Monday, September 30, 2013

*Book Blitz, Trailer & Excerpt*
"Ever Wrath" by Alexia Purdy!

*Materials & images provided by RBTL.

A Dark Faerie Tale #4


~Publisher: Lyrical Lit. Publishing

~Released: September 15th, 2013

~Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Faeries

Goodreads
Amazon
Barnes and Noble
Smashwords

There is no hope.

Only blood and darkness await.

Shade rules as Queen of the Seelie Summer Court with her love, a Teleen Faerie named Dylan at her side. But, the dark court of Unseelie faeries will do everything in their power to rule the earth, including enslaving the human world. Arthas, the Unseelie Ancient King, has shattered the boundaries of Faerie and the human cities are filling with his evil, unearthly armies.

Old enemies become allies. New friends bring old secrets and an ancient magic to light. Alongside the Ancient Seelie Queen, Kilara, Shade needs to harness this wild magic before the lines between human and faery are forever destroyed.

*Blast & Trailer*
"Sanctuary" by Pauline Creeden!

*Materials & images provided by GHBT.

~Published: September 30th, 2013

~Publisher: AltWit Press

~Pages: 217 Pages

~Genres: Sci-Fi, Horror, Thriller

Goodreads
Amazon
Barnes & Noble 

In a heart-racing thriller described as Falling Skies meets The Walking Dead, Jennie struggles to find a safe place for what’s left of her family. But it seems as though there is no place sacred, no place secure. First the aliens attacked the sun, making it dimmer, weaker, and half what it used to be. Then they attacked the water supply, killing one-third of Earth’s population with a bitter contaminate. And when they unleash a new terror on humankind, the victims will wish for death, but will not find it…When the world shatters to pieces around her, will Jennie find the strength she needs to keep going?

Saturday, September 28, 2013

*Review Tour & Giveaway*
"Armored Hearts" by Pauline Creeden & Melissa Turner Lee!


*Materials & images provided by GHBT.

Armored Hearts #1


~Published: May 20th, 2013

~Length: 247 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Steampunk, Historical Fiction

Goodreads
Amazon
Smashwords
Kobo

When a crippled young lord rescues a girl falling from a tree, it reveals a secret about himself and his mother's side of the family that could put him at the center of a war with beings he thought only existed in fairy tales.

Tristan Gareth Smyth lived his entire life stuck at home at Waverly Park and left behind while his Grandfather makes trips to London, all because of his blasted wheelchair.

Then an American heiress falls in his lap, literally, and he must find a way to keep her at a distance to protect not only his secret, but everyone around him from an assassin sent to kill him.

Friday, September 27, 2013

"Deadly to Love" by Mia Hodell!
*Blitz & Giveaway*

*Materials & images provided by the author.

Deadly to Love

Elemental Killers #1

~Published: February 2013, by Lulu

~Pages: 368

~Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Romance, Fantasy

Goodreads
Amazon
 *Only 99c / 77p on Kindle for September!

The world is dangerous – but love will kill you.

Little did Serena Jackson know that one simple, flirty remark to an anonymous guy online would lead to her world being changed forever.

She doesn't know him, but inexplicably, is drawn. She knows it is wrong but she agrees to meet.

His real name is Kai. He is beautiful. And immediately Serena feels herself blindly falling for him even though she senses a lie. She knows he is hiding something and it terrifies her.

What she doesn't realise is that her entire life has been built on secrets and lies. The people she loved left her in the dark for a reason.

She trusted them. She trusts Kai. But as he pulls her straight into the heart of the danger the lies and deadly secrets are revealed. They overwhelm her, and the person she once was no longer exists as she is thrown into a ruthless world of elemental forces. The price of truth is her life—and now the world wants her dead.

*Cover Reveal*
"Shattered Skies: Fire & Ice" by Heather Linn!

*Materials & images provided by Reading Between the Lines.

Shattered Skies Saga #3

~Released: October 31st, 2013

~Genres: Sci-Fi, Horror

Catalina is forced to fight off her demons alone. There is nothing that Akia can do to help her now. Day by day she is transforming from human to a power that nothing in the universe has ever seen. Her new power brings with it a lot of enemies. Ever race walking the planet wants to get their hands on her for one reason or another.  Confused, she doesn’t know who to trust. Then again it is hard to choose good or evil when you don’t know what side you’re.

*Double Cover Reveal*
"Soul Oath" & "Cup of Life" by Juliana Haygert!

