Thursday, December 31, 2015

Cover Reveal Invite!

Hiya everybody! Hope you're doing amazing!


First off, I want to say how grateful we are to all of you! The support and enthusiasm you guys continue to show us is amazing, and we love you all for it! We plan to grow a lot this next year, and hope you'll all stick with us!
We're getting ready to say goodbye to 2015, and welcome 2016 with a bang! I'm so excited for this next year, especially for the first couple of months. I'm going to be releasing my debut novel, Desi Pere! It's the first book of the Young Adult Paranormal adventure, Swirling Secrets.

I've designed the cover myself, and am organizing a cover reveal for January 11th! I'd love to add anyone who'd like to participate - the more the merrier! =D

To sign up, please fill out this form.

I can't wait to share the official cover with you guys!

I'll have more info about the awesome Release Tour after the New Year.

Now, onto welcoming 2016! I hope you have a wonderful last day of the year!

Tons of love!

~Rose & Ken
@Desert Rose

Sunday, December 27, 2015

2016 Prep!

Hiya guys! Hope you're all enjoying the last week of the year. Still can't believe 2015 is almost gone!


I'd really love to keep my blogs and businesses growing though, as anyone would. So, I thought this would be the perfect opportunity for a feedback blog post!

What, as our readers, would you like to see us change/add to our blog? Is there something we could be doing to make our posts more engaging? Are there things we're doing you enjoy, and would like to see more of?

We're really love to see DRR grow in 2016, and any feedback you have would help, I'm sure. 2016 has the potential to be beyond amazing, and we want to do what we can to help it reach the stars!

Please feel free to leave a comment, or send us an email! Also, if you would, please share this post, so we can get the most feedback possible!

Thank you =D

Friday, December 25, 2015

Merry Christmas!!

We hope you're all having a wonderful Christmas!


In our family, we celebrate Christmas until after New Years. Why stop now, this season rocks! =D


If the Christmas celebration ends for you after today, we hope it was awesome for you, and hope the rest of December is smooth sailing!

What are you plans for the next week? Any ideas on how to end the year? We always like to try and go out with a bang! =D


One more week for 2015 - we hope it's marvelous!

Thanks for all your support, and for being so awesome!


~Rose & Ken
@Desert Rose

Wednesday, December 23, 2015

Holiday Update!

Hiya guys! Happy Christmas Eve Eve ;)  Hope you're all enjoying your holiday so far! =D


I wanted to write an update post real quick, to let everyone know what I'm up to at the moment. As most of you know, and can see from the note on the left sidebar, we are super backed up on reviews. I literally still have requests from last year I haven't gotten a chance to complete, which makes me cringe to admit.


I keep expecting and hoping that life will ease back up, and allow me to read more again. It's not. While I'm modifying my schedule to fit in more reading, it's still slow-going. With my own book due for publishing soon, I'm going to have even more reading time lost. #juggling #balancing


So, I figured the best thing to do, for now, is write temporary reviews/updates for the books I've started, and have a somewhat comfortable feel for. I've started reading several books, and simply haven't been able to finish them, which so sucks! Isn't that the most irritating feeling? Ugh.


So, I'm going to be sharing several posts in the coming weeks, for books I've started & enjoyed. Once I'm able to finish the books - and I will finish them all - I'll update each review accordingly. I'm hoping to get my list at least cut in half by New Years, fingers crossed.


I am hoping the authors that end up with a temp review from me are alright with that. I know if it was my book, I'd rather that, just so I know the reviewer doesn't hate it, or I'm getting jipped or something. I certainly don't want anyone thinking of Desert Rose as unreliable, and I think this is the best way to avoid that.


So, if you're an author and you believe you have a review pending from us, hopefully you'll get an updated review soon! I won't be posting negative reviews for this type of temp update, since that's not really fair. The few I've put up already have been positive, and it's so nice to at least have something there, haha.

I'm still crossing my fingers that I'll have more time to read next year, but starting two businesses and publishing a new series is time consuming. Not holding my breath, but keeping my digits crossed ;)


I hope you're all having a wonderful holiday, and enjoying Winter so far!

I am curious - have any other authors or bloggers had to do the temp review thing? I've seen others who have, but I'm curious how it went, for those who've been in a similar situation?  Let me know in the comments below!

Thanks for visiting & reading. Please feel free to share this post with your friends! =D


Ciao for now,

~Rose

Tuesday, December 22, 2015

Kindle Fire Holiday Giveaway!

 Holiday Kindle Giveaway!

Hi everybody! How ready are you for Christmas? I know I am! I can't believe it's only a few days away, and at the same time, I'm so excited!

