Sunday, December 29, 2013

*Blitz & Giveaway*
"Schooled" by Michelle Lowhorn!

*Materials & images provided by Girls Heart Books Tours.

The Teacher Series, Book #1

~Published: October 16th, 2013

~Publisher: Rebel Ink Press

~Genres: Adult Fiction, Romance, Suspense

Goodreads
Amazon

Feisty fourth grade teacher, Emmelynne Johnson, is fiercely independent and has a vocabulary that would make a sailor blush. While hiking at an area national park, she finds herself lost and alone. Just when she thinks she’s found her way, she unknowingly witnesses a brutal murder sanctioned by a local crime boss. 

Colt Christianson, homicide detective for the Fort Worth Police Department, is known for his dedication and willingness to do whatever necessary to solve the crime. Still grieving for his late partner, Colt is called to investigate a murder that has connections to his partner’s death. 

When the killers attempt to silence the only witness, the detective switches roles to become her protector. Together they will be forced to fight two battles, one against the killers and one against their burgeoning mutual attraction. 

Friday, December 27, 2013

*Tour Stop: Silent Echo, by Elisa Freilich!


Silent Echo: A Siren’s Tale
(Silent Echo Trilogy # 1)

~By: Elisa Freilich

~Published: September 10th, 2013 

~Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal
Amazon ~ B&N

Silence was Portia Griffin’s nemesis. In a world where teens never cease to speak their minds, the sixteen year old Portia, rendered mysteriously mute at birth, has opted out of the mainstream conversation.   Instead, this silent sophomore at Ridgewood Preparatory Academy finds solace in her keen love of music and bizarre obsession with birds.  And it doesn’t hurt that her best friend, Felix Fein, deaf at the age of eight, couldn’t care less whether or not she is able to execute the spoken word.

But Portia’s world is about to change – and not necessarily for the better.

After sixteen silent years, Portia is suddenly gifted with a voice unparalleled in its purity and powers. Her new ability to persuade, to seduce and to destroy with her voice alone sends Portia on a search for answers she never imagined she’d have to accept.

Monday, December 23, 2013

Just In Time For Christmas: "The Santa Claus League" Review & Spotlight!


The Santa Claus League

~Author: Stephen Miller

~Genres: Fantasy

~Published:
November 1st, 2013

~Pages: 266

Goodreads
Amazon


Julia Martin is the most incredible girl in school, and Mason Howell is hopelessly smitten by her. Julia is in charge of the local Charity Christmas party and she’s pleased with how everything is going...until her Santa Claus calls in sick. In a panic, she begs Mason to help her by wearing his grandfather’s heirloom Santa Claus suit. Mason agrees, just to impress the beautiful girl, but things don’t go as planned...as soon as he puts on the suit, he gets all the powers of Santa Claus!

Together with John Patton, Mason’s best friend, they learn his grandfather was a member of an ancient league of men and women dedicated to helping St. Nicholas use Christmas magic to save the world. The three of them could become the newest members of the Santa Claus League...if they can learn the secrets of Christmas magic!

Sunday, December 22, 2013

Once Upon a Time Today Series Tour Wrap-Up!

Two weeks has passed by quickly, and it's time to wrap up this tour, folks!!  We've had a ton of fun, celebrated this collection, and had a great book party!

I want to thank all the bloggers for their awesome posts!  You guys rock! :D

A big thank you to Heidi Garrett- we had fun with this series! :D

We'll be choosing the giveaway winners today and tomorrow, and we'll contact them this week!!  The winners are listed below- congrats, winners!! :D




If you want to check out any of the party posts, and find dream casts, soundtracks or reviews, visit this post for all the links and tour info!

Thanks again everybody- Desert Rose's first Tour was awesome!! :D

Saturday, December 21, 2013

*Spotlight & Review: Double Star, by Cindy Saunders!


Double Star

~By: Cindy Saunders

~Published: June 6th, 2013

~Length: 268 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Fantasy


She fell into his world, unaware of the key she carried and the doors it opened; a world where darkness waited to be set free ... The wait is over.
Do You Believe?