Hey peeps!  Hope you're all having an awesome week.  Today, we have a special treat: a double cover reveal!!  Both covers were created by
Okay Creations.  Two books by one author, both being updated with awesome covers.  Fun, hu? :D

Soul Oath (Everlast #2)

~Published: November 25th, 2013

~Length: About 80,000 words

~Genres: New Adult, Urban Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance


It’s been three months since Nadine last heard from Victor, Micah or Ceris, allowing her to concentrate on her own life. But until Victor and Micah find the scepters that will restore them as true gods, their human bodies will require her healing touch and it’s only a matter of time until they wreak havoc on her life again.

As if to prove that, Victor shows up at the hospital dragging along with him a swarm of demons. Nadine is forced to flee to safety. Despite her attempts to keep her loved ones protected, the demons find her, and they bring her to Imha, the goddess of Chaos.

Now, confronted by her greatest fear, Nadine finds a new motivation. Vengeance. And when seeking revenge, no risk is too great, including her own life.

Thursday, September 26, 2013

*Review Tour and Giveaway*
"Fallen" by Stacy Claflin!

See the official tour page here!
*Materials & images provided by the author; review owned by Desert Rose Reviews.

Fallen (A Transformed series Prequel Novella)

~Published: 2013

~Pages: 74

~Genres: New Adult, Adult, Paranormal, Romance

Goodreads
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Kobo ~ iBooks
*Pst!  Pick it up today, it's FREE!!*

Fallen is the prequel to the Transformed series (DeceptionBetrayal, & Forgotten) and it’s also a novella, so it’s a pretty quick read—and a fun one. It’s from the perspective of one of the antagonists in the series. Spread the word!  Since Fallen takes place before the series begins, you don’t need to have read any of the other books to read it.

Samantha Erikson is a vampire with one mission: to rule the world. She’s spent decades winning over the world’s most feared vampire, Vince Moretti. Just when everything is going according to plan, he sidetracks her with the assignment of pretending to be a high school student in a small town.

It’s humiliating enough to go from stilettos to sneakers, but Samantha must also follow the most boring person alive: the teenage girl who stands between her and the throne. When she has had all she can take, she finds a fun distraction: an attractive football player who isn’t scared of vampires. There’s one problem. Against her better judgment, she falls in love with him. Now she must decide between the mortal she adores and a place of power in the vampire world. If she tries to have both, she could lose everything.

*Cover Reveal* "Perfectly Able" by Suzannah Daniells!

*Materials & images provided by Girls Heart Books Tours.

~Published: November 29, 2013

~Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance 

What happens when you take a guy who’s afraid of failure…

Ridge Sutherland has his life planned to a tee. Now that he's graduated from college and gotten a job as an engineer, he plans to escape to a week of blissful solitude in the Tennessee mountains to train for his next goal: complete a triathlon...but that was before he realized that his meddling, little sister and her matchmaking friend had other ideas.

…and a girl who’s struggling to find herself…

Ava Nottingham knows all about challenges. Life has thrown her an unexpected one. If she’s learned anything in the last five years, it’s to live every moment to its fullest. But that was before life knocked her to her knees once again. Now, she just needs some time to pull herself together. When she finds herself sharing a cabin with a handsome stranger, she must choose between facing her insecurities and admitting defeat.

…and teach them that sometimes the best things in life are totally unexpected?

Ridge has no time in his schedule for a serious relationship, and the last thing Ava needs is a man who will break her heart. Will their growing attraction demand more than they can give, or are they both perfectly able?

{"Mine To Tarnish" by Janeal Falor}

We're cleaning up our blog, and removing content we've decided are not things we want to promote.

Unfortunately, this book/series/author is not something we feel comfortable hosting on our blog, and the materials have been removed.

We apologize for any inconvenience or disappointment, but hope you'll understand.

Thank you so much for visiting, and please feel free to look around for some other great stuff!

Monday, September 23, 2013

*Birthday Bash*
"Proximity" by M.A. George!

*Materials & images provided by Girls Heart Books Tours.

Proximity Series, #1

~Published: October 2013

~Length: 314 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal Fantasy, Romance, Sci-Fi

Goodreads
Amazon
Barnes & Noble

Dr. Palta Capal would be a typical American career woman…if only she were human.

She has found her calling in this world as a physician. It’s an ideal outlet for her compassionate spirit...and unearthly healing powers.