So, just in time for the holidays, I'm sharing an awesome Holiday Giveaway, set up and run by Inger Iversen & C.L. Foster! In addition to the grand prize of a Kindle Fire (wow!!) there are also several prizes of books, swag packs, and more! Enter below, and good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Thanks so much for visiting, and be sure to share this giveaway with your friends! =D

Good luck! =D

Monday, December 21, 2015

"The Escape" by Allana Kephart & Melissa Simmons!
*Blast with Trailer*

 Book Blast!
*Materials & images provided by Girls Heart Books Tours.

Happy Monday! Hope you guys are doing awesome, and had a fun weekend =)

Here's a suspenseful thriller to start your week off, written by two awesome authors! Check it out!

Gumshoes & Grifters #0.5

 The Escape
~Released: February 1st, 2015

~Length: 109 Pages

~Genres: Mature Young Adult, Contemporary, Suspense, Thriller


Run for your life…

Sixteen-year-old Claire McBride just witnessed a brutal murder at the hands of someone she knew, someone she thought she could trust. Now she’s alone, afraid and desperate to put as many miles as possible between herself and the killer. Seeing no other options, she flees her home town of Galena, leaving behind everything and everyone she’s ever held dear.

Run for your life…

Carter Emerson's whole world has come crashing down around him. He woke to the news his best friend, Claire has gone missing without a trace, and there’s nothing he can do about it. Finding out her car was abandoned in the busy city of Chicago, he and his brother can't help but fear the worst… With no solid suspects or leads, it looks like Carter’s worst nightmare could come true, and Claire’s disappearance may turn into a cold case.

Run for your life…

With the killer at her heels, Claire has no choice but to leave Carter in the dark. She can’t risk his safety just because she misses the sound of his voice… But will the run of Claire’s life be worth it in the end? Or will her past catch up with her no matter how hard she tries to escape it?

Saturday, December 19, 2015

"Mayan Blood" by Theresa DaLayne!
*Blitz with Interview & Giveaway*

 Book Blitz!
*Materials & images provided by YA Bound Book Tours.

Happy Saturday! I love books like this one, and just had to join the Blitz! Please check it out, and let us know what you think!

Stone Legacy #1

 Mayan Blood
~Released: December 29th 2015

~Publisher: Limitless Publishing

~Length: 261 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Fantasy


Their empires have fallen, but their mythology lives on…

Zanya Coreandero is a seventeen-year-old orphan with only a single friend and no hope for a normal life. Diagnosed with anxiety and night terrors, no one believes her cuts and bruises are a result of an evil entity, and not a brutal case of self-harm.

With the only home she’s ever known being the isolated institution—where breakfast is a handful of medications, the psychiatry sessions are mandatory, and her every move is watched—the only relief is her red-haired roommate named Tara, who’s more like a little sister than her best friend.

Free will is strong, but destiny is stronger.

When Zanya is kidnapped, she meets a group of gifted Mayan descendants, each with a unique ability. Gone from a nameless castaway to the only hope of mankind, Zanya is forced to make a grueling decision: bond with an enchanted stone and save humanity from rising underworld forces, or watch helplessly as Earth falls victim to a familiar dark deity from her dreams. This time, he’s playing for keeps.

A wicked secret hides behind a handsome face…

When Arwan, a dark-eyed timebender, takes interest in Zanya's mission, it's unclear if his intention is to help, or if he's on a hell-bent mission for revenge. Wary of falling for another guy with major secrets and a tainted past, Zanya fights to keep her distance. If only her heart gave her a choice.

Friday, December 18, 2015

"A Lost Legacy: Awakening" by C.E. Dimond!
*Tour with Playlist & Giveaway*

Book Tour!
*Materials & images provided by YA Bound Book Tours.

TGIF! I'm excited to be participating in this tour, for an awesome paranormal adventure, full of power and struggle. Check it out!

 A Lost Legacy Awakening
~Released: July 9th, 2015

~Length: 204 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, New Adult, Paranormal


Finn Adams thought she knew what her life had in store for her; a mundane existence of day to day life. After meeting Eamon her whole world is flipped upside down. When her mother goes missing, Finn soon discovers that she is a witch and she is being hunted for her power. Ripped from the only life she's ever known, Finn is transported across the country to Broadhaven, Maine to discover the secrets she never knew about herself, her heritage, and the tremendous power she's kept hidden for so long. Her loyalties are tested when she learns of her true parentage and discovers she is part of a prophecy, destined to awaken an ancient power that has been lost for centuries . As she struggles to learn from her mother's past, she is faced with the ultimate struggle of good and evil, family or friends. She must learn who she can trust and find the power within herself to stop the prophecy from coming true.

