Friday, January 31, 2014

*Tour Stop, Dream Cast & Playlist*
"Fender Bender Blues" by Niecey Roy!

*Blitz, Trailer & Giveaway*
"Carnelian" by B. Kristin McMichael!


Carnelian
(Chalcedony Chronicles #1)

~By: B. Kristin McMichael 

~Published: January 10th 2014

~Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult, Romance,
Time-Travel

Amazon ~ B&N

*Cover Reveal & Excerpt*
"Retribution" by Virginia Brash!

Retribution
(The Artemis series #1)

~Author: Virginia Brash

~Publisher: Entranced Publishing

~Release DateMarch 3rd 2014

~Genres: Adult Fiction, Romance, Suspense 


Thursday, January 30, 2014

"The Rose of Cavendish" by Lea Cherry!
*Tour Stop, Trailer & Excerpt*


The Rose of Cavendish

~Author: Lea Cherry

~Genre: Young Adult,  Fantasy

~Published: October 26th, 2011 

"Starcrossed" by Brenda Hiatt!
*Blitz, Interview & Giveaway*


Starstruck #2

~Author: Brenda Hiatt 

~Published: January 24th, 2014

~Genres: Young Adult, Sci-fi Romance

Wednesday, January 29, 2014

{"Dervishes" by Neal Starkman}

We're cleaning up our blog, and removing content we've decided are not things we want to promote.

Unfortunately, this book/series/author is not something we feel comfortable hosting on our blog, and the materials have been removed.

We apologize for any inconvenience or disappointment, but hope you'll understand.

Thank you so much for visiting, and please feel free to look around for some other great stuff!

*Blitz & Giveaway*
"The Hardest Part" by Heather London!


The Hardest Part

~Author: Heather London

~Published: January 5th, 2014

~Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance


Emily Anderson and Reed Alexander are living with pasts they cannot escape.

Emily moved to New York City seeking a fresh start, intending to focus on her career and to keep a low profile.

Reed returns home to New York City after two years, haunted by the same things that pushed him away years ago.

When Reed and Emily meet, their connection is undeniable, but Emily keeps her feelings hidden. Falling in love is the last thing on her mind and she knows the danger it may bring not only to her, but to Reed as well. Reed isn’t as reluctant, but he knows that the demons he’s fighting could destroy Emily.

The harder they try to resist one another, the deeper they fall in love, and the more complicated their lives become.

In the end, they realize that truly loving someone may mean letting them go… and that’s the hardest part.

Tuesday, January 28, 2014

*Blitz & Spotlight*
"Forsaken" by Kristen Day!


Daughters of the Sea, Book #1

~Published: January 28th, 2014

~Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Mythology, Paranormal, Romance



Once you’ve been touched by darkness, it never leaves you…

Abandoned by her parents as an infant; seventeen year old Hannah spent her childhood wading through countless foster families until being adopted by the Whitmans three years ago.

Unfortunately, Atlanta’s high society wasn’t quite ready for Hannah…or the strange events that plague her.

Chilling visions of murder, unexplained hallucinations, and  dark, mysterious guy who haunts her nightmares all culminate to set in motion a journey of self-discovery that will challenge everything she’s ever believed; not to mention her sanity.

Sent to live at The House of Lorelei on Bald Head Island, NC for ‘kids like her’, Hannah quickly realizes things are not what they seem. Her fellow ‘disturbed’ teens are actually the descendants of mythical Sea Gods and Goddesses. And so is she.

But when Finn, the ghost from her dreams, appears in the flesh; her nightmares become reality and her dark visions begin coming true. Inexplicably drawn to him, she can’t deny the dangerous hold he has on her heart. The deadly secrets he harbors will ultimately test her courage and push the boundaries of her love.

She must decide if she is ready to embrace the ancient legend she is prophesied to be a part of. The fate of all the descendants will forever depend upon it.

*Release Blitz & Giveaway*
"The Genesis Project" by Tigris Eden!


~Release: Jan 28, 2014

~Genres: New Adult, Adult Fiction, Sci-Fi, Paranormal, Fantasy, Romance


Sunday, January 26, 2014

*Tour Spotlight & Excerpt*
"The Lion's Embrace" by Marie Laval!


~Published: February 1st, 2013

~Genres: New Adult, Adult Fiction, Historical Romance


Saturday, January 25, 2014

*Cover Re-Reveal*
"A Grimm Legacy" by Janna Jennings!