When Cepheus, a dark god, forces seventeen-year-old Ally Ashworth off an isolated overlook, she has no idea she's falling into his world, or that the necklace she’s wearing is actually a key - one with the power to ignite the next world war. But she’s carried beyond his reach and into the one place where he’s powerless ... the forest of Gilgamesh.

Ally’s never been Miss Popularity, but her outsider status takes on new meaning when she’s rescued by Liam Cheveyo and his peculiar friends. After seeing them shape-shift into their freaky humanimal counterparts, Ally smacks hard into a few truths: magic really does exist and, although getting here took no effort, finding her way back might be impossible. Feelings between her and Liam begin to grow along with the realization that, in this world, she’s stronger, better ... until she’s caught in a trap set by the creepy spider-boy Cepheus sends to retrieve her.  But Ally’s not going down without a fight, not after learning the horrible truth about the passageways.

The survival of both worlds depends on it.

Friday, December 20, 2013

*Blitz: Giveaway & Excerpt*
The Holders Series, by Julianna Scott!


Thursday, December 19, 2013

"Ondine" by Emma Raveling!
*Blitz & Giveaway*

*Materials and images provided by Xpresso Book Tours.

Edge of Truth is on SALE!! :D

Edge of Truth by Natasha Hanova is on SALE!  For a limited time, you can purchase this awesome Young Adult Sci-Fi Dystopian Romance for $.99!!

Edge of Truth

~By: Natasha Hanova

~Published: June 6th, 2013

~Published by: Sapphire Star Publishing





~Blurb:

Citizens who report to work on time, obey the Overlord’s laws, and stay off the Synbot’s radar, live long lives. Long, dull, monotonous lives.

It’s not a bad plan for someone with a hidden, emotion-based ability to trigger earthquakes. In a world pitted against her, sixteen-year-old Rena Moon strives for a life beyond working herself to death at the factory. Seeing an alternative, she risks selling relics from the forbidden lands at Market. It becomes the worst decision she ever made. Someone kidnaps her best friend in exchange for the one thing that would end her oppression. 

Driven by loyalty, Rena and seventeen-year-old Nevan Jelani, soulful composer, green thumb extraordinaire, and the secret love of her life, plot to rescue her friend and reclaim her salvage. Still, the thought lingers whether Nevan is a true hero or another thief waiting for his chance at her loot. Events spin wildly, deepening Rena’s suspicions and pushing her limit of control. With more than her chance for freedom at stake, she must decide if she’s willing to kill to protect what’s precious to her. For once, the Overlord isn’t holding all the power, but can Rena live with being reduced to what she’s trying so hard to escape?

~~~~~~~~~~*~~~~~~~~~~

~About the Author~

Natasha Hanova is an award-winning author of young adult and adult dark fantasy/paranormal fiction. Her first novel, Edge of Truth, a YA dystopian, is now available from Sapphire Star Publishing.

~Don't forget to check out the Facebook Event!!

~~~~~*~~~~~

~This notice was organized by Girls *Heart* Books Tours.

Wednesday, December 18, 2013

*Tour: Soundtrack, Excerpt & Dream Cast*
"Gemini the Heir" Series, by Kristen DaRay!

*Materials & images provided by Girls Heart Books Tours.

*Release Day Blast*
"Moonbow" by Sheila Hollinghead!

~Released: December 16th, 2013

~Pages: 234

~Genres: Inspirational, Romance, Suspense

Goodreads

A widow, a doctor, an unborn child. Three lives are at risk in this high stakes suspense. Die Auserwahlten, the Chosen Ones, have impregnated Gisa with an embryonic clone. Is it evil or just a child? It's up to Dr. Rayden Brooks to untangle the web that keeps them captive and save their lives. But will Gisa trust him?

'The Conduit' is now FREE!! :D


Now FREE on Amazon & Other Sale Platforms!!!