Palta may spend her nights rereading Jane Austen novels, but she deliberately avoids pursuing her own love story. Human men — attractive as they may be — inevitably grow old and wither, leaving her to grieve in solitude. Frankly, no one has seemed worth the torment.

Enter Eric Moran, the intensely attractive and enigmatic new coworker on the scene. With his quiet confidence and warm smile, he manages to draw Palta’s attention. Little does she know that he, too, holds a secret…one that will propel them both into an escalating collision of two worlds. 

*Blitz & Giveaway*
"To Know Me" by Marcy Blesy!

*Materials & images provided by YA Bound Book Tours.

 To Know Me
~PublishedAugust 21st, 2013

~Pages119

~GenreYoung Adult, Fiction, Romance


To know me is to die...

Seventeen-year-old Mae is convinced that the consequences of her poor decisions have caused the untimely deaths of her dad, sister Laura, and grandma who all die within a year, no matter how ludicrous her thoughts seem to those she loves. The solution? Run away so no one else she cares for gets hurt (even if she has to keep a GPS tracker on her phone at all times).

Desperate to earn her diploma and salvage something of her life, she transfers schools when people get too close. After switching to Woodson Prep with only two months to go until graduation, Mae keeps her goals in sight. But when she meets Ty, the "perfect boy" with his own secrets and a relentless interest in Mae, she must decide if she can stop running from the past and still protect those she loves.

{The Embrace Series, by Cherie Colyer}

We're cleaning up our blog, and removing content we've decided are not things we want to promote.

Unfortunately, this book/series/author is not something we feel comfortable hosting on our blog, and the materials have been removed.

We apologize for any inconvenience or disappointment, but hope you'll understand.

Thank you so much for visiting, and please feel free to look around for some other great stuff!

Sunday, September 22, 2013

First Two Liebster Awards!!

Wow, so I was nominated for two blog awards in the last few weeks.  Mainly feeling surprised and humbled- thank you so much to the gals @The Indigo Quill, and to Monique @Mo Books!  I'm flattered you'd nominate Desert Rose Reviews for an award :)


This prompted me to do a little research on it though, since I'd never heard of the Liebster award.  Thanks to the research work of Sopphey @Sopphey Says, I got some answers.  You can read what she found here: http://sopphey.onimpression.com/2012/05/liebster-blog-award-origins.html.

Basically, just a fun award to recognize and support new up-and-coming bloggers- pretty neat :)  I also found that Liebster means ‘dearest’ in German.

~ The Rules For Accepting This Award ~

- Link back the blogger that tagged you.

- Answer the questions of the one who tagged you.

- Nominate ten other blogs/bloggers.

- Ask ten questions for the bloggers you nominate.

- Let your nominees know of their awards and tag backs.

~ My Question Set, by @The Indigo Quill ~

1. What is your favorite genre and why?
~I generally tend to favor YA, particularly paranormal and supernatural.  For me, reading is an escape from reality- the chance to experience living another life, for a while.  Paranormal and supernatural stories tend to be the best and most exciting escapes :)

2. How long have you been book blogging?
~I started this blog in the beginning of May, 2013.  I guess that puts this blog at a little over 4 1/2 months old.

3. What is the one book you think everyone needs to read? Why?
~One book?  I don't think there's any one book that everyone needs to read.  However, authors are another matter.  I think life is incredibly dull without including the incredible works of Shakespeare, Chaucer and Charles Dickens, to name a few.  Basically any of the classics.

4. Hardcover, paperback, or eBook?
~Hardcover.  I have a lot of eBooks and paperbacks, but I adore hardcover books.

5. Who has been your blogger-inspiration?
~I know it probably sounds pretty bad, but I don't have one.  I get inspiration from a lot of different places, but no one place in particular.  I suppose any blog I follow has probably been some sort inspiration for me.

6. Name 3 things you enjoy doing other than reading.
~Singing, cooking and spending time with my family.

7. If you could own an entire series, which one would it be?
~I already own most of the series I'd dream of having, haha.

8. Coffee, tea, or something else while reading?
~Tea, water or Mt. Dew

9. What is your favorite movie adaptation of a book?
~Ooo, hard question, b/c I don't like most movie adaptations of books.  I guess the best would be the overall Lord of the Ring series or the Hobbit, which is probably the most used answer ever, but there you go.

