Saturday, January 28, 2017

*Western Adventure for Kids*
"Misfortune Annie and the Locomotive Reaper" by "Gusto" Dave Jackson & Janet "The Kid" Fogg!

 Blog Tour!

Hiya guys, happy Saturday!

Today, DRR is super excited to share this new book with you! It's a western historical fiction novel, for kids! Written with middle grade and young adults in mind, this book has plenty of adventure and history to make a fun afternoon for any kid who loves to read.

Check out the author interview and some teaser info below, and be sure to let us know what you think of this novel!

Misfortune Annie and the Locomotive Reaper


Misfortune Annie and the Locomotive Reaper
~Released: October 22, 2016

~Publisher: FA LLC

~Length: 129 Pages

~Genres: Middle Grade, Young Adult, Western, Historical Fiction


When Annabelle Fortune, the fastest gunslinger in the wild west, inadvertently stops a stranger from attacking a train -- and he wears a suit that enables him to fly! -- the government believes she's the only one to have witnessed the Locomotive Reaper and survived to tell the tale.

Promising to find out what he can about her missing father, the Director of the Secret Service persuades Annie to swear in. Too soon, her detested nickname re-stakes its claim.

Partnered with Beau Slokam, whose penchant for gambling leads them straight to the Doom Gang, Misfortune Annie guides the smooth-talking Southerner in a chase through the Rockies, with her Cheyenne friend, Wontoa, rounding out their unlikely trio.

When Annie again meets the Locomotive Reaper, his gadgetry proves far more advanced -- and deadly -- than even top scientists could have imagined.

Wednesday, January 25, 2017

NA Contemporary Romance with Dream Cast & Giveaway!
"Living in the Shallows" by Tani Hanes!

 Blog Tour

Hiya guys! Happy Wednesday!

Today, DRR is excited to share a new novel, full of  sweet romance, culture, and growing up. This New Adult Contemporary Romance follows a shy young woman, who's described as "an arm’s length sort of girl, with a very long arm."

Check out the author's dream cast below to get a better feel of the characters, and be sure to enter the giveaway at the end of the post before you go!

UK Crush, #1


 Living in the Shallows

~Released: October 28th, 2016

~Length: 313 Pages

~Genres: New Adult, Contemporary Romance


Aileen Foster, a shy, 22 year old student from LA, thinks she has landed a dream job as an interpreter for some actors making a film in Japan. She gets a shock when she arrives in Tokyo and finds out that they are UK Crush, the hottest boyband around. She has been orphaned for most of her life, and it's a shock for her to enter their world of frank physicality. The boys come to love her, and Aileen is forced to look at her life and choices, and decide if she's ready to be brave and start living.

Thursday, January 19, 2017

*'Nothing is as it seems.' Dystopian Review!*
"Anomalies" by Sadie Turner & Colette Freedman!

 Book Tour

Hiya guys, happy Thursday!

DRR has an awesome book to share with you today! It's only a little less than a year old, but seems to be making a splash so far! It's got just about everything a book lover needs - dystopian future with details, sci-fi elements, paranormal fantasy, and twists of steampunk funk for color!

Personally, I had a lot of fun with this book. Part of it could be the fact it was my first audio-book of this kind (the masterpiece theatre version of the entire Narnia series doesn't really count...that's an epic beast all on it's own). I thoroughly enjoyed the experience though, and hope to get more into audio-books in the future, thanks to this review opportunity.

Anywho, back to the story that started all that - Anomalies! Presented by a couple of gals who write for Hollywood and the grand stage (the theater), this book is sure to entertain you. See what you think, and be sure to let me know if this is going on your reading list, in the comments below! =D


 Anomalies
~Released: February 9th, 2016

~Length: 336 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Dystopian, Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Paranormal, Steampunk


In the future there is no disease. There is no war. There is no discontent. All citizens are complacent members of the Global Governance. But one summer is about to change everything.

Keeva Tee just turned fifteen. All of her dreams are about to come true. She’s about to make the trip to Monarch Camp to be imprinted with her intended life partner. One day they’ll have perfect kids and a perfect life. But in her happy, carefree life in the Ocean Community, something weighs on her mind. She hears whispers about “anomalies”—citizens who can’t be imprinted. No one knows what happens to them, but they never seem to come back.

When Keeva arrives at Monarch Camp, her worst nightmare becomes a reality—she is an anomaly. After they are imprinted, the people she loves begin to change, and she starts to doubt everything she’s ever believed. What if freedom and individuality have been sacrificed for security? And what if the man who solves all the problems is the very man who’s created them—and what if he isn't a man at all?

When Keeva finds a warning carved under a bunk bed she begins to understand: Nonconformity will be punished, dissent is not an option, insurgents will be destroyed.