The Conduit

~First Published: November 2011 

~Rereleased: November 13, 2013

~Pages: 212

~Genres: YA, Fantasy, Romance, Paranormal

Amazon ~ B&N


 ~Blurb:

All 18-year-old Celeste Garrett wants is to head off to college and make those fun, yet ill-advised, choices college kids are known for. And maybe to spend some time with the hot cameraman she just met. Instead, because of a pact her ancestors made in the 17th century with a mythical creature, she has to save the world. While normal kids are slamming energy drinks and cramming for exams, Celeste will get her adrenaline rush fighting a fire breathing dragon. She wants to meet friends in the quad to exchange lecture notes, but first she must exchange blows with a shapeshifting demon on the rooftop. Life isn’t always fair for a superhero, but at least she doesn’t have to do it alone. With her brother and sister as sidekicks, they alternate between saving lives and getting on each others’ nerves. Together the trio encounters unspeakable odds, mystical forces and comes face-to-face with an image that will haunt them forever—their grandmother in a leopard print bikini.


Or Search With:
ISBN-10: 0985266368
ISBN-13: 978-0985266363
ASIN: B007H7UMR0

~~~~~~~~~~*~~~~~~~~~~

~Event created and organized by Sparkle Book Tours.

Tuesday, December 17, 2013

///Twelve Steps Cover Reveal!!

Twelve Steps

~Author:
Veronica Bartles

~Release Date:
March 25th, 2014

~Genres:
YA, Contemporary, Romance

~Book Summary:

Sixteen-year-old Andi is tired of being a second-class sibling to perfect sister Laina. There in Laina's shadow, Andi's only noticeable feature is her pretty awesome hair. And even that is eclipsed by Laina's perfect everything else.

When Andi’s crush asks her to fix him up with Laina, Andi decides enough is enough and devises a twelve-step program to wrangle the spotlight away from Laina. After all, great hair must count for something.

Step 1: Admit she’s powerless to change her perfect sister, and accept that her life really, really sucks. OK, maybe that's two steps in one.

Step 4: Make a list of her good qualities besides great hair. There have got to be at least three good qualities, right?

Step 7: Demand attention for more than just her shortcomings, and break out of her shell. Easier said that done, but worth the effort in the long-run. 

When a stolen kiss from her crush ends in disaster, Andi finds that her prince isn’t as charming as she'd hoped, and realizes she may need a new program--perhaps with less steps!

As cracks in Laina’s flawless façade begin to show, the sisters work together to find a spotlight big enough for both to shine.

~~~~~~~~~~*~~~~~~~~~~

~About the Author~

As the second of eight children and the mother of four, Veronica Bartles is no stranger to the ups and downs of sibling relationships. (She was sandwiched between the gorgeous-and-insanely-popular older sister and the too-adorable-for-words younger sister.) She uses this insight to write stories about siblings who mostly love each other, even while they’re driving one another crazy. 

When she isn’t writing or getting lost in the pages of her newest favorite book, Veronica enjoys knitting fabulous bags and jewelry out of recycled plastic bags and old VHS tapes, sky diving (though she hasn’t actually tried that yet), and inventing the world’s most delectable cookie recipes.

Twelve Steps is Veronica Bartles's first novel.

~Connect with Veronica~


Friday, December 13, 2013

*Review Tour*
"Path Unchosen" by Kim Cleary!

 Review Tour
*Materials & images provided by Xpresso Book Tours; review owned by Desert Rose Reviews.

Daughter of Ravenswood #1

~Released: September 7th, 2013

~Genres: Dark Fantasy, New Adult, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy


When eighteen-year-old Judy Hudson discovers she’s a necromancer and sees first-hand the pain her powers can cause the dead, she just wants to deny who she is. The zombie plague is long over. She wants to find a more normal life, but that’s a challenge when a beautiful otherworldly man, who claims to be her guardian, saves her life.