Thursday, December 17, 2015

The Insanity Series, by Cameron Jace!
*Blitz & Giveaway*

 Book Blitz!
*Materials & images provided by Xpresso Book Tours.

The Complete Books 1-3
 The Insanity Series
~Released: October 28th, 2015

~Genres: New Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal


A Top 100 Bestseller!

Amazon readers love it – over 500 reviews of 5* and 4* for the first book in the series.

‘Most absorbing fantasy read in years!’ W. McNaughton.

‘Insanity is A Summer Hit!!!’ Kindle Gram

‘An insane page turner’ – Kindle reviewer

‘Engrossingly fun!’ Rhonda Miller.

‘A truly twisted tale….fantastic!’ Sheri A. Wilkinsonon

Hannibal Meets Alice in Wonderland in this fantasy page-turning thriller.

After accidentally killing everyone in her class, Alice Wonder becomes a patient in the Radcliffe Lunatic Asylum. No one doubts her insanity. All but a hookah-smoking professor named Carter Pillar who believes he can prove her sanity by decoding Lewis Carroll’s paintings, photographs, and finding Wonderland’s real whereabouts.

Professor Caterpillar persuades the asylum that Alice can save lives and catch the Wonderland Monsters now reincarnated in modern day criminals. In order to do so, Alice leads a double life: an Oxford university student by day, a mad girl in an asylum by night. The line between sanity and insanity thins when she meets Jack Diamond, an arrogant college student who believes that nonsense is an actual science.

Larger than life characters, intricate mysteries, engrossing fun, and intriguing historical locations. Insanity will thrill you, makes turns pages, and stay with you forever.
Warning: intended for insane audience only.

Wednesday, December 16, 2015

"Unfearing" by Shane Morgan!
*Blitz with Excerpt & Giveaway*

 Promo Blitz!
*Materials & images provided by Itching For Books Tours.

Hallo! How are you guys this week? Hopefully good, great and wonderful =) 

So, Shane Morgan is the awesome lady over at Itching For Books Tours, and she's also an author!  One of her fabulous series has a promo blitz tour going on right now, and I'm very happy to be a part of it. The book today is the second in a YA series, perfect for fans of fantasy, paranormal magic, and danger.  Check it out! =D

The Unresisting #2

 Unfearing
~Released: November 30th, 2015

~Length: 272 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal


Natasha has finally learned the truth about herself, but she’s also discovered that having so much power comes with a price.

After a close encounter with dark forces, Nat decides to trust the one person Chace warned her against, traveling to a dangerous place where no Ledarian is welcomed.

Love is tested and more secrets are uncovered as Nat seeks a way to relinquish her vulnerable state and face her most powerful threat ever.

"Clean" by Mia Kerick!
*Tour Spotlight with Playlist*

 Book Tour!
*Materials & images provided by YA Bound Book Tours.

 Clean
~Released: December 1st, 2015

~Length: 242 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Dark


High school senior Lanny Keating has it all. A three-sport athlete at Lauserville High School looking at a college football scholarship, with a supportive family, stellar grades, boy band good looks… until the fateful day when it all falls apart.

Seventeen-year-old Trevor Ladd has always been a publicly declared zero and the high school badboy. Abandoned by his mother and sexually abused by his legal guardian, Trevor sets his sights on mere survival. 

Lanny seeks out Trevor’s companionship to avoid his shattered home life. Unwilling to share their personal experiences of pain, the boys explore ways to escape, leading them into sexual experimentation, and the abuse of illegal drugs and alcohol. Their mutual suffering creates a lasting bond of friendship and love. 

When the time finally comes to get clean and sober, or flunk out of high school, only one of the boys will graduate, while the other spirals downward into addiction. 

Will Lanny and Trevor find the strength to battle their demons of mind-altering substances as well as emotional vulnerability?

Clean takes the reader on a gritty trip into the real and raw world of teenage substance abuse.

Tuesday, December 15, 2015

Law and Crucible Saga, by Ioana Visan!
*Release Blitz & Giveaway*

 Law and Crucible Saga
*Materials & images provided by the author.

Hi guys! Hope you're all having a wonderful week so far.

I'm participating in a blitz today, for the Law and Crucible Saga. All three novellas/short stories were released today (December 15th, 2015). This would be a perfect series for fans of the sci-fi genre, and space operas. Check it out!

Monday, December 14, 2015

Sunset Rising Trilogy, by S.M. McEachern!
*Blitz with Guest Post & Giveaway*

 Book Blitz!
*Materials & images provided by Xpresso Book Tours.

