Tuesday, February 28, 2017

"The Secret Billionaire" by Teymour Shahabi!

 Book Tour

Hiya guys! DRR has an interesting novel to share with you today!

Set in the '60s, this Young Adult Mystery explores a young billionaire in London. Doesn't that sound interesting?

Check out the author's inspiration for writing the novel, and be sure the enter the giveaway at the end of the post!

The Secret Billionaire

 The Secret Billionaire
~Released: September  29th, 2016

~Genres: Young Adult, Mystery


1960s — March 24. Billionaire Lyndon Surway takes off in his private plane and never returns.  His will leaves the entirety of his wealth—one of the largest fortunes in history—to his “ dear friend Lucian Baker.”  Only there is no trace of anyone by that name. And the fortune itself is nowhere to be found. Andrew Day knows nothing of wealth and privilege, but he won a scholarship to study at the most exclusive school in the country, in the town where the mystery, decades later, remains unsolved. There he discovers friendship and danger with the aristocratic Cameron and the beautiful Olivia. But watchful eyes follow him everywhere... Until, one night, he comes across a secret that will change his life. As he begins to unravel what really happened to the Surway fortune, the question remains: who is Lucian Baker?

Sunday, February 26, 2017

*Review*
"Elemental Secrets" by Elle Middaugh!

Hiya! DRR has a new review to share with you guys today. We were intrigued by the cover and synopsis for this young adult fantasy novel, and hope you guys like it as well!

Elemental Secrets

(The Essential Elements #1)


 Elemental Secrets
~Released: Feb 27th, 2016

~Length: 368 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy


With her mother long deceased and her father recently deployed, Valerie Moore is sent to live with her eccentric aunt in a tiny town nestled in the mountains of Pennsylvania. Being a Navy brat has made her into a bit of a loner, and making friends isn’t high on her list. 

Time with her aunt, however, soon convinces her that a life of loneliness really isn’t what she wants. So, she opens up and makes a few friends - friends with secrets. 

Her love life quickly becomes a mess. Torn between the conflicted heartbreaker next door, the persistent jock at the top, and the rugged college bad boy, Valerie finds it almost impossible to choose just one guy. 

Romance isn’t her only problem, though. 

Secrets are revealed about her family, her friends and relationships, and her whole world… 

But the biggest secret of all is unveiled when Valerie discovers she has Elemental powers, unleashing a rapid chain of irreversible events.

Friday, February 24, 2017

Awesome Adventure Series, featuring ECHO Campaign!

 Book Tour

Hiya guys! TGIF! =D

Dudes, this series is so awesome! DRR is excited to share it with you, and we know you'll love it! Danger, mystery, adventure, love and loss fill the pages of the first two books in this series, and we had such a hard time putting them down!

We were honored to have the chance to read and review these books, and are excited to share them with you!


ECHO Campaign 

(Isolation #2)

 ECHO Campaign
~Publisher: Limitless Publishing

~Released: November 1st 2016

~Genres: Post-Apocalyptic, Science Fiction, Young Adult


Brooklyn Harper’s worst nightmare has become her reality. She has been captured by Isolation…

Trapped in a white-walled labyrinth by Juneau Malloy, Brooklyn is faced with the horrors of Isolation’s finest training yet. The skills she learned as an Omen Operative in Camp Number Eleven are put to the test in the form of brutal assessments of her strength, skills, and fortitude. Confused and disheartened, Brooklyn and the group of renegade Omens prepare for whatever trials Isolation has in store for them.

Juneau has caged her once again, but Brooklyn is far from broken…

When Brooklyn finds out her best friend Gabriel is alive, she goes on a violent rampage in search of her, but instead earns herself a stint in solitary confinement. Juneau attempts to tame Brooklyn through grueling exercises before offering her one radical choice. Brooklyn must hand over her freedom in order to spare her friends. She’ll become a showpiece Juneau will auction off to the highest bidder for her skills in assassination, defense, and combat.

There must be a way out, and the renegade Omens have to find it…

Brooklyn has no intention of becoming Juneau’s latest achievement. During a mind-warping training simulation, Brooklyn uncovers Isolation’s greatest secret and their darkest mistake. Juneau Malloy has created something far more sinister than the Omens, and it’s ready to eat the world alive.

As the battle with Isolation intensifies, Brooklyn is faced with her most dangerous choice yet…

Save her friends—or save humanity.

Thursday, February 23, 2017

"College Life 101: Freshman Orientation" by J.B. Vample!

 Book Tour

Hiya guys! DRR has a fun book to share with you guys, full of character!

Check it out, and see the author's ideas on her dream cast for this book. Also, be sure to enter the giveaway at the end of the post!

College Life 101:

Freshman Orientation

 College Life 101
~Released: December 19th, 2015

~Length: 334 Pages

~Genres: New Adult, Contemporary

Goodreads
Amazon
Barnes&Noble

Leaving home for the first time to attend college is stressful enough. But when the roommate lottery of Paradise Valley University strikes, it produces couples who have absolutely nothing in common; causing personality clashes which takes the stress to a whole new level. Dismay hits Sidra Howard, the prim and proper princess, when she contemplates spending an entire semester with Chasity Parker, the troubled beauty with a sharp tongue and even sharper claws. Malajia Simmons, a boy crazed, attention seeking diva, is no happier. Not only does she get stuck with the upper bunk bed, she has to share a triple room with Alexandra Chisolm, a nosey and overbearing, self proclaimed “know-it-all”. But even the meddling Alexandra isn’t as bad as Emily Harris, the shy, mommy’s girl with a non-existent backbone. 

Coming to college to escape her home life, Chasity hopes to get through the semester without any problems. Her hopes are tainted once she begins to have to resist the advances of a determined football star, on top of dealing with family drama which seems to have followed her. Alexandra’s need to fix everyone’s problems not only rubs her roommates the wrong way, it also causes her to fall blind to the problems brewing with the boyfriend that she left behind. Eventually she’ll be forced to face the issues head on. Emily’s refusal to come out of her shell is too much to handle for party girl Malajia, whose main purpose is to have fun and be seen. The same doesn’t apply to Sidra, who’s more concerned with trying to keep her over-the-top stress level under control. 

These five young women try to handle family drama, pressure, and conflicts; all while trying to maintain their grades. They quickly learn that college life isn’t what they expected and must adapt to their new environment if they ever hope to make it through their first semester.

Tuesday, February 21, 2017

"Legacy of the Mind" by H.R. Moore!


Hiya guys! DRR has an awesome paranormal adventure to share with you today! This book is right up our alley, and will hopefully be a new favorite for you!

Check it out, and learn more about the author with her Top 10 favorites list! Be sure to enter the giveaway at the end of the post, and let us know what you think of this novel!


 Legacy of the Mind
~Released: January 26th, 2014

~Length: 262 Length


Anita has never been ordinary, she’s stuck out like a sore thumb her entire life; not only can she see the energy of others, a rare skill, but she’s won every Body challenge she’s ever entered. So when the powerful, good looking Descendants, Marcus and Alexander, mysteriously arrive in Empire, her difference attracts and keeps their attention.

Once in Empire, the sudden death of ruling Body Descendant, Christiana, sets in motion a number of events; a quest for the treacherous Austin to find the girl Christiana had been looking for; a challenge where Anita stands out more vibrantly than ever before; a perilous dip in the world’s energy; and a dangerous belief among the people that they will never truly be free. Powerful factions soon form within the ruling elite and when a trusted friend and mentor reaches out to ask for Anita’s help, she has to make a choice; help her friend and betray the one she loves, or do nothing and watch the people starve. 

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

New Anthology! "A Pizza My Heart" with Playlist & Giveaway!

 Blog Tour

Hiya guys! DRR is excited to bring you this new anthology, full of humor, danger, and pizza!

Check out the authors below, and a couple of their #playlists they were awesome enough to share with us! Also, be sure to enter the #giveaway at the end of the post as well! =D

A Pizza My Heart

An Anthology

 A Pizza My Heart
~Released: February 9th, 2017

~Edited By: Jolene Haley

~Cover Designer: Haley Crosby

~Publisher: Hocus Pocus & Co.

~Genres: Contemporary, Humor

Join the book buzz using hashtag #PizzathologyBlog 

Amazon

Gooey cheese and warm pepperoni, with a side of kissing and murder.

A Pizza My Heart is a quirky and fun anthology that crosses all genres. Fifteen extraordinary authors have united to tell stories of mystery, mayhem, romance, danger, deceit…and pizza.

Sometimes spicy, sometimes cheesy, but always delicious, A Pizza My Heart invites you to explore life, happiness, and the pursuit of pizza.

Stories Include:

A Slice of Adventure by Maria Carvalho
Between Slices by Andy Grieser
Fresh, Hot, and Deadly by Rena Olsen 
KissingDancingPizzaMURDER by Darci Cole 
Kneadful Things by Jenna Lehne 
Love Pizza No. 9 by Vanessa Rodriguez
Madame Miraval’s Pizza Place by Kelly deVos
Password Is… by Jolene Haley
Pizza On the Brain by Emily Simon
Pizza Buddy by Brian LeTendre
Pizzamergency by Brett Jonas
Survival Pizza by Rebecca Waddell 
The Last Stop at the End of the World by Jamie Adams
The Pizza Guy by Jessi Shakarian
Where There’s Pizza by Jasmine Brown

Friday, February 10, 2017

*Paranormal Fantasy & Giveaway*
"Third Chronicles of Illumination" by C.A. Pack!