Judy tries to set right the harm she inflicted on a spirit she raised, but new zombies attack—zombies raised from among the long-time dead. Someone else just like her is out there, and he’s not trying to set anything right. To save her own life, and protect the innocent inhabitants of the nearby town who’ve become her friends, Judy has to figure out who’s raising the dead and why. She must also learn to control the darkness inside her—a seductive darkness that promises her power beyond her wildest dreams.

Thursday, December 12, 2013

*Review Tour & Giveaway*
The Cassie Scot Series, by Christine Amsden!


*Materials & images provided by Goddess Fish Promotions.

Paranormal Detective (Cassie Scot #1)

~Published: May 15th, 2013

~Pages: 250

~Genres: New Adult, Paranormal, Romance, Mystery

Goodreads

Cassie Scot is the ungifted daughter of powerful sorcerers, born between worlds but belonging to neither. At 21, all she wants is to find a place for herself, but earning a living as a private investigator in the shadow of her family’s reputation isn't easy. When she is pulled into a paranormal investigation, and tempted by a powerful and handsome sorcerer, she will have to decide where she truly belongs.

*Blitz & Review*
"Taken By Force" by Jessica Frances!

*Materials & images provided by Reading Addiction Book Tours; review owned by Desert Rose Reviews.

Taken Trilogy #2

~Published: December 7th, 2013

~Pages: 356

~Genres: New Adult, Paranormal, Romance, Action, Adventure

Amazon

Eight months have passed since Zoe, Charlie, Will and Rose parted ways.

Eight months living on the run and starting new lives.

But when Zoe has a dream and foresees trouble, she knows she needs to reunite them. Can she get to everyone in time? Or will it already be too late?

Even if they can get away from P.A.G.E. again, they know what will need to be done. If they can’t survive on the run, then they have no choice but to fight P.A.G.E.

Is there a way they can get out of this alive?

Or will this be one fight they’ll lose?

*Cover Reveal*
"Almost Married" by Roe Valentine!

*Materials & images provided by the author.

~Release Date: January 27th, 2014

~Published ByEntranced Publishing

~Genres: Contemporary, Romance


Realist, Dr. Carla Harris, believes that people create their own fate, through hard work and careful planning. She believes in playing things safe. But, while preparing for her upcoming nuptials she’s forced to confront the most reckless thing she’s ever done, her estranged husband, Jacob.

Idealist Jacob Moreau believes in soul mates, as much as he believes in saving endangered companies. When his long lost wife reenters his life seeking a divorce, he is convinced more than ever they are meant to be together. And he will do—and lose—anything to have her again.

She thought she had her life planned to perfection. He thought they made perfect sense together. Would marrying Jacob be the craziest thing she’s ever done, or divorcing him?

Wednesday, December 11, 2013

*Tour: Interview & Giveaway*
"The Borealis Genome" by Thomas & Nancy Wise!

*Materials & images provided by Reading Addiction Book Tours.

~Published: June 4th, 2013

~GenresYoung Adult, Sci-Fi


New novel The Borealis Genome addresses the issue of increased moral ambiguity as scientific technology advances and removes our sense of individuality. The married authors throw engaged characters Tim and Nora into a scientific nightmare where mind-uploading and a weaponized virus allow the minds of the few to control those of the masses. As the population starts turning into mental zombies can Tim and Nora find the source of this mayhem? And can their love persevere through these harrowing times?

The Borealis Genome was recently awarded as Finalist in the 2013 Best Book Awards, and Honorable Mention in the 2013 Hollywood Book Festival.

Tuesday, December 10, 2013

Another Kindle Fire Giveaway!!

December Kindle Fire   
 Win a Kindle Fire HDX, Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash ($229 value)   This is a joint AUTHOR & BLOGGER GIVEAWAY EVENT! Bloggers & Authors have joined together and each chipped in a little money towards a Kindle Fire HDX 7".