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

YA Paranormal Adventure!
*Review*

Hiya guys! Been a while since I've done a simple review post, and it's quite refreshing!

As you may or may not know, one of my goals this year is to read a book a week, and get myself back into the habit of reading. Part of that means I am hoping to have a review a week to post here!

Anyway, the book I read last week was one I've been wanting to read for a couple of years, and I love the cover! I just wish I would have enjoyed it as much as I enjoy the cover. =/

 The Mind Readers
~Released: December 7th, 2010

~Length: 238 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Fantasy, Supernatural, Romance


Cameron Winters is a freak. Fortunately, no one but her family knows the truth …that Cameron can read minds. For years Cameron has hidden behind a facade of normalcy, warned that there are those who would do her harm. When gorgeous and mysterious Lewis Douglas arrives he destroys everything Cameron has ever believed and tempts her with possibilities of freedom. Determined to embrace her hidden talents, Cameron heads to a secret haven with Lewis; a place where she meets others like her, Mind Readers.

But as Cameron soon finds out some things are too good to be true. When the Mind Readers realize the extent of Cameron’s abilities, they want to use her powers for their own needs. Cameron suddenly finds herself involved in a war in which her idea of what is right and wrong is greatly tested. In the end she’ll be forced to make a choice that will not only threaten her relationship with Lewis, but her very life.


Check out my review below! 


Friday, January 6, 2017

New Year...Now What?

Hiya guys! Hope your year is starting out well. Can you believe it's 2017? Most people simply seem to be glad 2016 is over, but it wasn't bad for me. So really, this year will be a regular year, no special "we made it" feeling.


I've spent the past week pondering this year, and last. It's a ritual I do each time a new year begins - I analyze where I'm at now, versus where I was the previous year, five years, ten years, etc. It helps me grow, and figure out where I'm going from here.


Each year, it seems as though I get further from achieving goals I set, and yet, I set more goals. It's all part of the process of life, I suppose, but it's sometimes frustrating this time of year, with so many people talking about goal setting and resolutions.


This year, though, I'm going to do something different. I'm not going to make a resolution list, because really, I never stick to them. I want to, but it never happens. Best laid plans, and all that.

What I will do, though, is admit to some goals I am going to put more effort into making happen, while also admitting they may not, and that's alright.


So, this is my "I'm working on it" list for 2017, as it pertains to the book world, and this blog.

1) I miss reading. I want to read more. In years when my reading game is strong, I've read in excess of 500 books. When it's a poor reading year, I'm lucky to read one. Since I have no idea of whether this year will allow much spare time for reading, I'm going to set what seems to be a realistic idea for a goal. One book a week, with an overall hope of reading 50 books this year. Fingers crossed!


2) Starting up my YouTube channel for this blog.


3) Get back into blogging more, and get better at it. I've already committed to this blog again, and decided to stick with it. That being decided, I need to work on some things to make it pop. Going to be working on that.


4) Connect with more readers. I used to have a good set of bookish friends. Granted, Shelfari going down early last year is a major part of those connections dwindling, but still. Not a good enough reason. I want to make more connections again, and be more active in the book community in general.


Four areas to work on, and each seems realistic. We'll see how it goes!


What are some of the goals you have for this year? Are you setting any resolutions? Let me know in the comments below!

Thanks for visiting! =D


Tuesday, January 3, 2017

*New Contemporary Fiction*
"Apocalypse All The Time" by David S. Atkinson!

 Book Tour!
Hiya guys! Welcome to 2017! We made it through another year of "the world will end this year!" predictions!

In fitting fashion, DRR is amused to share a brand new Contemporary novel! This humorous exploration of humanity's fascination with the end times, and what impact such a fascination has on the way we live our lives, is one we enjoyed.

Check it out, and learn more about the author in an interview, after you watch the book trailer! =D


Apocalypse All The Time


 Apocalypse All The Time
~Released: January 1st, 2017

~Length: 159 Pages

~Genres: Contemporary, Literary Fiction


Doesn’t it seem as if someone issues a new apocalypse prediction every week? Y2K? The Mayan apocalypse? The Rapture? Doesn’t it seem endless? As opposed to the traditional trend of post-apocalyptic literature, Apocalypse All the Time is post-post-apocalypticism.

Marshall is sick of the apocalypse happening on a weekly (if not daily) basis. Life is constantly in peril, continually disrupted, but nothing significant ever happens. The emergency is always handled. Always. Marshall wants out; he wants it all to stop . . . one way or another. Even if he has to end the world himself.

Apocalypse All the Time explores humanity’s fascination with the end times and what impact such a fascination has on the way we live our lives.