Saturday, July 27, 2013

A Blue Moon

A Blue Moon
~By~
Vanessa A. Ryan
~Genres~
Adult Fiction, Urban Fantasy, Paranormal, Horror, Thriller, Mystery
~My Copy~
~Kindle eBook
~Published~
April 18th, 2013
~Pages~
128
~Synopsis (from Goodreads)~
"Lorrie Duncan, an abstract painter working as a substitute teacher, dreams of making it big in the art world when she’s not busy looking for Mr. Right. She seems on the verge of getting what she wants, at least with respect to her career, because her current boyfriend Marty is a rising star in the L.A. art scene. But when a fortuneteller gives her a medallion with malevolent powers, her life and plans fall apart. Now to survive, she finds herself in a race to discover its secret, before it destroys everything she holds dear."
~~~~~

~My Rating: 2/5 Roses~


~My Review~
This book was ok, although certainly not my favorite, and not one I plan on reading again. The danger surrounding the mysterious medallion Lorrie acquires is interesting, but somewhat lacking in substance. I don't completely regret reading this book, but I am glad it's over, and I somewhat feel like I've wasted my time.

The characters are unique and interesting, in their own ways. What I didn't care for, however, was the way they were written to interact with each other. The quick presumptions they each made, and the ridiculous reactions to psychotic behavior wasn't believable at all. I don't think most people would come across the kind of behavior Lorrie dealt with and say “hu, that was odd, he must just be a little off today.” It was difficult to keep reading this book, because of the unrealistic aspect of the characters and the situations that kept unfolding as the story progressed.

The main things I didn't care for much, were:

1) The repetitive conversations about real estate.  In my opinion, reading about someone's rental agreement and real estate issues isn't very entertaining, when you're reading fiction.  I think the attempt was to bring in a sense of reality and normalcy.  In the end, at least for me, I found myself wanting to skip ahead several pages, and just get on with the story.

2: No where in the summary, did it mention being a horror book, with gore and excessive violence.  That wasn't a surprise I appreciated.  I think that should be noted somewhere in the synopsis, so readers are prepared for what genre they'll actually be reading.

The writing itself wasn't bad, although it's not something I'd rave about. The plot seemed thin, the end has me pretty confused, and seemed thrown together quickly and slightly sloppily.  With the tedious, boring conversation as filler to cheap gore, the end result was a mundane book.

I wouldn't necessarily recommend this book, but I wouldn't say “don't read this” either.  If it looks interesting to you, it may be worth a read, and you may like it better than I did.

*I was given an eCopy of this book, from the author, to read in exchange for an honest review.
~~~~~
~Book & Purchase Links~

~Aurthor Links~

Sunday, July 21, 2013

Nightshade

~Titles~
Nightshade
~By~
Andrea Cremer
~Genres~
YA, Paranormal, Romance, Urban Fantasy
~My Copy~
~Hardcover
~Published~
October 19th 2010
~Pages~
452
~Synopsis (from Goodreads)~
"Calla Tor has always known her destiny: After graduating from the Mountain School, she'll be the mate of sexy alpha wolf Ren Laroche and fight with him, side by side, ruling their pack and guarding sacred sites for the Keepers.  But when she violates her masters' laws by saving a beautiful human boy out for a hike, Calla begins to question her fate, her existence, and the very essence of the world she has known.  By following her heart, she might lose everything- including her own life.  Is forbidden love worth the ultimate sacrifice?"
~~~~~

~My Rating: 5/5 Roses~

~My Review~
I thought this was a great book, overall.  Action, adventure, romance, forbidden love, hidden danger and secrets!  What's not to love?

It did have some similarities between other popular book series out right now, as far as relationships and the whole love triangle thing, and even with some names.  It is original enough to be entertaining, though.  It wasn't blatant that the similarities were there, and it's certainly an exciting and entertaining start to this series.

I really enjoyed the plot, and the overall story in the book.  I loved the mix of human drama with wolf pack dynamics- certainly very interesting and unique to read.  I adore all the characters, and their individual personalities.  I was able to connect with each one, and really feel like I was there with them.  I also really love the "bad guys" and the way they were described.

The writing was really great- quick, funny and full of wit.  It flowed really well, and made for a wonderful read.  This is certainly a book that will stay with me for a long time to come.   Loved this book, and I'm definitely looking forward to reading the sequel.
~~~~~
~Book & Purchase Links~