The winner will have the option of receiving a 7" Kindle Fire HDX (US Only - $229 Value)

  Or $229 Amazon.com Gift Card (International)

  Or $229 in Paypal Cash (International)
      December Kindle Fire Giveaway #2 Sponsors
  1. I Am A Reader, Not A Writer
  2. Feed Your Reader
  3. Darker Passions
  4. Author Talia Jager
  5. The (Mis)Adventures of a Twenty-Something Year Old Girl
  6. Kelly P's Blog
  7. Kelly's Lucky You
  8. LeahSay's Views
  9. Author Bella Street
  10. Author Bonnie Blythe
  11. Feed Your Fiction Addiction
  12. Blogging the Beloved
  13. Fae Books
  14. Author Kelli Beck
  15. Barb's Wire - eBooks & More
  16. MumbleBee Inc.
  17. MyLadyWeb: Women's History and Women Authors
  18. I Know That Book!
  19. NESSAROX
  20. The Reporter and the Girl
  21. My Story That I Like Best
  22. Jessica Loves Book
  23. Author Jennie Sherwin
  24. Candace's Book Blog
  25. Attack of the Books!
  26. Author Elizabeth Seckman
  27. Author Rosanne Rivers
  28. Author Carole Lanham
  29. Author Jennifer L. Weil
  30. The Real Bookshelves of Room 918
  31. Author David Pandolfe
  32. Author Georgina Young-Ellis
  33. Author C.J. Burright
  34. Author Derek Rempfer
  35. Book Crushin
  36. Laloba Press
  37. Author Louise Caiola
  38. Author Becky Monson
  39. Write Story Editing
  40. Bookworm Lisa
  41. Author John D. Mimms
  42. Author Heidi Garrett
  43. Stanley and Katrina Pet Authors
  44. Author Carol Davis Luce
  45. Author A. Wrighton
  46. The Late Bloomer's Book Blog
  47. Immortal Ink Publishing
  48. Circus of Lost Souls
  49. Author Inger Iversen
  50. Author Tracy Jorgensen
  51. Author Christy Hayes
  52. Author Lisa C. Temple
  Sign up to sponsor the next Kindle Fire Giveaway: http://www.iamareader.com/category/kindle-giveaway-sign-ups  

Giveaway Details:
1 winner will receive their choice of an all new Kindle Fire 7" HDX (US Only - $229 value), $229 Amazon Gift Card or $229 in Paypal Cash (International). 
 There is a second separate giveaway for bloggers who post this giveaway on their blog. See details in the rafflecopter on how to enter to win the 2nd Kindle Fire HDX 7". 
 Ends January 1st,14 
 Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. 
Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. 
No purchase necessary. 
You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. 
The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. 
This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. 
The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. 
Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader, Not A Writer and sponsored by the participating authors & bloggers. 
VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.  


Sunday, December 8, 2013

Once Upon a Time Today Tour Kick Off!!

Whoot!  It's finally started!! :D  We have a fun-fabulous book party starting today, for Heidi Garrett's new series, Once Upon a Time Today!

This party will last for 2 weeks, and throughout the party line (think blog-stop conga or the funky-chicken), we'll have reviews, guest posts, interviews, playlists, videos, dream casts, soundtracks, spotlights, and lots of fun!  *throws glitter and confetti* :D

Without further adieu, here's the info for this party!

(We're leaving the book spotlights to the tour hosts!  Find the tour schedule and links below ;)


~Tour Schedule:

December 8th
The Bookish Fairy- Excerpt/Promo Post
The La La Land of Books - Spotlight of the Collection

December 9th
Misinterpreted & Unrepresented- Reviews of all 4 books, Any Extras, & Interview

December 10th
Katie's Corner- Review & Extras

December 11th
Reading Past My Bedtime- Book Soundtrack, Dream Cast, Excerpt, & Guest Post

December 12th
Katie's Corner- Review & Extras

December 13th
alwaysjoart- Playlist & Dream Cast
Much Loved Books- Playlist & Book Soundtrack

December 14th
MichaelSciFan- Excerpt & Interview

December 15th 
The Big Book Blog- Extras & Reviews of All 4 Books

December 16th
Dreamer- Excerpt & Dream Cast
Dazzled by Books- Review of All 4 Books, & Excerpt