10. Which book are you looking forward to coming out in the near future?
~I honestly can't think of any that are coming out in the near future. Most of the books I'm looking forward to are sequels to books I've recently read, and won't be published til next year.

~ My Questions, set by @Mo Books ~

1. What are you currently reading?
~ Nothing at the moment- I just finished a book for review, and am spending the day working on the blog and other hobbies.

2. What is your favorite book(s) of all time?
~ I can't say I really have one.  I have a top 10 list, and most of those are YA paranormal. 

3. How did you come up with your blog's name?
~ "Desert Rose Reviews" is a metaphor for me and my life.  It has several hidden meanings in the name, that only me and a few others get, and it's also an anagram :)

4. Who are your top 3 book boyfriends?
~ Haha well, sorry to disappoint, but I don't have book boyfriends.  I pick one guy I think the girl would work with better when there's a love triangle with two guys, but I don't do the whole "book boyfriend" thing.  I did when I was younger, but I'm happily married now, and I haven't found a guy in a book that compares to what I've got in real life :)

5. Do you have a favorite book quote?
~ Many.

6. Do you have any of your own personal memes on you blog?
~ Haha in all honesty, I'm still trying to figure out the whole meme thing- still haven't gotten into those yet, so I guess the answer is no.

7. If you could meet any author, past or present, who would it be?
~ Oh wow, that's a long list.  I guess I'd adore meeting William Shakespeare, or Geoffrey Chaucer.

8.  Have any bookish pet peeves?
~ It irritates me when people toss books around, or treat them dis-respectfully.  I also don't like books that aren't written well, but still published...books should be handled with care and respect in both writing and reading.

9. What are your favorite genres?
~ YA, paranormal, supernatural, fantasy, sweet/blush romance (nothing that should be kept behind closed doors), dystopian, steampunk...just about anything fiction, that isn't erotic.

10. If you could be a character from any book, travel to any world, who would you be? Where would you go? And (again from any book) who would you bring with you?
~ If I could travel to any world, I'd probably travel to Middle Earth (Lord of the Rings) and I'd be happy to bring any of the heroes from that story.  Same with Harry Potter, although not quite as much.  I don't think I'd want to be a character from any book- I'd want to create a character based on me :)

~ My Nominations ~

~ Questions for the bloggers I tagged ~

1. What inspired you to create your blog?
2. How long have you been blogging?
3. What is your favorite book genre?
4. Do you have a favorite book?  If so, what is it?
5. Do you have a favorite author?  If so, who?
6. Do you have a favorite book character?  If so, who/what?
7. Do you remember the book that sparked your love of books?  If so, what book was it?
8. What is your favorite film adaptation of a book?
9. Hardcover, paperback or eBook?
10. What are 3 things you enjoy doing, besides reading or blogging?

Congrats and have fun! Don't forget to read the rules before re-posting! :)

Saturday, September 21, 2013

*Release Blast*
"Emblazed" by Nikki Narvaez!

 
*Materials & images provided by Girls Heart Books Tours.

The Elemental Prophecy 

Book #2

~Published: September 20th, 2013

~Genres: New Adult, Romance, Paranormal, Fantasy

Goodreads
Amazon

Three days. Three days seems like a lot of time, but not when you are racing to save the one you love. Not when time is against you.

Three days is all Jace has to save Brielle, to prevent both of their deaths. Both have more to battle than they ever imagined while they fight for their lives, their souls, and their love.

Will Jace be able to rescue Brielle, or will the fate of the world die with her?

Friday, September 20, 2013

*Blitz & Giveaway*
"After the Fall" by L.G. Castillo!


* Materials & images provided by Xpresso Book Tours.

After the Fall (Broken Angel #2)

~Published: September 15th, 2013

~Pages246

~GenresNew Adult, Paranormal, Romance

Goodreads
Amazon

There’s a Spanish proverb that says, “From the thorn and the pain, a flower is born.” Naomi Duran never really understood what that meant until she became an archangel.

Finally reunited with the love of her life, Naomi thought she had everlasting love and happiness in Heaven. Even with the rebellious Lash by her side, she learns that life as an archangel isn’t easy.

When secrets of the past are finally revealed, tempers flare, brother is pitted against brother, and Naomi and Lash face the greatest threat to their relationship: choosing among love, family, or duty.

In the end, can this family of broken angels forgive past mistakes, or will they carry the thorn in their hearts forever, ripping their family apart?