~Author Links~

Solace and Distress

~Title~
Solace and Distress
~By~
Stephen Holland
~Genres~
Adult Fiction, Adventure, Fantasy, Mythology
~My Copy~
~Kindle eCopy
~Published~
June 30, 2013
~Pages~
344
~Synopsis (from Goodreads)~
"Solace and Distress is set in an imaginary world, in the vassal state of Codencia Minor. The timeline would put it somewhere akin to the middle ages of our world. Part 1 of the tale tells of the birth of a girl by the name of Celeste in a small village and the strange tasks her father set her in the naming ceremony at the winter solstice.

Part 2 charts her life as an infant and her blossoming relationship with her father and friendship with a local boy Bracen. Her relationships with her father and friend are abruptly ended through the relocation of the family to the coast when a nearby volcano erupts. Her father returns to the village along with the other men folk in a clearing up operation. In the midst of the clear up the village elder is summoned to the capital of Codencia Minor for an emergency meeting of the parliament. Whilst there and the country itself is in a state of weakness it is invaded by wild men from the north, many are killed but Celeste’s father is taken prisoner and Codencia minor permanently occupied by the Northmen. Her mother, trying to protect her tells her daughter her father has in fact been killed and they are forced to live a quiet life at the coast.

In Part 3 Celeste is a tall and strong teenager but with little or no social skills having been brought up in isolation by her mother. Her one companion is a young Falcon, rescued and reared from a chick and who is her constant companion. Some three years later Celeste’s mother receives a letter from an old friend in the village where Celeste had been born. She still had the original property there but needed to go back to claim the deeds as the property had been vacant for nearly ten years. Now eighteen Celeste is told by her mother of the truth surrounding her father’s disappearance.

In Part 4, Celeste with her long lost friend Bracen set out on a quest to the north to find her father. On leaving the land Celeste kills two border guards and is injured herself. The couple (acting as newlywed’s) find shelter in a variety of small villages as they make their way north but knowing they are fugitives. Eventually they are betrayed and captured and are to be sent for trial. Celeste and Bracen escape imprisonment and make it over the border into another country where they hide in a cave by the river. They are found by another man Malic, also on his own quest to find the murderer of his own father, who joins them on their eventual journey north.

Part 5 tells of their time with Malic, now revealed as a reluctant Lord of an inherited estate and Bracen’s eventual marriage to a local girl. Celeste and Malic are forced closer together as they spend winter in the castle to the south of the supposedly impassable Cynric Mountains.

The final part is the tale of how Celeste and Malic manage the impossible and trek over the mountain range to find a cold but wide land in the north. How they eventually both achieve their quests and the awful decision presented to Celeste at the end of the tale."
~~~~~
 
~My Rating: 2/5 Roses~

~My Review~
I really wanted to like this book, and I've been looking forward to reading it for a while.  Unfortunately, this book and I didn't get along very well.

The overall story is alright, but I doubt would appeal to most people.  If you're a fan of Xena the Warrior Princess or a macho Wonder Woman, and want to read a book with a main character like that, then you may like it.  It seemed very much like a book version of a guys' fantasy dream princess- strong, brave, great with a sword, but still voluptuous and sexually appealing (which was mentioned a LOT) in furs and revealing clothes.  So, I suppose perhaps it's better to say: I doubt this book would appeal to many women, and only to a certain group of men, such as warrior-princess fans...

The plot was...alright...mid-level fantasy adventure, with some action, and some graphic erotic scenes.  I didn't find the plot thin necessarily, just perhaps a little random or slightly shallow.  It seemed like a deep story, that we got a somewhat glazed overview of.  The secondary characters were ok, although it got somewhat frustrating with people being thrown in, made to seem important, and then having them taken out of the story abruptly.  The culture and characters reminded me of a mix between Vikings/Norsemen and Native Americans.  The story had some twists, although all completely predictable- I don't enjoy books where I'm able to figure out the ending in the first ¼ of the book, and this was one such story.

The biggest thing I had a problem with, and I'll say this as respectfully as I can- this seems very much like a book written by someone who isn't especially gifted in writing, and failed to have this book properly edited.  It seemed like the author made his own version of English, mixed it with a lot of Old English/Shakespearean words and phrases, and then attempted to write a book.  Basic sentence structure was completely missing, there were entire paragraphs of run-on sentences, words were often times misused, and there were many spelling and grammar issues.  Reading an ebook copy added frustration as well, because it wasn't formatted correctly.

What made it even more confusing to read, was the fact that quotation marks around dialogue weren't used properly (when used at all), and most of the time, a character's line was simply thrown in at random, with no obvious way of telling someone said something, leaving the reader to guess what was going on.  In many cases, there would be a paragraph of conversation between multiple people, minimal indication as to who was talking when, making it was difficult to figure out what was going on.

If this book were to be really edited and worked with, it could be ok.  As it stands, I'm surprised this is published, and has multiple editions.  I mean no disrespect to the author, in any way, with any of my comments and observations, but I feel they are necessary for my review.  I did not enjoy the actual reading of this book itself, but the story was ok, and I must be honest to explain my point.  That being said, the writing is bad enough to where I think it only deserves 1 rose.  However, this story is one that I think some people would like, and if it were ever properly edited, I would rate it 3 roses.  It balances out to 2 roses in my opinion.

I'm not sure if I'd give a recommendation for this book or not.  At the moment, it feels like I just read a rough draft manuscript that needs a lot of work to be finalized for the public.  While the story itself isn't something I think people should stay away from, the writing actually caused me pain with a bad migraine (twice), and I don't think I could recommend any one else reading this book until it's properly edited.
~~~~~
~Book & Purchase Links~

~Author Links~

Saturday, July 20, 2013

"The Mark of Cain" by A.D. Seeley!
*Review & Spotlight*

*Materials & images courtesy of Goodreads; review owned by Desert Rose Reviews.

The Cain Chronicles, Book 1

~Published: October 2nd, 2012

~Length: 389 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, New Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Supernatural, Romance


History as we know it is a lie. An intricate web of half-truths and falsifications spun by the most infamous murderer in history: the immortal, Cain, son of Adam and Eve. All so the truth of him and his power can stay in the shadows, with every oblivious mortal his pawn. The Mark of Cain reveals the truth.

After murdering his brother, Abel, Cain was unjustly cursed by God. When the curse becomes too unbearable for him and he faces immortality alone, Cain puts his energy into claiming the Earth as his own. Now, after thousands of years living his life as some of history’s greatest conquerors, the ruthless first son of Adam finally has a controlling interest in the world with the strongest governments secretly answering to him.

Tired of the bloodshed and manipulation that has brought him to this point, Cain is ready to relax. But God has sent someone to challenge his interests: a young woman named Hara, whose very life was foretold centuries ago.

To keep God from victory, Cain sets out to woo and corrupt Hara, planning to kill her once she is no longer God’s Chosen One. At first, as she edges off the path leading toward the fulfillment of the prophecy, Cain can’t help but feel smug. However, the closer he gets to her, the more he finds that Hara’s charitable presence causes him to feel shame for the first time in his long life, and soon he finds that he no longer wishes her harm. But the prophecy is clear on this; she has to die for him to win. When it comes to her end, will he be as selfish as he has always been, or will he sacrifice himself for the love of his very long life?

Breathless

Breathless (Jason and Azazel #1), by V.J. Chambers
Breathless (Jason and Azazel, #1)

~Synopsis (from Goodreads)~

"Azazel is seventeen and sexually frustrated.  Her biggest issue is trying to figure out why her seemingly normal boyfriend won't sleep with her.

Then Jason races into her life.  He won't say where he came from or who's chasing him.  He's a delicious puzzle, a boy who has no problem using his fists to solve arguments or quoting Plato to justify his actions.  Azazel is drawn to him.  She's obsessed with finding out his secrets.

What she doesn't know is that Jason's secrets are entwined with her own town's secrets.  Her friends and family have conspired to use her as a pawn in a violent scheme.  Soon, she will have to choose between protecting Jason and staying loyal to everyone she's ever trusted."

     ~My Rating: 1/5 Roses~


~My Review~


I normally don't have spoilers in my reviews, but this time, I'm going to have to make an exception.  I only got part-way through this book, before I had to put it down, and go take a shower.  Once I reached the vivid and graphic description of the main group of people being Satanists, preparing to rape the main character in a Satanic cult ritual on Halloween, I stopped in disgust.  Not my kind of book!

I really would have liked some warning that this book had that sort of thing in it, and I never would have picked it up.  The description/synopsis should mention something about cults, Satanists, witch-craft, demons, something!  Parents need to be aware of that in this series, because it's listed as YA.

The story itself wasn't even that good- the main character is an idiot.  She's a vapid, immature girl who was written to blindly miss completely, painfully obvious events and circumstances, in order to propel the story forward.  I can not think that any one in real life would be that stupid...

Overall, this book was horrible, and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone...

~If you're interested, you can find out more info on this book here:
Goodreads: Breathless
Shelfari: Breathless

~You can visit V.J. Chambers' author pages here:
Goodreads: V.J. Chambers
Amazon: V.J. Chambers
http://www.vjchambers.com/

~If you'd like, you can purchase Breathless here:
Amazon: Breathless

Friday, July 19, 2013

What Will Be...

What Will Be..., by Loralei Maiden
What Will Be...

~Synopsis (from Goodreads)~

"After over-hearing news from some fellow pack members, werewolf Roxy makes a life changing decision. What will the repercussions of her actions be? Will she accept her fate or will she try and create her own?"

  ~My Rating: 2/5 Roses~

~My Review~

Being a fan of werewolf stories and novels, I was excited to read a book with a female werewolf lead.  I was hoping to enjoy it as much as I enjoyed the Nighshade series, by Andrea Cremer.  Unfortunately, I didn't care for this book that much.

The lead character, Roxy (which is a name that, I'm sorry, just personally makes me shutter...) seems to be overly conflicted. and not as down-to-earth or as tough as you'd typically hope a werewolf to be.  Granted, she's a teen girl, but I was hoping for a little more tough-girl, and a little less drama-queen.

The lead guy was irritating, although he fit the idea/image of a werewolf alpha-to-be.  In truth, I'm not really sure why Roxy made the choice she did, because I liked him a whole lot more than the beta-wolf.  It seemed like the drama she created, was all in her head, and she ended up going through a whole lot of hardships because of it.

The plot, as a whole, seemed a little shallow, and didn't seem very solid or well-founded.  It seemed very much like an emotion-filled daydream of a teen girl, but not realistic or very believable.  The last quarter of the book was your typical "keep them guessing til the last line" kind of thing, which was probably my favorite part of the book.  It had the most thought and creativity put into it, and while it's not the ending I would have chosen, it's the only thing that kept me from completely regretting reading this book.

Bottom line: it's not my favorite story, and while it's not atrocious, this isn't a book I'll read again.  My recommendation would come with hesitancy, and I'd really only recommend to people who love werewolf stories enough to overlook the shaky plot.

~If you'd like to find out more about this book, please visit:
Goodreads: What Will Be...
LibraryThing: What Will Be...
Shelfari: What Will Be...

~If you'd like, you can purchase What Will Be... here:
Barnes & Noble: What Will Be...

Tuesday, July 16, 2013

Forever Yours Series

Forever Yours Series (Novellas 1-4), by Deila Longford

Forever Yours Part One
Forever Yours - Part One  (#1)

~Synopsis (from Goodreads)~

"In Portland Maine, lives a girl called Rose Peterson. She is human, hardworking, shy, and keeps herself to herself. Rose doesn't buy into all of the silly things that life has to offer, she doesn't like to shop or watch chick flicks, instead she indulges in scary movies and reading books. Meet Dalton Clark, he is stunning, mysterious, sarcastic and supernatural. When Rose bumps into him at her local convince store, she is mesmerized, intrigued and petrified of his ever changing eyes. Who is Dalton Clark and what is his story? What happens when these two strangers collide? Is it instant sparks, or an overwhelming tragedy?"

   ~My Rating: 2/5 Roses~


~My Review~


I was hoping to enjoy this story, especially considering the main character and I share a first name.  Unfortunately, I didn't enjoy this book very much.

The story was alright, but it simply seems like a cheap spin-off of the Twilight series.  The plot is predictable and a bit melodramatic.  I was disappointed with the lack of originality (Portland, Maine, really??) and now slightly offended that the character has my name...

My main issue with it, is it doesn't seem like it was spell-checked, grammar checked, or edited.  The whole book needs serious editing, and there are so many simple mistakes, it's just irritating.

I did finish it though, and want to continue reading the series (it has to get better right?), so I think it balances out to 2 roses.

(Links at the bottom of the post)

Forever Yours Part Two
Forever Yours - Part Two  (#2)

~Synopsis (from Goodreads)~

"‘Her blood is his greatest desire!’

Rose Peterson and Dalton Clark, had an electrifying first date, there was kisses, icy fingers and cold words. Hunger burned through his red eyes and he gave into his desire. Rose was paralyzed by his touch, but what happened next? Is this the start of a beautiful relationship or is it a tragedy waiting to happen?"

    ~My Rating: 2/5 Roses~


~My Review~


The second part of this series is needed for the story to continue, but out of the 4 novellas, this is my least favorite. Highly predictable, not edited, and the characters are incredibly annoying.

This seems like a novella (and the whole series, really) for people who didn't like the Twilight series, and want an anti-Twilight plot. The main male character is a jerk, and not someone any self-respecting girl would want to be with. Because of that, and her incredibly irritating personality, Rose simply seems stupid, desperate, and needy. Unlike Bella in the Twilight story, Rose hasn't thought anything through, and she's irritating for more shallow and vacant reasons than Bella.

I'm still leaving it 2 roses, because the ending left me with some hope that the next installment will be better, and I'm still reading the series. I may come to regret that decision...

(Links at the bottom of the post)

Forever Yours Part Three
Forever Yours - Part Three  (#3)

~Synopsis (from Goodreads)~

"Rose Peterson loves Dalton Clark, and she is willing to give up her humanity to be with him. But with vampire emotions running high, will Dalton agree to turn her? Does he love Rose and does he want to be with her, forever? As their story unfolds, Rose opens up and lets Dalton into her painful world, but will he do the same? Will Dalton finally admit that he cares about Rose?"

  ~My Rating: 3/5 Roses~


~My Review~ 


Ok, so this story is getting better, there's a little more depth and plot behind the cliches.  This installment wasn't as bad to read, and while it's not one I'll read again, it's made me no longer regret reading the first two books, as much...

This one also has serious editing issues, although slightly better than the previous two parts of the story.  I'd hesitate recommending because you'd have to read the first two novellas, so I'll leave it at 3 roses.

(Links at the bottom of the post)

Forever Yours Part Four
Forever Yours - Part Four  (#4)

~Synopsis (from Goodreads)~

"Rose Peterson has changed in so many ways since she met Dalton Clark. But the biggest change is that she is about to become a vampire. Rose's love for Dalton consumed her, and she wasn't prepared to wait for him to turn her. So Rose took matters into her own hands, and she sought the help of Nicholas, Dalton's somewhat dangerous Brother. How will Dalton react when Rose wakes up? And what kind of vampire will Rose be? How will their story end? Will it be a happily ever after? Or an eternity of misery?"

   ~My Rating: 1/5 Roses~


~My Review~


This book killed everything the third installment fixed for me.  Just when I had hope from the third book, this one came along and made me cringe.

I can honestly say, this isn't a story I enjoyed reading, and it's not one I'd recommend.  Along with all the same editing mistakes (spell-checker, people, come on!  Sheesh...) the story became completely cliche, lost all plot originality (even had the running through the woods scene from Twilight), and the ending was not one I enjoyed.

I'm glad it's over...

~Overall Thoughts/Review of the Series~

I'd say overall, if this series was a full novel, it would get 2 roses.  The writing was decent, if you ignore the painful lack of editing.  With a proper spell-check session, and a good editor, this series would improve a lot for the readers, and would then simply be a well written cliche story.

Forever Yours is not a series I'd be quick to recommend, unless you're just in love with all things vampire, and wouldn't mind a cliche spin-off of Twilight.  For me, I enjoy some sort of originality to books, and this really had none at all.  Change some names and the car they drive, and you've basically got a mirror-image story of Twilight.  If you'd enjoy that, and can get past cringe-worthy lack of editing, then you'd probably like this series.

~If you'd like to find out more about these novellas, please visit these links:
Goodreads: Part 1
Goodreads: Part 2
Goodreads: Part 3
Goodreads: Part 4

~You can visit Daliah Longford's author page and website here:
Goodreads: Deila Longford
www.deilalongford.webs.com/

~If you'd like, you can purchase the series here:
Amazon: Part 1
Amazon: Part 2
Amazon: Part 3
Amazon: Part 4

Awakened

Awakened (Vampire Awakenings #1)
~Author~
Brenda K. Davies
~Genres~
YA/NA, Paranormal Romance, Fantasy,  
~My Copy~
Kindle eBook
~Published~
January 17th, 2013
~Pages~
387

~Synopsis (from Goodreads)~
"Traumatized by her past, and struggling to move on from it, Sera has spent the past three years of college hiding herself from the world and content to stay that way. A chance encounter with Liam shatters her sheltered world, leaving her stunned and shaken by the strange feelings and emotions he arises in her, feelings she never thought she would experience and that frighten her in their intensity.

Harboring a dark and deadly secret of his own, Liam knows that he should stay away from Sera; that he will only bring her more hurt, but he is irresistibly drawn to her and unable to deny himself the pleasure that only she can bring to him. But when their pasts collide with their present, and Liam’s true nature is revealed, will their love for each other be enough, or will they be torn apart forever?"
~~~~~

~My Rating: 4/5 Roses~
~*~
~My Review~ 
After the shadow that the Twilight series cast on vampire stories, I wasn't expecting this to be a great book.  Most of the vampire-based novels and novellas coming out these days, have obvious influences from Stephanie Meyers' books.  The synopsis sounded interesting, so I figured I'd give it a try.  Luckily, I was pleasantly surprised.

While I could definitely see some similarities between this book and the entire Twilight series, it was only in certain areas, and only when I consciously looked for it. It's still original enough to be interesting and exciting, and no one sparkled...

The depth of the characters was surprising and enjoyable- not something I had been expecting.  Sera's struggles and past pain are things I think a lot of young women can relate to, and her character draws you in from the first page.  Her personal growth, and the relationship she develops with Liam, are both simply wonderful.  Liam is a perfect example of a vampire-version dream hunk in most young women's day-dreams.  He's confident and strong, but also has a softer side, much like a sparkly guy with great hair we're all familiar with...

The side characters are awesome as well, and all do a fantastic job of shaping the story and helping the events go from interesting to exciting.  You couldn't ask for better friends than the ones Sera and Liam have, and the relationships we see with them give the story added depth.

The surprising twist in the last quarter of the book was simply fantastic, and added a sense of danger and suspense to the story.  While I personally didn't care for the ending itself, I know most people would, and it was a decent ending for the story.  It's sure to satisfy most readers.

The writing was very good, flowed easily and quickly.  The author does a fantastic job of capturing all the emotions of the story, without being too dramatic or getting lost in dialogue.  I took off a rose for grammatical/spelling errors that, while they might not bother some people, pull me out of the story.

With humor, fun, adventure, mystery and romance, this is a wonderfully well-rounded book, sure to appeal to any vampire, romance, or YA/NA fan.
~~~~~
~Book & Buy Links~
~~~~~
~Author Links~

Amadi Trilogy

Amadi, the Phoenix, the Sphinx, & the Djinn (Amadi, #1-3), by Katharina Gerlach
Amadi, the Phoenix, the Sphinx, and the Djinn

~Synopsis (from Goodreads)~

"Full trilogy.

Amadi realizes how much she hates being a girl when her half-sister is unwillingly engaged to an elderly gold-smith. She manages to become apprenticed to a thief where she lives as a boy more often than not. But when her Helping Hand is murdered, her oath of revenge lands her smack dab in the path of an assassin hired to kill her and a jackal-headed god with the same purpose. Now, her only defense is the threadbare tunic of a young man and her training as a thief."

  ~My Rating: 4/5 Roses~



~My Review~


This is a wonderful story, full of adventure, magic, friendship and courage.

Living in a society full of rules she doesn't believe in, and a family she doesn't fit in with, Amadi struggles to find her own path.  Having the courage many people lack, she challenges tradition and expectations, and follows her heart through life-threatening situations and challenges.

Finding out secrets and lies in her past, Amadi sets out to right wrongs and do what she believes is right, even if it means she loses everything she cares about.

Meeting many unexpected friends, and running from a creature more fitting in a nightmare than reality, she finds adventure, love, and herself.   The friendships she forms keep her strong, and she becomes a hero in her own heart.

This is a story sure to warm any heart, and fill any imagination to the brim.  The Arabian culture and desert background of this adventure are written with fantastic details, and present a new kind of story.  All of the characters are deep and interesting, and they all grow and change in some way, by the end of the series.

I took off a rose, because it had a bit of a slow start, and took a while to catch my interest.  After the story picked up, I was hardly able to stop reading!  It has a perfect ending, and the trilogy as a whole is wonderful.  I would certainly recommend reading this series.

~Find out more about this trilogy here:
Goodreads: Amadi
Shelfari: Amadi Trilogy

~Visit Katharina Gerlach's author pages here:
Goodreads: Katharina Gerlach
Amazon: Katharina Gerlach
Katharina Gerlach's Website
Shelfari: Katharina Gerlach

~Purchase the Amadi series here:
Amazon: Amadi Trilogy

*I received an eCopy of this series, from the author, to read in exchange for an honest review.

Monday, July 15, 2013

*Review*
Starseed, by Liz Gruder

Starseed, by Liz Gruder
Starseed

~Synopsis (from Goodreads)~

"Kaila Guidry has always known she is different. After all, her mother insists Kaila hide her hair under a tin foil shield and a wig before leaving the house. When Kaila meets Jordyn Stryker one day at school, she starts to understand the origin of her mother’s seemingly irrational fears.

Jordyn Stryker was born and raised far from Earth, a starseed, one of six new students sent undercover to Louisina’s Bush High to learn human ways. When Kaila is pushed to her limit by high school bullying and cruelty, Jordyn steps in and awakens her to a new reality, and to love. Out of loyalty to him, Kaila looks the other way when the real purposes of the starseed begin to unfold.

As the horrific plan behind the starseed visit to Earth moves forward, Kaila and Jordyn, caught in an impossible love, must face who they really are and decide where their true loyalties lie."


  ~My Rating: 3/5 Roses~

~My Review~

In all honesty, sci-fi is a genre I enjoy, but haven't gotten into much, and space-y books are always a question mark for me.  The synopsis of this book caught my attention though, so I thought I'd give it a try.

The beginning was interesting, taking a look at Kaila's family and life, and she seemed pretty relatable.  With the exception, of course, of her tin foil head-covering and blonde wig...

Her first few meetings with the aliens, masquerading as High School students, was quite humorous, and had me laughing at several points.  The descriptions of them fit most of the sci-fi standards for humanoid-looking aliens, which was nice.  As Kaila finds out more about herself, her family, and her past, things become much more complicated, and less humorous.  Ominous and scary events and plans unfold, and take the story on an exciting ride.

I liked this book overall.  The characters were really different, and I enjoyed all the plot turns in the story. The story was well written and easy to follow.  The author did a wonderful job of describing the surreal elements of the story, carrying the reader though an exciting adventure.

I took away two roses because of some plot points I personally didn't care for (no spoilers here, folks), and through part of the book, it did get somewhat confusing.  I would still recommend this book though, especially if you're a fan of alien stories, and, even if you're usually not, this one may surprise you :)

~Find out more about this book here:
Goodreads: Star Seed
Shelfari: Star Seed

~Visit Liz Gruder's author page and website here:
Goodreads: Liz Gruder
http://www.lizgruder.com/

~Purchase Star Seed here:
Amazon: Star Seed

*I was given an eCopy of this book, from the author, to read in exchange for an honest review.

Tuesday, July 9, 2013

"Dark Eyes" by Jamie Campbell!
*Review & Spotlight*

*Materials & images courtesy of Goodreads; review owned by Desert Rose Reviews.

Dark Eyes
~Released: February 13th, 2013

~Length: 27 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, New Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance


**No longer available for purchase, as this novella has been expanded into a novel, and removed for purchase by the author.

Sixteen year old Ariel Cole doesn't know anything about the new guy in school except that she is strangely mesmerized by him. It's a pity Gabe doesn't want anything to do with her.

Determined to keep his past, present and future a secret, Gabe does everything in his power to avoid her questions. He warns her to stay away, he's too dangerous.

Not to be deterred, Ariel sets out on a mission to win him over. She will find out his secrets, even if that secret is deadly and capable of killing her.

Caught in the middle of an urban legend, Ariel and Gabe must face their darkest fears or the curse will be doomed to capture another victim in this thrilling short story.