~Cover Re-Reveal organized by Patchwork Press.

The Grimm Tales, #1

~Cover Designer: Erica Crouch

~Published: October 29th, 2013 by Patchwork Press

~Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retelling


Friday, January 24, 2014

*Blitz & Giveaway*
"The Skinwalker's Apprentice" by Claribel Ortega!


The Skinwalker's Apprentice

~Author: Claribel Ortega

~Released: February 24th, 2014

~Length: 120 Pages

~Format: eBook

~Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Dark Fantasy


"The Life & Death of Jorja Graham" Book Blitz & Giveaway!


The Life & Death of Jorja Graham

~By: Brynn Myers

~Publisher: Amber Leaf Publishing

~Published: January 21st, 2014

~Genres: Adult Fiction, Paranormal Romance, Dark Fantasy


"Stealing Luca's Heart" Book Blitz!


Stealing Luca's Heart (The Tetari's of New Zealand, #1)

~By: Ellie Lyons

~Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary Romance

~Published: December 30th, 2013

Thursday, January 23, 2014

"Blood and Gold" Book Blitz & Giveaway!

"Main Attraction" by Ava O'Shay!
*Book Tour & Giveaway*


*Warning: This book is Adult Romance (Steamy).  Contents may not be appropriate for younger audiences.  Continue below...

"BattleFields of Silence" by William Tedford!
*Release Blitz & Giveaway*

"Dervishes" by Neal Starkman!
*Book Release Blast & Giveaway*

~Published: November 21st, 2013 

~Length: Pages 308

~Genres: Adult Fiction, Romance, Historical


Wednesday, January 22, 2014

P.J. Stone Gates Trilogy on SALE!!


Got Dragon?

Get the entire P.J. Stone Gates Trilogy in a boxed set on sale from Jan. 22 through Jan. 29th

You may just find you like to get burned.

http://dtdyllin.com/

New Year's Resolutions, 2014

Hey guys!  


Today I'm going to post about my New Year's Resolutions for this year.  I know most people have their lists closer to the start of January, but I take a little while to decide stuff, so I'm a tad tardy with this :P

These aren't all about books or reviews, some are personal (you've been warned...).  Better late than never, here are my resolutions for 2014:

1) Publish one of my books!
       I am going to publish one of my books this year.  No more excuses, no procrastinating, no hiding under my bed.  I'm gonna do it peeps, whoot! :D

2) I'm going to have more fun!
       Most people probably don't know this (or maybe they do, I don't know...) but I originally started this blog to fulfill a resolution for last year: to put myself out into the world more.  I'm chronically shy, and always have been.  So, in my life-long quest to get out from under the rock I've spend most of my life, I started a blog to share my book reviews an opinions.  I think that's gone pretty well- it's exploded into something I never imagined, and I've found a few paths leading to some long-forgotten dreams.
       Now, though, I've realized that my blog has gone from fun and "get myself out there, express myself" to several services, and more professional and serious. 
       Likewise, so have I.  I stopped having fun last year, and it kind of sucks.  So, to mend that side-effect, I've started a second blog: Desert Rose Reviews: UnPlugged; Version 2.o: The Goofy, the Fun, & the Random.  I'm going to be more fun, if it kills me people... 
(pssst!  Wanna check the new blog out??  Click here! :) Thanks!)

3) Figure out how to exercise, without hurting myself.
       Long story short, I have a chronic condition that caused me to have a somewhat emergency hysterectomy when I was 21 (a week before Christmas too, not fun :P).  Since then, and because I am still dealing with the original condition, I haven't been able to exercise without risking damage.  But!  I am going to figure out how to work out again this year.  I used to be a workout nazi (a term my hubby gave me, thank you very much) with cross-country running, soccer, mountain biking, rollerblading...*sigh* I needs to work out! :O

4) Fewer read4reviews.
       At the end quarter of last year, I got way overloaded on books to read 4 review.  I'm still working on that list, which really irks me.  I don't like being that stressed, and having so much hanging over my head.  So, I am going to be more picky about the books I agree to read and review, and I'm going to sign up for fewer review-only blog tours.