Hey nerds! Happy Monday! =D

Are you one of those people who get bummed on Mondays? I'm not, but if you are, this Blitz may cheer you up! Feel free to check out this awesome trilogy, read a guest post from the author, and enter a giveaway!

Sunset Rising #1-3

 Sunset Rising Trilogy
~Released: December 25th, 2015

~Length: 800 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Sci-Fi, Dystopian

Limited Time Preorder price of just $4.99! Have it delivered December 25th!

Special edition of the ebook set of the Sunset Rising Trilogy, which includes: Sunset Rising, Worlds Collide, New World Order, and—available in ebook format for the first time—all seven satellite stories!

Sunset Rising: Born a slave inside a government biodome, seventeen-year-old Sunny O’Donnell becomes a pawn in a political plot that sparks a rebellion. Accused of treason and facing execution, she escapes with a man she considers an enemy and discovers she not only has to work with him to survive, but also lead the revolution.

A Readers Favorite 2015 Book Award Gold Medal winner!

Worlds Collide: Sunny and Jack must continue a life of subterfuge in order to stay alive and find a way to free the Pit. But in their attempt to save the urchins, they uncover the horrifying truth about President Holt and the evil he could unleash on the world.

New World Order: While Sunny and Jack struggle to find each other in the lawless post-apocalyptic world, tensions between the Pit and the Dome escalate. In the action-packed conclusion of the Sunset Rising Trilogy, friends will become enemies and enemies will become friends on a journey that will lead to a new world order.

Satellite Stories: For the first time in ebook format, the seven satellite stories are included with the trilogy. Find out what’s happening in the Pit between books one and two, and get a closer look at some of the other people in Sunny’s life. 

Saturday, December 12, 2015

"The Seventh Hour" by Tracey Ward!
* Blitz with Guest Post & Giveaway*

 Book Blitz!
*Materials & images provided by Xpresso Book Tours.

Happy Saturday! Hopefully you guys are reading some awesome stuff this weekend =)

I'm sharing a book with you today, that seems like quite an adventure! I'm sure any Sci-Fi fan would enjoy it. Check it out!

 The Seventh Hour
~Released: January 6th, 2016

~Length: 260 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Sci-Fi, Dystopia


When the Earth’s rotation slowed to a crawl mankind was plunged into a harsh world of burning hot days and endless, arctic nights. Some fled to the mountains for shelter. Others took to the seas, sailing forever in the perfect gold between the night and the day; a place known as the Seventh Hour.

Liv was raised aboard a ship chasing the Seventh. She’s never seen the night, never known true cold, and when a storm destroys her home she’s on land for the first time in her life. She’s alone, surrounded by strangers and perils she couldn’t have imagined in her worst nightmares. Her only chance at survival is Grayson.

He saved her. He’ll protect her. He hates her.

Old grudges run deeper than the sea, and Liv and Gray will have to overcome them together to make it to morning.

To survive the longest night.

Friday, December 11, 2015

"Just a Few Inches" by Tara St. Pierre!
*Blitz with Excerpt & Giveaway*

 Book Blitz!
*Materials & images provided by YA Bound Book Tours.

Hi guys! Happy Friday - TGIF! Just in time for the weekend, this book sounds like something a ton of people would find entertaining relatable interesting, and possibly humorous.

"Carrie Roberts wanted to lose some weight before the school dance. Instead she's losing height."

 Just a Few Inches
~Released: May 31st, 2015

~Length: 306 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Fantasy, Coming-of-Age, Romance


All Carrie Roberts wants is to be a little bit smaller.

To fit into the perfect dress for the Valentine’s Day Dance. To look beautiful for her boyfriend, the school’s star basketball player. To keep his jealous ex-girlfriend, a rival cheerleader, away from him. And to be noticed by her classmates.

Exercising and dieting don’t work, but an advertisement for weight loss pills promises a quicker solution to her problem. As time runs out, she takes more than the recommended dose until she’s just a few inches slimmer. Heads turn when she arrives at the dance, and the wonderful night with her boyfriend is beyond what she dreamed it would be.

Days later, Carrie discovers that her body is changing in ways that should be impossible. While her doctor searches for a cure, she desperately turns to her friends and family for support. Everyone is noticing her now whether she likes it or not, and even the media is intrigued by her incredible story. Getting everything she once wanted has created new problems—problems that are growing more terrifying every day.

Because Carrie Roberts is shrinking.

- - - - - 
"Just a Few Inches" is a Young Adult novel that deals with issues of body image, self-esteem, and teenage relationships. It is intended for readers age 13 and up.

