveaway at the end of the post, so be sure to read the full post for details!

Wired

The Solomon Brothers, Book 1


 Wired
~Released: April 19, 2017

~Narrator: Rebecca Roberts

~Length: 3 hours 36 minutes

~Publisher: Relay Publishing

~Parent's Guide: R

~Genres: Adult Fiction, Romance


Star quarterback Marcus Kingston lives and breathes football. He’s trusted his abilities and instincts to get him this far, but an injury last season nearly ended his career. When his coaches want him to wear biofeedback technology to analyze his game, Marcus thinks the idea is ridiculous. Plus, the mousy scientist behind the project knows nothing about sports, and she quickly gets under his skin. But with another QB waiting on the sidelines, Marcus can either agree to participate, or be benched—permanently.

Scientist Clare Wynifred values intellect above most things. With her brain constantly working, she has little interest in her appearance and zero interest in sports. She never imagined her wearable tech being used to improve someone’s game, but its success with the team could get her a military contract. Clare may be too late to save her brother, but her technology could save the lives of countless soldiers. She just has to make it work with the stubborn quarterback, and she’ll be one step closer to her goal.

Marcus and Clare butt heads at first, but their mutual attraction quickly grows. And yet, with everything to lose, it’s easy to ignore that together they might be able to go the distance.


Saturday, June 17, 2017

New YA Paranormal Romance by Cortney Pearson!

 Book Blitz!

Hiya peeps! I'm excited to share this book with you today, partially cuz it sounds awesome, and partially because the cover is epic! Isn't it gorgeous! Comment below and tell me what you think of it?

Be sure to also enter the giveaway at the end of the post!

Intrinsic

The Forbidden Doors, #2

 Intrinsic
~Released: June 12th, 2017

~Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Romance




Some boys are better left unkissed. Some books shouldn’t be read. And some doors should remain closed.

The bookstore where I work harkens back to another time—one of flapper dresses and cloche hats, of walking canes and tailored suits, and of boys with impeccable manners and ice-blue eyes. Boys like my coworker, Nikolay.

But the store also holds secrets—a formidable door missing its knob, a mystery bound in magic books, and the haunted look in Nikolay’s eyes. And there are crows that follow me home. Crows only I can see.

I can’t tell whether the crows are a threat or a warning. But one thing is certain, I’m in too deep to walk away. There is something behind that door in the bookstore. And it’s the key to getting the crows to stop, before they turn into something far more sinister.

Intrinsic is a mystical venture through ink and time, deliciously eerie, with enough angst, enigmas, and romantic charge to make your nails bite into your palms. Don't miss this captivating, standalone companion to Cortney Pearson's Phobic.

Friday, June 16, 2017

*¨*.¸¸.✶*¨`*.✫*¨*Promo Sale*.✫*¨*.¸¸.✶*¨`*

Hiya peeps! I'm sharing a promo sale for a book I think a lot of you would enjoy. Check it out, and let me know what you think of it!


Souls Discovered

Promo Ad.png
~Author: Miranda Brock

~Genre: Teen & Young Adult

~Price: Now only $.99 or FREE on Kindle Unlimited



Spin away with young Autumn as she finds a seemingly innocuous gold necklace on her family’s farm and inadvertently uncovers her destiny as “The Keeper.” Autumn’s discovery of the necklace activates “The Window” and alerts both good and evil forces to her whereabouts. Autumn is pulled from everything she knows and tossed into a life of unknowns. Enigmatic enemies called Dehmons hunt her at every turn and if captured the very world she lives in will fall into destruction. With the help of seven Searchers Autumn must learn to use the power she has been given before it is too late.

Will she choose to follow the dangerous destiny thrust upon her?

Will she be able to withstand the temptation of a relationship that could jeapordize everything?

Most importantly, will Autumn be able to find the strength within herself to fight the dead-eyed evil Dehmon souls?