December 17th
Novel Reveries- Book Soundtrack, Playlist, Dream Cast, & Excerpt
A Backwards Story- Book Soundtrack, Excerpt (Possible reviews/guest post)

December 18th
Sparkling Pink Pages- Extras & Reviews of All 4 Books
The La La Land of Books- Review of The 3 Short Stories

December 19th
The La La Land of Books- Review of Beautiful Beautiful, Excerpt, & Dream Cast

December 20th 
The Bookish Fairy- Book Soundtrack
The Bearded Scribe- Excerpts & Book Soundtrack

December 21st 
Lived One Thousand Lives- Review of Beautiful Beautiful & Guest Post

December 22nd
Memories in a Box- Spotlight of the 3 Short Stories
Desert Rose Reviews & Tours- Wrap Up Final Post

~~~~~*~~~~~

We also have a fabulous giveaway going on!  For the duration of the book party, you'll be able to enter for a chance to win some awesome prizes!

1st Place: $25 Amazon Gift Card, an Exclusive T-Shirt, and "Happily Ever After" Bracelet!

2nd - 5th Place: An Exclusive T-Shirt, and "Happily Ever After" Bracelet!!

That's right, FIVE Winners!! :D 


Follow the tour and enter more entries every day!

~~~~~~~~~~*~~~~~~~~~~

Want to be a part of upcoming books tour parties and events?  Sign up to be a Desert Rose Tour Host!

Are you an author, musician or artist who would like to contact Desert Rose Tours for a party?  Rock on!  Contact us via email, or this easy form!

Saturday, December 7, 2013

Our Fourth Liebster Award! :D


Wow!  So I was nominated for a fourth Liebster Award this week- awesome!  *does a happy dance*  I don't care so much about awards, but it's great to know people like my blog, and I love answering the questions!  Yes, I'm a nerd...*shrugs* :)

I was nominated by Tina Marie @ Tina Marie Says- thanks so much sweetie! :D

Ok, so this award post has some different rules (actually, just an added rule, but whatevs).  The rules for accepting this award are:


~Link back to the blog that nominated you.

~Answer the questions they set for the blogs they nominated.

~Nominate 10 blogs of your own & let them know with a link to your post.

~Ask 10 questions for the blogs you nominate to answer in their post.

~*New! Share a couple random facts about yourself.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~My Questions Set By Tina Marie:

1. Any new and exciting things happening in your life that you would like to share?

Actually, I do!  My blog has expanded recently, and become not only a blog for tour hosting, but it's own tour service!  What's cool though, is we tour not only books, but music and art as well.  We're getting off the ground at the moment, and are looking forward to our first book tour, which starts tomorrow!  Eeep! :D

2. Do you have children?

Nope!  Can't have them, and I'm good with that :)

3. Do you have any pets?

Many!  Dogs, cats, turtles, and some strays that stick around for some extra love ;)

4. Are you finished with your Christmas shopping, and did you purchase any books as Christmas gifts? 

Yep, finished with Christmas shopping.  I did get a few books as gifts!  They're the best thing to give as gifts, I think :)

5. Do you follow any long time holiday traditions?

Not really.  We do something different every year, depending on where we're living that year.

6. Do you like the winter season?

I LOVE the winter season!  I love being cold, and snuggling up with a book, hot chocolate, and one of my furry critters :)  Plus the snow, and the clouds, just everything is so much prettier during the winter.

7. Are you an avid reader?

Oh yeah...have been since I was 2 :)

8. What kind of books do you like to read?

Anything really, as long as it's not erotic.  I don't mind tasteful romance, but I don't like reading scenes that are meant to be behind closed doors.  Most anything else though, fiction or non, I'll read and enjoy.  I like YA Paranormal and Supernatural the most, I think. :)

9. Do you review books after you read them, and how long do you wait before you review them?

I always review after reading.  I have to write the review right after I finish reading, otherwise I can't move on.  I have a photographic memory, and getting my thoughts out in a review is the best way for me to put what I've read away, so I can move on to another book :)

10. Name one of the books you have read this year that has stayed with you, that you still think about.

Wow, that's a really hard question!  I've read so many great books this year- I think any of the books I've rated 4 or 5 roses (stars) have stuck with me.  All of them have though, really.  Books never really leave me, they just become a part of me :)

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~A Few Fun Random Facts About Me:

~I have violet eyes

~I generally wear about 14 rings, and have 7 ear-piercings (soon to be 8, maybe 10).  I don't wear them in a gaudy way- I just adore jewelry, and they're all completely special and sentimental to me :)

~I'm completely eccentric and bohemian- you know Pheobe from Friends?  Think her, brunette and short...at least, that's what people tell me :)

~I've moved more times than the number of years I've been alive.

~I'm married to my best friend, and he's my prince :)

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~Blogs I Nominate:

1.  Emma Taylor @ Confessions Of A Book-worm

2.  Katie @ An Amateur's Library

3.  Michelle Michelle Congdon

4. Ashley @ Memories in a Box


 6.  Jannat @ Living An Eternal Fairytale

7.  Emilyann @ Anything Imagined

8.  Ashley @ Ashley's Book Corner

9.  Alex @ Fastidious Reader

10.  Amie @ Magic of Words

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

~10 Questions for My Nominees:

1.  What's your blog about?
2.  What do you do for fun?
3.  What's your fav kind of music/band/song?
4.  What's your fav book (or top 5, if you can't pick just one ;)?
5.  Are you doing anything special for Christmas?
6.  Do you enjoy the winter season?
7.  Best memory from this year?
8.  Any New Years resolutions?
9.  Anything exciting happening in your life at the moment?
10.  Book you're looking forward to reading next year?

~*~

Congrats guys- hope you accept your award, and have fun!! :D

Thanks again Tina Marie- this was fun! :D

Thursday, December 5, 2013

*Review Tour, Excerpt & Giveaway*
"Luminous" by Jasmine Angell!

*Materials & images provided by Read Between the Lines.

Psyne, #1

~Release Date: August 12th, 2013

~Pages: 534

~Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Sci-Fi

Goodreads

What would you do if the world you loved was taken from you forever?

...and what would you sacrifice to get it back?

Magical, Mythical, Mesmerizing…

A powerful race of beings lives and works among us and we don’t even know it. To us, they are known as mermaids, sirens and water nymphs, but they call themselves the Psyne. They have lived on Earth since ancient times, wield powerful magic and have only one weakness—love.

When Psyne suddenly start disappearing around the globe, the remaining aquatars are evacuated to their home world and a ban is placed on Earth. Ilauria, a devoted servant to the Psyne Council, can’t abide abandoning the missing eight, and with the help of her long-time friend, Shivan, and a subversive member of the Venvian Psyne named Adante, she embarks on a harrowing rescue mission to uncover who or what is powerful enough to subdue her kind.

What Ilauria discovers will cause her to question her loyalties, re-examine her dual nature, and will shake the very foundations of the truths her society holds dear.

*Release Blitz & Giveaway*
"Isaura" by Ruth Silver!

*Materials & images provided by the author.

Paperback

(Aberrant #3)


~Publisher: 
Patchwork Press

~Released: December 4th, 2013

~Cover Art: Erica Crouch

~Pages: 241

~Genres: Young Adult, Dystopian, Science Fiction, Fantasy


eBook

~Publisher: Lazy Day Publishing

~Cover Artist: Lazy Day Publishing

~Released: December 4th, 2013

~Pages: 241


With Joshua’s recent disappearance, Olivia has little choice but to head into the dangerous Gravelands as the new government wrestles with fixing the damage to society. Joining forces with her estranged father and a girl from Haven, they go on a search-and-rescue mission to find Joshua and bring him back alive. If traveling through outlaw territory isn’t frightening enough, Olivia learns she has exposed her secret and is hunted by her allies.


“I'm fine!” I pushed harder on the gas. “They can't be that far ahead of us.” I just hoped we were headed in the right direction.
We drove another twenty minutes north as I moved off the dirt road and onto grass. I glanced back at Rane. “Do you think Craynor could have found a place in Haven to keep Joshua?”
“I don't know. Not much was left. There could have been a cellar or basement abandoned that didn't get struck. That's how I survived,” Rane admitted.
It at least gave me hope. As we drove north, the rain stopped and the clouds parted. Cresting a hill, I slammed the brakes as we jolted to an abrupt halt.
“What the hell?” Gavin's voice echoed as the seatbelt restrained him and his arm shot up on the dashboard to steady himself. A few feet away, I saw outlaws with weapons pointed in our direction. “Hurry up!” His voice threatened in my ear as I slammed on the gas, but our car wasn't going anywhere: the tires had blown from spikes in the road.
Locking the doors hadn't helped. They busted the car window and flipped the lock, opening the door, dragging all three of us out.

Moirai (Aberrant #2)


~Published: September 26, 2013

~Pages: 246

~Genres: Young Adult, Dystopian, Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Romance

Amazon

Olivia has been on the run from the government of Cabal since the marriage ceremony. Finally settling in and finding herself a place to call home in Shadow, Olivia and Joshua prepare for the uprising that they and the rebel alliance have been planning for months.

With new abilities and special talents from Mindonsiphan, Olivia learns she can do more than most ordinary eighteen year olds. Learning both to hide and perfect her skills will be one of the biggest challenges she’ll be forced to face. 

A constant rollercoaster of emotion and adventure await Olivia and Joshua as they embark on a journey to the rebel city of Torv, and what was once home, Genesis.

Aberrant (Aberrant #1)


~Published: April 28, 2013

~Pages: 250

~Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian, Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Romance


In the future dystopian society of Cabal, the government instills equality for all and offers its citizens the perfect system. There is food, shelter and jobs for everyone. The one requirement is to follow the rules without question, including the government’s match in marriage and “The Day of the Chosen”, a lottery that randomly selects families to conceive children as natural means hasn’t existed in generations. Following her eighteenth birthday, Olivia Parker accepts her requirement to marry her childhood best friend, Joshua Warren, and is eager to start her work assignment and new life when it all comes abruptly to an end as she’s arrested and thrown in prison. The only crime committed, her existence.

Olivia is unlike the rest of the world born not from “The Day of the Chosen.” The truth haunts the government and puts her life in grave danger as one simple fact would destroy the perfect system. With Joshua’s help, Olivia breaks free of prison and is forced on the run. Together they set out to find the promised rebel town in search of a new home and new life together. Their situation seems less than promising as they reach the town of Haven. New rules and customs must be adhered to in order to stay. Leaving would mean most certain death in the large expanse of the Gravelands. Time is running out as the government mounts an attack to destroy Olivia and bury her secret with her. Thrown into a world unlike their own, they must quickly adapt to survive.


Ruth Silver attended Northern Illinois University and graduated with a Bachelor's in Communication in the spring of 2005.  While in college, she spent much of her free time writing with friends she met online and penning her first novel, Deuces are Wild, which she self-published in 2004.  Her favorite class was Creative Writing senior year where she often handed in assignments longer than the professor required because she loved to write and always wanted to finish her stories.  Her love of writing led her on an adventure in 2007 to Melbourne, Australia.  Silver enjoys reading, photography, traveling and most of all writing.  She loves dystopian and fantasy young adult stories.  Her debut novel published by Lazy Day Publishing and Patchwork Press, ABERRANT, was released April 2013.  The second novel in the series, MOIRAI, continues the saga. ISAURA, is the final installment in the ABERRANT trilogy. Ruth has been actively writing since she was a teenager.  She currently resides in Plainfield, Illinois.

Enter the rafflecopter giveaway here!!

What do you think of this series?  Let us know in the comments below.

If you enjoyed this post, please share it.

Thanks for visiting!