5) Read for fun!
       A side effect of the humongous list of books to read 4 review, is not having enough time to read for fun.  Luxury reading really is just that, a luxury, and one I miss terribly.  A post on Cuddlebuggery Book Blog really hit home with me a few weeks ago, talking about how she was so overwhelmed with everything she was doing on the blog, that it wasn't fun any more.  No one wants a fun-sucker hobby, so before mine gets to be any more of a fun-sucker, I'm going to start having more fun, and doing things here that I don't have to do, but that I want to do.

6) Review more than just books!!
       Another thing you probably didn't know: Desert Rose Reviews is not an exclusively books only blog!  We review everything!!  Or at least, that was the idea.  So, starting soon, we are going to be having reviews of other stuff as well, like movies and music.  We'll also have that kind of thing on the other blog (the goofy one) and we'll keep it fun and open :)

7) Express myself more.
       I tend to let my serious side take over when I blog and/or write.  Not good.  Blogging is supposed to be fun, at least, it is for me.  I'm going to try and express myself more, and not be so robot-woman-who-needs-a-drink with my posts and reviews.  (Seriously, I'm trembling with nervous energy just writing this post, thinking about expressing myself more, and putting myself out there more than I already am.  Chronic social phobias suck, and I'm going to beat this one!)

8)  Add More Color!
       You may have noticed, but I've started adding more color to my posts!  Monotone color- boring!  I'm keeping this one on the list though, because it's one I want to keep doing, and make a habit.

9) Keep up with everything a bit better.
       I started a lot of stuff last year, like a Tumblr (which has like, 2 posts?  Eeshk!) and Facebook Page.  I'm going to work on posting to more places than just this blog, Goodreads and Amazon.  Breaking out of my shell people! :D

10) Do something goofy and unexpected every day.
       Might not be able to do this, but I'm sure as butterflies going to try!  

Ok, so there's my list.  I'm going to do my best to stick to it, and give you guys some great stuff to look forward to this year.  I'm growing and learning, and you guys help so much :)

Thanks to anyone who reads this- I appreciate it!

I hope you all have fantastic adventures, and have a wonderful 2014!

Ciao!

~Rose

P.S. Any comments, feedback, thoughts, musings, and/or random whips of almost-thoughts are all welcome! :D

Tuesday, January 21, 2014

"The Key" by Jennifer Anne Davis!
*Tour Stop: Playlist, Dream Cast, & Excerpt*


~Published: November 15th, 2103

~Publisher: Clean Teen Publishing

~Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy


Within these pages lie kingdoms with castles and princes who fall in love with fair maidens, but make no mistake−this is no fairytale.

His father’s kingdom is on the brink of upheaval and at the center of it all is an ordinary girl who could be the key to its undoing. When faced with the ultimate choice, will he choose the girl he’s falling in love with or the kingdom he has sworn to protect? 

An ordinary girl with an extraordinary past. All she wants is to be free. What she doesn’t realize is that freedom comes with a price she can’t afford to pay. She’s forced to accept the proposal of a prince she despises, even though her heart belongs to someone else . . . his brother.

Seventeen-year-old Rema lives in a brutal kingdom where travel between regions is forbidden, people are starving, and looking at someone the wrong way can mean death. Nineteen-year-old Darmik is the king’s son and Commander of the King’s Army. He spends his days roving the island, doing his father’s bidding and trying to maintain control over the people.

When a chance encounter throws Rema and Darmik together, they share an instantaneous connection, but any sort of relationship between them is strictly forbidden. Darmik’s brother, the Crown Prince, notices Darmik’s interest in Rema and, in a calculated, political move, blackmails her. Faced with an impossible choice, Rema is forced to sacrifice her heart in order to save her family.

As Rema is taken to the palace with the Crown Prince, Darmik confronts the growing rumor that a legitimate blood heir to the throne exists and is trying to overthrow Darmik’s family. In Darmik’s quest to hunt down and kill the threat, he discovers that nothing is as it seems. Locked in the king’s castle, Rema finds herself a key player in a massive power struggle. When Darmik shows up, she’s not sure if she can trust him. The line between friends, enemies, and loyalty becomes blurred. As truths are unlocked, Rema understands that she just might be the key to finding the rightful heir and restoring peace to the kingdom… if she can manage to stay alive long enough.

"Holly Hearts Hollywood" by Kenley R. Doonan!
*Cover Reveal*

~Publisher: Swoon Romance

~Release Date: Spring 2014

~Genres: Young Adult, New Adult, Contemporary, Romance


Monday, January 20, 2014

"Royal Pain" by Danielle Doolittle!
*Tour Spotlight & Giveaway*

~Tour organized by Entranced Publishing.