"Rachel’s cloak fluttered as she sped through the dark tunnel. He was there. She could feel him.
     Shivering, her fingers fumbled with the heavy material as she drew it closer to her body. Puffs of white drifted from her mouth as she panted, trying to catch her breath. With each step she took, it was as if her angelic powers were being drained away. She stopped and slumped against the damp wall of the cave, unable to take another step. Could she do this? Even if she managed to reach him, would she have any power left to save him?
     Gabrielle had warned her it would be like this, but Rachel had dismissed her, especially when she first stepped into Hell. It looked just like home! Lush grass and fragrant flowers lined the landscape as far as she could see. Snowcapped mountains stood as a backdrop against the clear blue skies—even the stream was located in the same exact spot as in Heaven. If it wasn’t for the unnerving feeling in the pit of her stomach and the hairs that stood on the back of her neck, she would have sworn she was home. 
     Considering Lucifer held his captives at the Lake of Fire, she had assumed Hell was a vast empty land of sweltering heat. It wasn't until she found the cave hidden behind a waterfall that she finally understood what Gabrielle meant about not letting her guard down. The cave was frigid. The icy air seemed to seep into her pores and deep into her bones, causing her teeth to chatter uncontrollably."

Lash (Broken Angel #1)
~Published: May 6th, 2013

~Pages: 286

~Genres: New Adult Paranormal Romance

Goodreads

Decades after being banished from Heaven for saving a life he shouldn’t have, Lash is given a chance to redeem himself. His mission: protect Naomi Duran, a young woman who has lost her faith. The assignment proves to be anything but simple when his superiors, the Archangels, withhold key information about Naomi and refuse to restore Lash’s powers. When an unexpected source reveals centuries-old secrets, his trust is shaken to the core, and he begins to doubt those whom he had once considered to be his greatest allies.

Determined to avoid anything that would risk his chances of returning to Heaven, Lash struggles with the greatest obstacle of all—his growing feelings for Naomi. But when her life is threatened by an unknown source, Lash questions the wisdom of the Archangels and his ability to keep her safe. 

Soon, Lash will have to choose where to place his faith—in the home he has fought so hard to regain or in the forbidden love he can’t bear to lose.


L.G. (Linda) Castillo wrote her first story when she was ten and has been writing ever since. She took a break from writing fiction and poetry to focus on obtaining her Ph.D. in counseling psychology. She is now a licensed psychologist and currently works as a professor at a Texas university. Although she has published her psychological research in several professional journals and books, her dream has always been to publish a novel. Lash is her debut novel and was written during the 2012 National Novel Writing Month event.




~Prize: An eCopy of Lash AND an eCopy of After the Fall!  One winner gets both books!

~Participate & Win: Leave a comment with substance on this post any time before October 5th at midnight.  I will randomly choose the winner.

~Open internationally.  Prize will be sent out after October 7th, 2013.  

What do you think of this series?  Let us know in the comments below!

If you enjoyed this post, please share it.

Thanks for visiting!

*Cover Reveal*
"Azure" by Chrystalla Thoma!

 
*Materials & images provided by Girls Heart Books Tours.

Asure (Drowning In You)


~Published: September 2nd, 2013

~Pages: 220

~Genres: New Adult, Paranormal, Romance

Goodreads Amazon

A terrible mistake haunts college student Olivia Spencer. To escape the past, she travels to the Mediterranean island of Crete, hoping for the courage to start anew.

By the sea, she meets sexy and enigmatic Kai. But there’s more to Kai than meets the eye — and nobody wants to talk about it. The locals shun him, accusing him of magic. Kai, apparently, belongs to the sea, no matter how crazy that sounds. 

Kai isn’t free to be with her or live his own life, and this is how he will stay, unless Olivia can break his curse and save him — in doing so atoning for those she failed in the past.

~New Adult Romance. Contains mature content. Ages 17+

~Azure (Drowning In You) is a stand-alone novel. No cliffhanger.

Wednesday, September 18, 2013

*Tour: Interview, Soundtrack, Dream Cast, Giveaway & More!*
The White Aura Series, by Felicia Tatum!

 
*Materials & images provided by Girls Heart Books Tours.

Today, we have a huge tour stop post for you guys!!  Girls Heart Books Tours is putting on an epic tour for Felicia Tatum's White Aura Series.  Today, I'm going to have a bunch of promo stuff, since I wasn't able to review this series.

First, let's start off with the author, and my interview with her (cuz she's awesome), then we'll jump into this series and all the epic characters!

Ready?  Let's go!!

*Cover Reveal*
"Love, Kinsey" by Brandy Jeffus Corona!

*Materials & images provided by Reading Addiction Book Tours.

 Love, Kinsey
~Released: October 1st, 2013

~Genres: Inspirational, New Adult, Contemporary, Romance


All her life, Kinsey Masters has thought of herself as ordinary, boring almost.  She had a normal upbringing, a stable career and a good love life, finally meeting “the One,” Colby.

But life has a funny way of turning the tables on you.

Faced with a devastating diagnosis, Kinsey sets out to write her last story – her own. 

Her journey reunites her with each man she’s fallen in love with and with their words, along with other friends and family, she pieces together the story of herself. With each meeting, Kinsey begins to realize that each of her past loves has happened for a reason. And she’s left footprints on their lives just like they did for her.

Every life is special, especially your own.

Friday, September 13, 2013

*Book Blast*
"Twisted" by N.L. Greene!

 *Materials & images provided by Girls Heart Books Tours.

~Released: September 13th, 2013 

~Genres: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance


Growing up isn’t always easy.  But for most teenage girls, they can rely on their best friend to help them get through the process.  A BFF is something that is truly treasured and completely irreplaceable.  You share all of your secrets, and are loyal and honest with each other, even when you’re acting just a little bit crazy.  You have each other’s backs no matter what and you form a bond that is virtually unbreakable.

At least that’s what normal teenage girls experience.

Nat and Mel have been bestie’s since childhood and Nat has followed her blindly ever since.  But as Nat’s friendship with Mel begins to lead her down the wrong path, she starts to question the sincerity of their relationship.  Nat starts to see Mel’s manipulative, deceitful ways become more focused on her.  Will Natalie hold on tight to the friendship she’s had her entire life, no matter what it cost her?  Or will she let her heart lead her to a relationship that’s not so twisted.

Thursday, September 12, 2013

Giveaway!! Kindle Fire HD!!

Kindle Fire September 

  ~This is a joint AUTHOR & BLOGGER GIVEAWAY EVENT!~

Bloggers & Authors have joined together and each chipped in a little money towards a Kindle Fire HD 7″.
Kindle Fire HD 7″ Giveaway
The winner will have the option of receiving a 7″ Kindle Fire HD (US Only)

Or $199 Amazon.com Gift Card (International)

Or $199 in Paypal Cash (International)

~Sponsoring Authors & Bloggers~

  1. I Am A Reader, Not A Writer
  2. Feed Your Reader
  3. Candace's Book Blog
  4. Every Free Chance Book Reviews
  5. Author Lori Verni-Fogarsi
  6. Ketch's Book Nook
  7. Author Rachael Renee Anderson
  8. Author Karey White
  9. Buku-Buku-Didi
  10. Author Marcia Lynn McClure
  11. Author Bella Street
  12. Brooke Blogs
  13. Author Anna Kyss
  14. Author Ednah Walters
  15. These are but Shadows
  16. The Real Bookshelves of Room 918
  17. Fae Books
  18. Magical Manuscripts
  19. Chair in the Shade
  20. The Book Bellas
  21. Page Flipperz
  22. Romance Schmomance
  23. A Bookish Escape
  24. bookitty blog
  25. Author S.A. Larsen
  26. The (Mis)Adventures of a Twenty-Something Year Old Girl
  27. Jessabella Reads
  28. Author Jennifer Laurens
  29. Bea's Book Nook
  30. Books 4 Tomorrow
  31. Meredith's Musings
  32. Libby's Library
  33. Author Deanna Roy
  34. Word to Dreams
  35. Bookhounds
  36. Diva Book Nerd
  37. Reviews by Martha's Bookshelf
  38. Author Kim Cresswell
  39. Author Inger Iversen
  40. Author Elizabeth Isaacs
  41. Lori's Reading Corner
  42. Author Lena Sledge
  43. Author Kerry Taylor
  44. Author Brinda Berry
  45. Author Niecey Roy
  46. Author Kary Radar
  47. Author Josh Baker
  48. Author Helen Smith
  49. Author Annette K. Larsen
Giveaway Details
1 winner will receive their choice of a Kindle Fire 7″ HD (US Only), $199 Amazon Gift Card or $199 in Paypal Cash (International).
There is a second separate giveaway for bloggers who post this giveaway on their blog. See details in the rafflecopter on how to enter to win the 2nd Kindle Fire.
Sponsor a future Kindle Fire Giveaway.  Details can be found here.
Ends 9/30/13
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader, Not A Writer and sponsored by the participating authors & bloggers. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

TODAY ONLY - The Midwife's Revolt Author Discussion Event on GoodReads! Win a #KindleFire!

Jodi

Support an awesome author and enter to WIN a Kindle Fire, a $50 Amazon Gift Card and an autographed copy of The Midwife's Revolt

We'll be doing an event every hour on the hour with prizes throughout as well as a day long giveaway for a Kindle Fire! Each event will have clues for extra entries so check back in often. So hop over to GoodReads between 10AM and 8PM EST! Come back throughout the day to get more inside info about Jodi, The Midwife's Revolt and have some fun!

Join us on GoodReads

The Midwife's Revolt is rated 4.7 out of 5 stars on Amazon this novel is rich in detail, character and intrigue! The Midwife’s Revolt takes the reader on a journey to the founding days of America. It follows one woman’s path, Lizzie Boylston, from her grieving days of widowhood after Bunker Hill, to her deepening friendship with Abigail Adams and midwifery, and finally to her dangerous work as a spy for the Cause. A novel rich in historical detail, The Midwife’s Revolt opens a window onto the real lives of colonial women.

"A charming, unexpected, and decidedly different view of the Revolutionary War." -- Publishers Weekly

We have a lot of fun things planned So come on over!
Time   Event
10am 10 things you didn't know about Jodi
11am Trivia Game #1
12noon Q&A #1
1pm Picture Caption Contest
2pm Excerpts -w/ Discussion Questions? #1
3pm Trivia Game #2
4pm Excerpts w/ Discussion Questions? #2
5pm Cooking Discussion
6pm Contest
7pm Q&A #2
8pm Announce Winner!

3DCoverAbout the Book: The Midwife’s Revolt takes the reader on a journey to the founding days of America. It follows one woman’s path, Lizzie Boylston, from her grieving days of widowhood after Bunker Hill, to her deepening friendship with Abigail Adams and midwifery, and finally to her dangerous work as a spy for the Cause. Much has been written about our founding men. But The Midwife’s Revolt is unique in that it opens a window onto the lives of our founding women as well.

About the Author: Jodi Daynard is a writer of fiction, essays, and criticism. Her work has appeared in numerous periodicals, including The New York Times Book Review, The Village Voice, The Paris Review, Agni, New England Review and in several anthologies. She is the author of The Place Within: Portraits of the American Landscape by 20 Contemporary Writers (W. W. Norton). Ms. Daynard’s essays have been nominated for several prizes and mentioned in Best American Essays. She has taught writing at Harvard University, M.I.T., and in the MFA program at Emerson College, and served for seven years as Fiction Editor at Boston Review. The Midwife’s Revolt is her first novel. a Rafflecopter giveaway
Hey! Don't miss the fun next time around. Join us as an official blog tour host for free review copies, blog content, and lots of prizes! You can learn more HERE, then sign-up HERE.

Saturday, September 7, 2013

*Birthday Blast*
"Born in Flames" by Candace Knoebel!

*Materials & images provided by Girls Heart Books Tours.

 Born in Flames

Born in Flames Trilogy Book #1 

~Released: September 6, 2012 

~Length: 259 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Romance, Fantasy


Red mirrored scales race up my arms as the haze of pain blurs my vision. My bones crack, breaking to realign. I scream. It is then that the realization of my unavoidable fate sinks in; I am of a dying race. I am dragon.  

Aurora Megalos, orphaned and teetering on the edge of adulthood, thought finding her past would curb the sting of being an outcast. Having no memories of the time before she awoke on her foster mother’s doorstep, she yearns for the emptiness inside her to be filled. With her fellow orphaned best friend, Fenn, by her side, she has nothing to lose and everything to gain. But something powerful stirred within her that she couldn’t explain. Something wanted out. 

In the dark of night, a crazed Seer, dubbed Mr.Creepy, erases everything she’s ever known with an impending prophecy. She now faces two paths. Return to her true home to protect a dying race against a growing evil, or stay hidden in the safety of our realm with a shot at a true love. With a vengeful Arch Enemy stopping at nothing to see her dead, she’s running out of time; a decision must be made. What would you choose?