 Book Tour!

Hiya guys! DRR has a Young Adult Paranormal Fantasy for you today! It was just released, and is part of an exciting story!

Check it out, and be sure to enter the #giveaway at the end of the blog!

Third Chroniclesof Illumination

 Third Chronicles of Illumination
~Released: February 7th, 2017

~PublisherArtiqua Press 

~Length: 249 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Fantasy 


Oh, no! Johanna Charette and Jackson Roth have allowed a sneaky shapeshifter to slip right through their fingers. The good news is that he’s now trapped between the layers of time and space with their Terrorian nemesis, Nero 51. The bad news is the Terrorian wants to control all the Libraries of Illumination, while the shapeshifter wants to control everything else. Who knows how long the Illumini system will remain safe? It’s taking a toll on Johanna and Jackson, who are smack in the center of everything as they struggle to protect the libraries’ legacy. Can you spell s-t-r-e-s-s? The pressure is driving a stake between the teens, and their mercurial romance could be over before it has truly begun.


Second Chroniclesof Illumination

 Second Chronicles of Illumination
~Released: June 30th, 2015

~Length: 480 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Fantasy


When an alien invasion threatens the existence of all the knowledge in the universe, eighteen-year-old Johanna Charette and seventeen-year-old Jackson Roth must rely on their wits, guts, and pluck to save the fantasy-come-to-life world of the Library of Illumination.

It wouldn’t be so bad—all right, it is bad but it would hurt less—if Johanna and Jackson weren’t the ones responsible for breaching the portals to a dozen distant worlds. Now, outside forces are causing shock waves in the space-time continuum, and if that isn’t awful enough, someone from another dimension is trying to steal a book of powerful spells created by a very famous wizard.

At first, traveling to other realms in a time machine seems like a fun perk. However, discovering some inhabitants want to obliterate the teens doesn’t leave them with a warm, fuzzy feeling. Instead, they find themselves forced to sacrifice their own welfare and the safety of their loved ones for the greater good.


**Chronicles: The Library of Illumination is the first book which is a compilation of short novellas and novelettes that aren't necessary to read before starting the rest of the series.


 C.A. Pack
C.A. Pack is the author of the Library of Illumination series of YA paranormal fantasy novelettes, along with Chronicles: The Library of Illumination (2014), The Second Chronicles of Illumination (2015) and The Third Chronicles of Illumination (2017). Pack also writes for a general audience. Her first novel, Code Name: Evangeline—is an historical spy thriller which takes place in the 1930's. The author followed it up with Evangeline's Ghost—a fantasy about the death of that same spy. She recently completed work on Evangeline's Ghost: Houdini, and is currently working on Evangeline's Ghost: The Bridge.

Pack is an award winning journalist from New York who worked as an anchor/reporter and educator (she considers herself the fairy-godmother of television news reporters)—and has written for WNBC, LI News Tonight and News 12 Long Island. She also worked on PBS documentaries, radio and television commercials and created and produced a pilot for a news show focusing solely on marriage and wedding trends. She's a past president of the Press Club of Long Island and a proud member of International Thriller Writers and Sisters in Crime. Pack has been a speaker or panelist for organizations such as Women in Communications, Fair Media Council, and the Society of Professional Journalists. 

The author lives with her husband and two picky parrots “ on”  Long Island, New York.



Why Fiction Is More Fun


By C.A. Pack

Before I wrote the Third Chronicles of Illumination, which is part of my Library of Illumination series, I wrote news for TV. Newswriting a very black and white form of writing. I had only from thirty to ninety-seconds to tell a story with a beginning, a middle, and an end. There wasn’t a lot of wiggle room for embellishment. I had to learn to be concise and careful. One wrong word could give viewers the wrong idea about what had happened, and nearly everything I didn’t see with my own eyes or know beyond a shadow-of-a-doubt to be true, had to be attributed to its source.

While it’s true that twenty different reporters could tell the same story in twenty different ways, most of the content would be similar. The differences would depend on what individual writers choose to include, and what they leave out due to time constraints. But after a while, news stories all start to sound the same, at least to me.

Then I started fooling around with fiction in my spare time as a joke. A friend and I began writing a cozy mystery, with every subsequent line either utterly droll or completely outrageous. After a few pages, my friend stopped. It had been fun for a while, but not anymore—at least for him. I, on the other hand, loved it. I loved the freedom of writing whatever I felt like and not needing video to match my copy. I loved putting words in peoples’ mouths without having to double check the veracity of what they said. Goodbye left side of the brain; hello right side.

Writing fiction is emancipating. But that’s not to say it’s easy.

I learned that writing fiction has rules, and I was told I had to know what those rules are before I could break any of them. Writing fiction requires knowledge of spelling and grammar. I used to write for TV. Viewers never knew if the words were spelled correctly or if the punctuation was accurate. I used ellipses where I wanted pauses because they were easier to see than a comma on a teleprompter. I double spaced between sentences. There were no compound-complex sentences because viewers understood stories more easily if the sentences were short and simple. I used to edit other writers’ stories for TV. Now, I need an editor of my own to correct my fiction manuscripts.

I’m not complaining. I love what I do. I’ve always had a vivid imagination, and I enjoy using it to create stories. Even research is fun. I enjoy learning the basic facts about a location, or how a piece of equipment functions, before I twist those facts to suit my needs. It’s always nice to base fiction on fact to make it a little more believable.

Then there’s world-building. Originally, all the action in the Library of Illumination happened on one world: Earth. But when I started writing the fifth adventure in the series, I had my protagonists discover a portal in the library that connected to twelve other worlds. That’s a lot of different cultures, and character descriptions, and vocabulary to create. Each world needs its own voice and flavor. I’m not limited by the facts, but I do find it impossible to write about all twelve realms at once. I think right now, I’m juggling eight of them. I’ll save the other four for the next book. It’s like having friends. You may have dozens of friends, but there are a few who are really close and always around, some who you hang around with—even if they’re not besties, and acquaintances on the periphery that you don’t mind spending time with, but you may not see that often. When I run out of intrigue on one world, there’s always another one to take its place.

The beauty of fiction is the writer gets to call the shots. If I’ve invested in a character and I find I’ve lost interest in him, you’ll know it when he opens a door into a room that’s booby-trapped with a bomb. BOOM. You may think you hardly got the chance to know him, alas, I knew him all-to-well, and he became expendable. Besides controlling characters, I can make the weather dictate events. I can write famous people into scenes. My protagonists can do anything or go anywhere. The world is their oyster, so to speak (even though I hate oysters). Anyway, that’s why I love fiction more than fact.

I find it really rewarding. It’s not the same old newsy bank robbery, or fatal fire, or brutal murder, with all the facts dictated by the authorities in charge. It’s my story with all the details dictated by me, and maybe it’s a god complex, but being in control is a whole lot of fun.


 Giveaway!


Thanks for stopping by! =D


Wednesday, February 8, 2017

*Paranormal Fantasy & Giveaway*
"Memortality" by Stephen H. Provost!

 Book Blitz!

Hiya guys! DRR here with a brand new Paranormal Fantasy for New Adult fans!

Anyone who's lost someone they love has fantasized of bringing them back, right? Well, this chick can! Lucky duck. 

Or is she?

Check out the #excerpt and #booktrailer below, and see what you think! Also, be sure to enter the #giveaway at the end of the post! =D

Memortality

 Memortality
~Released: February 1st, 2017

~Genres: Fantasy, New Adult, Paranormal


Minerva Rus can raise the dead. And it might get her killed.

Minerva’s life has never been the same since the childhood car accident that paralyzed her and killed her best friend, Raven. But when the long-dead Raven reappears in her life, now as a very attractive grown man, she discovers that her photographic memory has the power to bring the dead back to life … heal her paralysis … and shape reality itself.

Pursued by a rogue government agent who wants to eliminate her and her talents, Minerva must learn to control her powers to save herself and Raven. Because if she dies, he dies as well―again.

Monday, February 6, 2017

Urban Fantasy, Dystopian & Paranormal Romance Giveaway Party!!

Welcome to the PNR, Urban Fantasy & Dystopian Party!

This giveaway is brought to you by 22 fabulous Urban Fantasy, Paranormal Romance, and Dystopian authors!

In this giveaway, EVERYONE who enters will win TWENTY-TWO FREE – EXCLUSIVE – ebooks by the sponsoring authors (to be delivered at the conclusion of the giveaway), and one GRAND PRIZE winner will also receive a $1000 Amazon Gift Card!

The Winner will be announced on April 1st at our Facebook Event. The winner will also receive an email directly.

There will ALSO be other prizes and giveaways happening at that event between now and our Grand Prize announcement! So make sure you mark yourself as attending so you don’t miss those great opportunities to win more prizes and snag more freebies!