"In Pursuit" by Olivia Luck!
*Cover Reveal*

~Released:  
February 11th, 2014

~Cover Designer: Cover It! Designs

~Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance


Sunday, January 19, 2014

"Orenda" by Ruth Silver!
*Cover Reveal*

~Cover Designer: Erica Crouch

~Publisher: Patchwork Press

~Expected Publication: Spring 2014

~Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy

Saturday, January 18, 2014

Brilliant Darkness Series, by A.G. Henley!
*Book Blast & Giveaway*

~Event Organized by I Am A Reader, Not A Writer.


A.G. Henley is the author of the Brilliant Darkness series. The first book in the series, The Scourge, was a finalist for the 2013 Next Generation Indie Book Award.

A.G. is also a clinical psychologist, which means people either tell her their life stories on airplanes, or avoid her at parties when they’ve had too much to drink. Neither of which she minds. When she’s not writing fiction or shrinking heads, she can be found herding her children and their scruffy dog, Guapo, to various activities while trying to remember whatever she’s inevitably forgotten to tell her husband. She lives in Denver, Colorado.


Friday, January 17, 2014

"Keep Breathing" by Alexia Purdy!
*Blitz Spotlight*

*Materials & images provided by Reading Between the Lines.

~Publisher: Lyrical Lit. Press

~Release Date: January 15th, 2014

~Genres: Contemporary Romance, Adult

Goodreads

Seth Kingston is back in town with years of regrets. Regrets for the way he left things with Penny, the hurt he caused her, and the future they could have had together. He had his reasons and now all he wants is to make amends and have a second chance at love. 

But Penny wants no part of what he’s offering. She’s accepted that life is hard, love is an illusion, and you can’t trust men. Especially men named Seth Kingston. And yet… he’s so tender with her. He’s patient, and caring. 

Is it possible that he’s changed? Can they really try again?

The past has a tendency to embed its vicious talons deep into a heart, never to let go again. Penny has enough tragedy to last lifetimes and isn’t willing to let anyone scale her walls.

Can real love survive anything, even an unforgiving past?

"Sworn to Secrecy" by Terah Edun!
*Cover Reveal & Giveaway*


~Publication Date: February 28th, 2014

On Sale on Amazon, iTunes & Barnes & Noble February 28, 2014!

~GenresYoung Adult, New Adult, Fantasy, Romance

Goodreads

~Blurb:

In the heart of the Imperial Courts, Ciardis Weathervane knows that death is coming for the empire. With her friends by her side and the new triad of Weathervanes, she's in a race against time to convince the courts of the same. 

She must do her best to unite kith, mages, nobles and merchants under one cause - the fight to prevent a war. Soon she is forced to keep a secret that could exonerate her mother of the Empress's death, and is always one move away from stepping into diplomatic chaos. 

Throw in a Daemoni Prince who is showing interest in the youngest Weathervane, a jealous Prince Heir, and a irritated dragon with her own designs on Ciardis, and you have an Imperial Court in turmoil. 

This fourth novel continues the story of Ciardis Weathervane from Sworn To Conflict.

~~~~~~~~~~*~~~~~~~~~~

~Excerpt from Chapter 1 of Sworn to Secrecy~

There were few things in the world that mystified Ciardis Weathervane more than the Imperial Courts of Sandrin. An intricate and multi-layered triad of courts with the Imperial family at the top, the landed nobles squarely in the middle and the wealthy ton comprising of the merchants, the artists and the mages at the bottom. If you could call it a bottom. Because nobles could be mages, Imperial family members had independent wealth and all of them played their games in pursuit of their own desires. Fidelity, honor and duty to the land wasn’t what drove these courtiers. Pride of place and greed for more took prominence above all. So landing back at Court on the arms of the woman that most everyone wanted dead and a man accused of aiding a serial killer wasn’t her best idea yet.

~~~~~*~~~~~


~Check out and Purchase the rest of the series!







~~~~~~~~~~*~~~~~~~~~~

~About the Author~

Terah Edun is a young adult  fantasy writer born and raised in the Atlanta metropolitan area, who transplanted to the Northeast region for college, and has spent years living abroad in South Sudan and Morocco. She writes the stories that she always loved to read as a young girl.

~Connect with Terah~


~~~~~~~~~~*~~~~~~~~~~

~Giveaway!!~

Terah is giving away 1 ebook copy of any book in the Courtlight series to five winners.  Good Luck!