Thursday, December 10, 2015

"A Million Little Snowflakes" by Logan Byrne!
*Review & Spotlight*


Happy December! =D I had to post this review for our #TBT Review! Perfect for winter, it's a YA realistic fiction, filled with angst and humor. Check it out!

~Published: September 14th, 2013

~Length: 206

~Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Realistic Fiction

Goodreads

Oliver Hurst has always been abnormally normal.

His grades are horrible, his best friend just left for Utah, and he's depressed. His overly religious parents don’t help, especially since they control every facet of his life. One stupid sentence said in desperation gets Oliver tossed in an adolescent psych ward, where his depression and fears become even more of a reality.

When Oliver meets snide, tough girl Lacey Waters he doesn't think his life could get any better, that is, until she becomes the ray of sunshine he has desperately needed on his cloudiest of days.

Wednesday, December 9, 2015

"29" by Nancy Pennick!
*Blitz & Giveaway*

 Blitz!
*Materials & images provided by YA Bound Book Tours.

Hi guys!  Happy hump day ;)

I'm stoked to be participating in this blitz!  I'm a sucker for YA books with a mysterious loner guy, and luckily, there are lots out there.  This is another one, and it looks super interesting!  I'm definitely adding this one to my list to read.  Check it out, and see what you think! 

"29 …. It’s not just a number."

~Released: November 3rd, 2015

~Length: 332 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Mystery, Romance


Allie Sanders thinks life in a small town can’t get any more dull and boring. She plans to escape after graduation. After a bad break-up, she wants to sail through junior year without distraction. Then the mysterious loner sits down in front of her in AP English. He’s the guy she noticed last year desperately trying to stay invisible. She wants to know his secrets. Suddenly her much older military brother, Doug, makes a rare appearance. He takes a special interest in her life. Suspicious of his motives Allie holds back, never really trusting him. Doug wants what she wants—the boy she has come to love. No way would she let that happen. She’d go against family and friends to protect him—and his secrets—even if it ends up breaking her heart.

Thursday, December 3, 2015

"Crimson Earth" by Anna Soliveres!
*Blitz with Excerpt & Giveaway*

Book Blitz!
*Materials & images provided by Xpresso Book Tours.

Hiya guys!  How's your week going so far?  Hopefully well =)

I'm participating in an awesome Blitz today.  It's the second book in a series, and since the first book is so awesome, I couldn't resist sharing the sequel!  Check it out!

Modi #2

 Crimson Earth
~Released: December 10th, 2015

~Length: 315 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Sci-Fi, Dystopian


Aeva Storm finally has the answers she’s been looking for since the night she was struck by lightning. She knows who she is—and more importantly, what she is. But her secret isn’t hers alone to keep, and some of those who know the truth will do anything to control her.

In the sequel to the acclaimed Violet Storm, Aeva must decide how far she’ll go to protect her identity and to find her missing sister in a world she hardly recognizes. She must embrace her new life—and her strange new body—if she hopes to save the only place she and her family have left to call home.

Filled with action, mystery, and heartbreak, Crimson Earth finds Aeva, Ruven, and Karth on opposing sides as the war between The False Alliance and the Monarchy draws near.

Can they band together to fight against the evil threatening the City? Or will they destroy each other before the war has even begun?

Tuesday, December 1, 2015

"Tarnished" by Kate Jarvik Birch!
*Tour & Giveaway*

 Book Tour!
*Materials & images provided by YA Bound Book Tours.

Hiya peeps!  Happy December!  Hopefully you're not too cold yet, but if you are, this may be a great series for you to warm up with!  Full of fantasy and dystopian adventure, it is sure to leave your imagination ringing for a while.

Reminds me a little of the Matched series, it sounds like a fun story to experience.  Plus, the covers are really cool ;)

Perfected, #2

 Tarnished
~Released: December 1st, 2015

~Publisher: Entangled Teen

~Length: 219 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Sci-Fi, Dystopian, Romance


Freedom comes at a cost...

Ella was genetically engineered to be the perfect pet—graceful, demure...and kept. In a daring move, she escaped her captivity and took refuge in Canada. But while she can think and act as she pleases, the life of a liberated pet is just as confining as the Congressman’s gilded cage. Her escape triggered a backlash, and now no one's safe, least of all the other pets. But she's trapped, unable to get back to Penn—the boy she loves—or help the girls who need her. 

Back in the United States, pets are turning up dead. With help from a very unexpected source, Ella slips deep into the dangerous black market, posing as a tarnished pet available to buy or sell. If she's lucky, she'll be able to rescue Penn and expose the truth about the breeding program. If she fails, Ella will pay not only with her life, but the lives of everyone she's tried to save...