~Cover Reveal organized by the author.

Thursday, January 16, 2014

"Seasons of Sorrow" by C.C. Wood!
*Release Blast & Giveaway*

~Released: January 16, 2014

~Genres: Adult Fiction, Realistic Fiction, Inspirational, Contemporary, Romance


Just a few short months after her son’s birth, Charlotte Fallon faces a parent’s worst nightmare. In her darkest hour, she finds herself abandoned by her husband, Derek, left to deal with her heartbreak alone.

Jobless and with very little money, she fights to regain her footing.
As the months pass, secrets her husband managed to bury are unearthed and she wonders if she ever truly knew him. As the truth continues to come to light, Derek’s business partner and Charlotte’s friend, Gregory Swift, steps in to help her deal with the repercussions of her husband’s betrayal.

Seasons come and go, and, as Charlotte begins to return to life, she realizes that she is much stronger than she believed. And while a pain this deep can never be forgotten, Charlotte learns there is room for joy in the future as the wounds heal. Even a winter of sorrow can eventually warm into a summer of sweetness. 


A native Texan, C.C. grew up either reading or playing the piano.  Years later, she’s still not grown up and doing the same things.  Since the voices in her head never shut up, C.C. decided to try and profit from their crazy stories and started writing books.

Now that she has a baby girl at home, C.C.’s non-writing time is usually spent cleaning up poopy diapers or feeding the poop machine.  Sometimes she teaches piano, cooks, or spends time bugging her hubby and two beagles. 



Enter to win one autographed copy of Seasons of Sorrow!


~Release Day Launch organized by Rockstar PR & Literary Consulting.

///Forsaken Cover Reveal!


Forsaken (Daughters of the Sea-Book #1)

~By: Kristen Day

~Originally Published: July 18th, 2012

~Pages: 258

~Genres: YA, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance


~Blurb:


Once you’ve been touched by darkness, it never leaves you…

Abandoned by her parents as an infant; seventeen year old Hannah spent her childhood wading through countless foster families until being adopted by the Whitmans three years ago.

Unfortunately, Atlanta’s high society wasn’t quite ready for Hannah…or the strange events that plague her.
Chilling visions of murder, unexplained hallucinations, and  dark, mysterious guy who haunts her nightmares all culminate to set in motion a journey of self-discovery that will challenge everything she’s ever believed; not to mention her sanity.

Sent to live at The House of Lorelei on Bald Head Island, NC for ‘kids like her’, Hannah quickly realizes things are not what they seem. Her fellow ‘disturbed’ teens are actually the descendants of mythical Sea Gods and Goddesses. And so is she.

But when Finn, the ghost from her dreams, appears in the flesh; her nightmares become reality and her dark visions begin coming true. Inexplicably drawn to him, she can’t deny the dangerous hold he has on her heart. The deadly secrets he harbors will ultimately test her courage and push the boundaries of her love.

She must decide if she is ready to embrace the ancient legend she is prophesied to be a part of. The fate of all the descendants will forever depend upon it.

~~~~~~~~~~*~~~~~~~~~~

~About the Author~

I am a southern belle at heart with a crazy streak that desperately tries to escape at every opportunity. I love all things nostalgic, rustic, and quirky. I've been told I see the world through rose-colored glasses, but I prefer to think of them as kaleidoscope glasses - swirling and morphing reality into something I can digest (who hasn't pretended those pasty lima beans were really kiwi strawberry jelly beans?).

I am the author of the Daughters of the Sea Series , which includes Forsaken, Awaken,  Chosen, and Hearken so far. I love all books, but really enjoy writing young adult, paranormal romances. I've loved to write for as long as I can remember. My first published work was my poem RED in second grade (you guessed it - it was a poem about the color red - life altering, I know) that won me 5 gold stars and a spot in my elementary school's poetry book. That's when my addiction to the written word officially began. I was the only kid in fifth grade that actually enjoyed diagramming sentences. Go ahead and laugh – it’s okay.

When I'm not writing I'm making jewelry, painting, drinking sweet tea, watching the discovery channel, or going on random adventures in the mountains of North Carolina with my amazing husband. I graduated from Appalachian State University and dream of becoming a full time novelist.


~Connect with Kristen: