Friday, November 17, 2017

"Wolves and Roses" Audiobook Review!

 Audiobook Tour

Hiya peeps! I have an audiobook review for a book I read and reviewed last week. Check it out, because this book, in any format, rocks!

Be sure to enter the giveaway below for the chance to win a beautiful treasure box!

Thursday, November 16, 2017

2 Self-Help Books for Christians

Hiya peeps! I have some different kind of books for you today, that seem fitting for the upcoming season. I am a Christian, and although I rarely read self-help books (other than the Bible, haha), I thought it may be helpful to share these today. Who knows, they may help someone! Check out Why Many Christians Will Miss Heaven and Biblical Steps To Dealing With The Jilt of Your Lover.

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

Review for A Travelogue of Vietnam!

Hiya peeps! I've got an interesting new release for you today. I don't generally review memoirs, however this one caught my interest. I think it's one you'll enjoy, so check out my review, and be sure to add it to your reading lists!

Rain Falling on Tamarind Trees: A Travelogue of Vietnam


 Rain Falling on Tamarind Trees
~AuthorC.L. Hoang

~ReleasedNovember 18th 2017

~Length: 132 Pages

~GenresTravelogue, Memoir


Have you ever wondered what Vietnam is like some forty years after the war has ended? Then come along with the author as he returns to visit his ancestral homeland for the first time after a decades-long absence.

Retrace his steps with him around his former hometown of Saigon in the south, and then follow him along on an itinerary of discovery to other unique destinations throughout the country: Hoi-An, the best-preserved medieval seaport in Southeast Asia; Hue, the ancient capital of imperial Vietnam, on the central coast; Halong Bay, a world-renowned natural wonder; and Hanoi, the country’s thousand-year-old capital, in the north.

Filled with historical and cultural tidbits and personal reminiscences, and illustrated with over forty photographs, "Rain Falling on Tamarind Trees" offers the reader an insightful and fascinating glimpse of this tropical land.

"Somebody to Love" by Patricia Wilton!

 Audiobook Tour

Hiya peeps! I'm excited to share the sequel to the book I reviewed last week! This series is awesome, and perfect for this time of year! Check out the first book, and then the second book before you enter the giveaway at the end of the post!

Tuesday, November 14, 2017

"Asher Black"

 Book Tour

Hiya peeps! I've got an adult romance adventure for you today, full of danger and mystery. Check it out, along with an interview, and giveaway!

Monday, November 13, 2017

"I Was An Evil Teenager" by Anthony Avina!

Hiya peeps! I've got a horror/thriller/suspense/wtf book to share with you today, sure to give you some chills, and possibly some nightmares. Check it out, and let me know what you think of it in the comments below!

I Was An Evil Teenager: Remastered

 I Was An Evil Teenager: Remastered
~Author: Anthony Avina

~Released: October 20th, 2017

~Length: 274 Pages

~Genres: Horror, Thriller, Suspense


Killer. Zombie. Demon.

Evil comes in many forms, and Lisa Etron embodies them all in I Was An Evil Teenager, the three novella series that explores evil and the ways in which it appears. Author Anthony Avina brings a unique look at the work of Lisa Etron, a seemingly normal teenage girl who harbors a dark secret that threatens to tear apart not only those closest to her, but an entire town as well.

Lisa Etron is the girl next door. Lisa Etron is the most beautiful and popular girl in her school. Lisa Etron is the girl of Dave Trent's dreams. Lisa Etron is a demented killer, hellbent on chaos and murder, and she's willing to do whatever it takes to achieve those two goals. While a seasoned detective works to solve the mystery of a series of brutal murders, Lisa plans a deadly killing spree that threatens to destroy those who have made the mistake of loving her.

This remastered edition of the book updates the story and brings a deep dive into the battle between good and evil. Showing the lengths in which evil is willing to go to to tear people down, and the way in which people use hope and love to overcome that evil, this novel features the combined novellas of I Was A Teenage Killer, I Was A Teenage Zombie and I Was A Teenage Demon.

A twisted horror saga like no other, this series follows one group of people who must survive the twisted mind of a killer who refuses to go away and let them live happy lives. In this one of a kind novel, discover whether or not evil ever truly dies...

Friday, November 10, 2017

"A Heavenly Christmas" by Patricia Wilton!

Audiobook Tour

Hiya peeps! I've got a new audiobook review for  you today, perfect for the upcoming Christmas season! Yes, I am one of those Christmas-starts-Nov-first kinda gals. Actually, I start my holiday celebrating when October hits!

If you're looking for a good series for next month, be sure to check this one out! My review for book two is happening next Wednesday, so be sure to check this one out real quick, see an interview with the author, and enter the giveaway at the end of the post!

Thursday, November 9, 2017

"Element Punk, Vol. 1" by Nicholas Murray!

Hiya peeps! I have a review to share today, although it's not one I'm too happy about sharing. But, I do post all my reviews here, good and bad, so share I shall.

The book submitted was one that sounded interesting, but simply wasn't finished, or ready for public consumption. As it is out in the public though, and a review was requested, I have that below. If you don't enjoy low-rating reviews, I'll have more reviews coming soon, for novels I enjoyed quite a bit more.

Wednesday, November 8, 2017

"Wolves & Roses" by Christina Bauer!
Review!

 Blog Tour

Hiya peeps! I've got an exciting review for you today, and I'm sure you'll love it! A wonderful spin on the Grimm Brothers/Disney characters - specifically, the Sleeping Beauty story.

Thursday, November 2, 2017

"Of Flesh and Fire" by Tuesday Cross!

Hiya peeps! I've got a brand new review for you guys today! Filled with magic, vampires, werewolves, and dragons, this book took me on a fantastic adventure.

Check it out below, and be sure to leave a comment before you go! =D

Sunday, October 29, 2017

"The Rogue Mountain" by Joshua Tarquinio!

Hiya peeps! I have a new review for you guys today! This book is perfect for Halloween, so I rushed to get this one up, in case you want to pick it up for thriller season! =D

Check it out below, and be sure to let me know if you're as into Halloween books as I am. ;)

Friday, October 27, 2017

Time Travel Romance!
"West" by Lizzy Ford!

Audio Book Tour

Hiya peeps! I've got an new audiobook review for you today, full of old-time western action, historical challenges, and a dangerous romance. Check it out, and be sure to leave a comment before you go! =D

Tuesday, October 24, 2017

"Fate: The Psychiatrist" by John Giles!

Hiya peeps! I've got a psychological thriller today - not for the faint of heart. Check out my review, and be sure to leave a comment below before you go! =D

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Guest Post: Do you Know About Noblebright Fantasy?

Heroes and Swords: A Noblebright Fantasy Collection

Saturday, October 14, 2017

Author Spotlight: Lisa Stewart

Hiya peeps! Today I'm featuring an awesome author, because it's one of the things I love to do. Since I'm in a transition to get this blog back to only reviews though, I'm simply going to link my full post on my book blog here.

Check out Lisa Stewart, and her three new releases:

"Soup Is The New Coffee"
"Being Fil's Sister"
"Knitting Haggis"



Thursday, October 12, 2017

"Premonition" by Leigh Walker!

 Blog Tour

Hiya peeps! Check out this young adult paranormal adventure! I had quite a bit of fun with it - check out my review, the author's playlist, and be sure to enter the giveaway below!

Friday, October 6, 2017

The Witches of Auburn: The Gifts of Our Mothers

 Blog Tour

Hiya peeps! I've got a new release for you today, along with two giveaways! Check out my review below the book & author info, and enter for your chance to win some awesome prizes!

The Gifts of Our Mothers 

(The Witches of Auburn, #1) 

 Gifts of our Mothers
~Released: October 2nd, 2017

~Publisher: Brunswick House

~Length: 423 Pages

~Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult, Romance


*The next two installments of The Witches of Auburn are releasing the same day!

In the dark woods I’m forbidden to go into, lying on top of the one person I swore I’d stay away from, and hiding from the men who chased him, I hold still as Ike Kennedy whispers in my ear, “Don’t leave me.”

The questions of why my mother packed up our lives and moved us to Auburn, New Jersey when she, herself, fled here twenty years ago, plague me every day. Her past and the people in this town loom over our family with a haunting understanding of the coven I was born into, but realize I know nothing about. The enemies I heard stories about as a child attack without warning or regard for human life, but I don’t know who they are.

I’m Ever Ayars. I can fly. I can disappear. I can move things with my mind, but my gifts are my only clarity. Lost within a new school, new friends, and a new life, there is only one thing I know for sure.

I’m not leaving Ike Kennedy.


Thursday, September 21, 2017

"I Stole His Car" by Jessica Frances!


Hiya peeps! I'm super excited to share a new release with you today. I absolutely loved Jessica's Taken trilogy, and this new series sounds awesome! Check it out, and be sure to enter the giveaway at the end of the post!

I Stole His Car

(Love at First Crime, #1)

 I Stole His Car
~Published: September 19th 2017

~Genres: Adult, Romance, Suspense



She stole his car, so he stole her heart…

I saw something I never should have seen.
I took something they wanted back.
I was desperate.
Alone.
Hunted.
So, I did something I never would have normally done.
I stole a car.
Not just any car.
His car.
Now I have no choice but to trust him.
Only he can help me get out of this mess.
Then, when we both become hunted,
And when feelings begin to complicate things,
Can I still count on his protection?
Can I trust what is happening between us to be real?
Because, as some people say: there is nothing quite like love at first … crime.

Friday, September 15, 2017

"Ann, Not Annie" by Sage Steadman!

 Book Tour

Hiya peeps! Check out my review for this new release, and be sure to enter the giveaway at the end of the post!

Ann, Not Annie


 Anne Not Annie
~Published: September 20th, 2017

~Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult

On sale for $1.99 until release day!

Ann, not Annie, is tired of her nominal existence and has vowed to turn things around by dating the hottest guy in school, Jacob Waters. Easier said than done since Jacob isn’t even aware she exists. The truth is, due to Ann’s lively temper she spends more time in detention with the rest of the school rejects than she does fantasizing about Jacob Waters wearing spandex.

Her best friend and devout alien believer, Lisa, doesn’t like the changes she’s seeing in her BFF. Neither does Danny Feller, a fellow detention inmate and resident lost boy who has started keeping an extra watchful and unwanted eye on Ann.

When a chance encounter in an empty hallway changes everything, Ann finds all her dreams coming true and she is well on her way to living the perfect life she’s always wanted. But appearances aren’t always what they seem and Ann is going to have to face not just cold hard facts, but also her past.

Tuesday, September 12, 2017

"Touch of Fondness" Audiobook Review!

 Book Tour

Hiya peeps! I've got a new audiobook to share with you today. It's a new adult contemporary romance, and hopefully you'll enjoy it. Not too steamy, check out the excerpt and my review, before you enter the giveaway for a chance to win a $10 gift card!

Touch of Fondness

(Stay In Touch Series, #1)

 Touch of Fondness
~Author: Joy Penny

~Narrator: Susan Marlowe

~Publisher: Snowy Wings Publishing

~Released: July 12, 2017

~Length: 8 hours 17 minutes / 299 Pages

~Genres: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance


Four friends. Four college grads. Four people figuring out that life doesn't always turn out the way you expected.

Brielle Reyes may not have post-college life planned out like some of her friends do, but she figures she'll work for her mother's home cleaning service while job hunting for something that makes use of her history and philosophy degrees. It'll work out as long as she doesn't fall in love. Her last relationship was a disaster and she has no idea where she'll be in a few weeks, let alone the rest of her life. Since the only guy in her age range she sees now on a regular basis is cantankerous if handsome client Archer Ward, she probably won't have a hard time sticking to that vow. Probably.

Archer Ward likes very few things: illustrating as a somewhat-celebrated comic artist and his privacy. When his meddling mother hires him a cleaning service on an almost daily basis because she doesn't fully trust her son to live on his own with his disability, he's at first annoyed - even if his house cleaner is the most beautiful woman he's ever spent more than a few minutes with. When he realizes her dreams may take her far outside of his restricted orbit, he has to decide whether to stifle his interest in her or risk messing up her plans to explore if there's something more between them.

Neither can deny they're growing a little fond of each other, even if falling in love just now makes no sense whatsoever. But how often does love ever make perfect sense?

Monday, September 11, 2017

"Anticipation" by S.D. Thomas!


 Anticipation Blog Tour

Hiya peeps! I'm super excited to share a brand new release with you today. Anticipation is a young adult christian contemporary romance - how awesome is that!? I'm so excited to see more of this genre hitting the shelves, and am so happy to help share and promote this one! It sounds super sweet, so be sure to check it out, see the author's playlist and dream cast, and enter the giveaway at the end of the post!

Anticipation

 Anticipation
~Released: July 2017

~Publisher: Bookerfly Press

~Length: 245 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Christian, Contemporary, Romance


Cassie Smith wasn't expecting to fall in love with her best friend, Mark Santos, or the emotional turmoil she encounters in the relationship. But, this newfound love has her questioning the only commitments she's ever made: to God and to leaving her hometown. Will she change her mind and stay with Mark? Or will she risk everything she's ever known and loved to continue with her original plan?  

Thursday, September 7, 2017

"The Supernatural Pet Sitter" by Diane Moat!

*Be sure to check out this post on my new book blog!

 Book Tour

Hiya peeps! Today is a new audiobook release perfect for the fall season! A middle-grade fantasy fitting for the modern time. Check out the audio excerpt and my review below, before you enter the giveaway at the end of the post! =D

The Supernatural Pet Sitter

(The Magic Thief, #1)


 The Supernatural Pet Sitter
~Author: Diane Moat

~Narrator: Barbara Goldie

~Released: August 3, 2017

~Length: 4 hours 3 minutes / 140 Pages

~Genre: Middle-Grade Fantasy


Every animal can talk to you. You just have to know how to listen.

Pepper Neely is better at this than most, especially because she is in charge of pet sitting all the familiars in her neighborhood. A familiar is a pet magically linked to a witch or warlock. As a gnome, Pepper is no stranger to spells and sorcery. She also knows that, despite their special name, familiars aren’t all that different from regular animals. They get anxious when separated from their people, so Pepper uses her special gnome powers to calm them down. She watches Cranky the high-strung ferret, Frank the laid-back parrot, King Arthur the elderly tortoise, and many others.

Then, something terrible begins happening to the familiars. Someone is stealing their magic! It not only prevents Pepper from communicating with them but breaks their magical connection with their people. When King Arthur’s magic is stolen, his owner’s powers stop working too. Pepper can sense that the tortoise is very scared.

In order to protect the animal's magic, Pepper decides to track down the culprit. With the help of her best friend, Luna, and her brother, Jax, Pepper fights to protect all of the special pets.

Wednesday, August 30, 2017

Audiobook Review for "Vegas to Varanasi" by Shelly Hickman!

*This post is also featured on my new book blog, Desert Rose Word Candy!

 Book Tour

Hiya! Check out this review for Vegas to Varanasi! It's an awesome audiobook, and a fun tour to be a part of!

Vegas to Varanasi


 Vegas to Varnasi

Fortytude, Book One

~Author: Shelly Hickman

~Narrator: Jazmine Ramay

~Released: July 27, 2017

~Length: 6 hours 35 minutes / 235 Pages

~Genres: Romantic Comedy


Anna has never been the beautiful one; she’s always been the nice one. So when the gorgeous man sitting across the table at a wedding reception remembers her from high school—and quite fondly at that—she’s taken off guard.

Formerly overweight and unpopular, Kiran has never forgotten Anna, the one person who was kind to him when no one else could be bothered, and Anna’s a bit flustered as she slowly comes to grips with his intense attraction for her.

In what feels like a romantic dream come true, all-grown-up, hunky Kiran invites Anna on a trip to Varanasi. But her troubled, whack-a-do ex-boyfriend starts interfering, creating drama at every turn, which begs the question, “Can nice girls really finish first?”

Tuesday, August 22, 2017

Blog Update

Hiya peeps! I've got a blog post update for you all, and I'm excited!


When I started Desert Rose Reviews, I hadn't intended for it to be a book blog. I just wanted to share my reviews of stuff, as suggested by a friend to help boost my confidence, and get me out of my shell a bit. 


I had set it up to review everything, not necessarily to be book focused. When I stared it though, I had recently re-discovered my love for books, and was spending most of my time reading. Therefore, my posts were about reviewing books.


I adore this blog, and it's going to keep going! However, I am making some changes.

I'm ready to expand the kinds of reviews I post though, and still want to use this blog to do that. I want to review books, movies, music, food, places, jewelry, clothes, products - anything I can!


Still, I do adore books. They are a huge part of my life, and I love promoting books and authors! So, I've made a second blog, that is specifically a book blog! I'm so stoked!!

Desert Rose Word Candy

 Desert Rose Word Candy

I hope you'll follow that blog and keep up with my book posts. It'll basically be the same stuff I post here, but even more, as I'd like to delve further into the book world...again.


I do hope you'll stick around here though, especially if you have multiple interests, like I do! I'll be reviewing a bunch of stuff, and sharing them all right here.


Thanks a ton for your support, and I hope to see you in future posts! =D

Ciao for now,

~Rose
@Desert Rose



Monday, August 21, 2017

"Masked" by J.D. Wright!

 Book Blitz!

Hiya peeps! Check out this awesome book!

Masked

Superheroes Undercover, #1

 Masked
~Published: August 15th, 2017

~Publisher: Limitless Publishing

~Genres: Paranormal, Superheroes, Young Adult


Vada’s To-Do List:
– Turn 18 (check!)
– Register super name
– Order supersuit
– Attend superhero indoctrination
– Graduate high school
– Start kicking criminal tail

Vada Lawson can’t wait to be a superhero. Born into a family with special powers, she’s been training to fight criminals and villains her whole life. But her indoctrination into the underground super community is derailed when normals start breaking out in superpowers themselves.

Not trained to control their new abilities, the normals are frightened and vulnerable. Then their mutilated corpses begin turning up all over town. What the heck?

Somehow, with the help—and hindrance—of an annoying newly-minted super named Orion, Vada has to stop the chaos before it destroys her and everything she holds dear…and ruins her superhero debut.

Friday, August 18, 2017

"Dream Frequency" by S.J. Lomas!


Hiya peeps! I've got a sequel to share with you today.

I shared the first book in the series (Dream Girl), including a Top Ten post of too listened to songs by the author, a couple years ago. Now, the sequel is finally released, and I'm excited to share it with you today!


Dream Frequency

 Dream Frequency
~Released: June 30th, 2017

~Length: 413 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy


Christine would never have considered herself new recruit material for a secret U.S. agency. Until recently, she's just been an ordinary girl graduating from high school and wondering if a friendship with Gabriel, a mysterious coworker, would grow into something romantic. When Christine's fascination with Gabriel leads to her discovery of dreamworlds, she learns that she's anything but ordinary. In this thrilling conclusion to Dream Girl, Christine and Gabriel must choose their allegiances and face corruption, conspiracy, and the complexities of love in order to save themselves and everyone who matters to them - or die trying.

"The Unlikeable Demon Hunter" by Deborah Wilde!


Hiya peeps! Check out this new romantic urban fantasy!

The Unlikeable Demon Hunter

Nava Katz #1

 The Unlikeable Demon Hunter
~Published: April 18th 2017

~Genres: Adult, Romance, Urban Fantasy

99¢ for a limited time only!

Bridesmaids meets Buffy with a dash of the seven deadly sins.

The age-old story of what happens when a foul-mouthed, romance impaired heroine with no edit button and a predilection for hot sex is faced with her worst nightmare–a purpose.

Ari Katz is intelligent, driven, and will make an excellent demon hunter once initiated into the Brotherhood of David. However, this book is about his twin Nava: a smart-ass, self-cultivated hot mess, who is thrilled her brother is stuck with all the chosen one crap.

When Nava half-drunkenly interrupts Ari’s induction ceremony, she expects to be chastised. What she doesn’t expect is to take her brother’s place among the–until now–all-male demon hunters. Even worse? Her infuriating leader is former rock star Rohan Mitra.

Too bad Rohan’s exactly what Nava’s always wanted: the perfect bad boy fling with no strings attached, because he may also be the one to bring down her carefully erected emotional shields. That’s as dangerous as all the evil fiends vying for the bragging rights of killing the only female ever chosen for Demon Club.

Odds of survival: eh.

Odds of having a very good time with Rohan before she bites it: much better.

Thursday, August 17, 2017

"Rowan Wood Legends" by Olivia Wildenstein!

 Book Tour

Hiya peeps! Check out this paranormal novel, featuring faeries!

Rowan Wood Legends

(The Lost Clan #2)

 Rowan Wood Legends
~Released: August 14th 2017

~Genres: Paranormal, Romance, Faeries

Lost Clan #1:
Rose Petal Graves

Goodreads
Amazon

SOME LEGENDS ARE BETTER LEFT UNTOLD.

I wasn’t the sort of girl who believed in fairytales, let alone tales about faeries. But that changed the day Faeries came to my small town and Hunters rose from their graves. 

On that fateful day, I received a book, a peculiar collection of myths and legends. Turns out it was so much more than stories. And just as I was on the verge of unlocking its secrets, it was stolen from me by someone I called a friend. 

Now, I don’t know whom I can turn to, whom I can trust. All I know is that there are two sides, and I am straddling the great divide because I am both Faerie and Hunter. And although I swore I would never choose, I am slowly falling for one of those sides…

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Shapeshifter Review for "Aranya" by Marc Secchia!

 Aranaya

Hiya peeps! I've got an exciting fantasy adventure to share with you today, and I hope you love it!! Check out the audio excerpt and my review, and be sure to let me know if you're adding this one to your reading piles!

Aranya

Shapeshifter Dragons, Book 1

 Aranya
~Author: Marc Secchia

~Narrator: Siromi Arserio

~Released: April 05, 2015

~Length: 14 hours 33 minutes / 454 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance


Chained to a rock and tossed off a cliff by her boyfriend, Aranya is executed for high treason against the Sylakian Empire. Falling a league into the deadly Cloudlands is not a fate she ever envisaged. But what if she did not die? What if she could spread her wings and fly?

Long ago, Dragons ruled the Island-World above the Cloudlands. But their Human slaves cast off the chains of Dragonish tyranny. Humans spread across the Islands in their flying Dragonships, colonising, building and warring. Now, the all-conquering Sylakians have defeated the last bastion of freedom–the Island-Kingdom of Immadia.

Evil has a new enemy. Aranya, Princess of Immadia. Dragon Shapeshifter.

Thursday, August 10, 2017

Shameless Self Promotion!

Hiya peeps! I had a couple of open days this week, so I thought I'd fill one of them with some (very awkward) self promotion!

Becoming an author has been the best experience of my working life thus far. At the same time, it's also the most difficult job I could have picked for myself, as I hate talking about myself, or things I've done.

But! To be an author, you must talk about your books! So, I'm sharing one of my books with you all today. It is available on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Smashwords! Written to appeal to fans of young adult paranormal adventure, this is the first book in a clean, action-packed series. It is finished for the moment, with all three books available, so you can plow through the story as quickly as you'd like!

Check it out below, and if you do pick up a copy, please leave a review. Thank you! =D

Desi Pere
Swirling Secrets, #1


 Desi Pere
~Released: February 2nd, 2016

~Length: 444 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Supernatural, Adventure

~Parent's Guide: PG-17


Magnhild, is a freak. From her name, right down to her naturally bizarre visage - she's an odd duck.

Her life has taken a swirling plunge into the drain the past few months, but it's nothing compared to what's coming. All she wants is to finish school, and start over somewhere fun. 

Fate, has other plans. 

Enter the Desi Pere underground organization, and three of it's loyal members. They've enlisted Magnhild's cooperation, whether she likes it or not. They mean to exploit her superhuman gifts - secrets she didn't think anyone knew about. The bait: reuniting her with her mother…who's supposed to be dead.

Overnight, she's dragged into a hidden world - and a war - the normal world knows nothing about. 

Danger, confusion, deception, and self-loathing fog each decision Magnhild faces. She desperately hopes to find her mother, and bring meaning to her past of abuse and isolation. Will she see through the web society has spun around her, or fall captive to century-old lies? In her search for the truth, she discovers she cannot find what she seeks, without first accepting herself, finding her inner strength, and embracing her bizarre life...


Praise for Desi Pere


"Entertaining, quirky, creative, and adventurous - this book is a lot of fun. ... This novel is an 'X-Men meets Dr. Evil' kind of young adult paranormal adventure." An Amazon Customer

"Very poignant and a page turner!!" Amazon Customer

"This is one of those books you can't put down!" Amazon Customer

"I definitely recommend for fans of young adult paranormal." Author Jessica Frances



Add to Goodreads!

Desi Pere (Swirling Secrets, #1)
Desi Pere (Swirling Secrets, #1)



Thanks a bunch for visiting, and be sure to let me know if you pick up a copy! =D


Saturday, August 5, 2017

Two Historical Fiction Novels! ~ My Reviews!

Hiya peeps! I've got two interesting novels today, for a virtual blog tour organized by Roger Charlie.

These books are fitting for anyone who enjoys historical fiction. One focuses on the lives of two people living in 20th century NYC, and how their lives unfold for a time. The second is the sequel, where this couple join a few others in dealing with the post Pearl Harbor bombing, as the U.S. enters WWII.

Be sure to check them out, and see my review for each book below! =D



 Sheldon Friedman
Sheldon Friedman was born in St. Joseph Missouri. He lives in Denver, Colorado. He is a University of Denver graduate and practiced law in Denver until 2008. He taught legal courses at the University of Colorado Law School, University of Denver Law School and Daniels School of Business at the University of Denver. After leaving his law firm he joined a national mediation and arbitration firm until January, 2016. He is also an accomplished playwright, having a number of local readings and productions. His play The Long Goodbye was staged at Denver's Crossroad's Theater in 2010. His book, The Velvet Prison was named as a 2017 fiction award finalist by the Colorado Author's League.

~ Connect with Sheldon Online ~




The Velvet Prison


 The Velvet Prison
~Released: September 14th, 2016

~Length: 244 Pages

~Genres: Historical Fiction

~Parent's Guide: PG-17


Against the pulsating back drop of a New York City in social and economic change, young Travis Kane struggles with his passion to be an artist painter, and the conservative demands of his strict grandfather, Barclay Kane.

His mother, unable to come to terms with tragedy, has taken Travis’s infant sister and abandons him, leaving their house in Gramercy Park, and Travis to be raised by the grandfather he adores.

Travis enters a New York speakeasy, with a unique idea, that will change his life, leading him on an exciting journey, meeting Manhattan’s privileged, studying in art in Paris and, finding his way to Broadway.

Meanwhile, Lindsay Wayne’s mother, seamstress, has a secret, and a passion. Her daughter will become a famous stage actress, and this is her focus.

Lindsay and Travis’s worlds collide.
Their lives will never be the same again.





A flashback to the past.

History has always fascinated me. I adore learning new ways people used to survive and thrive - how did life used to look? It's hard to believe where this book starts off is already a hundred years ago, especially considering how relatable the characters and their life are.

Travis's life is, sadly, all too common. Echoed again and again even in today's current climate, growing up with pain and the constant tension in the world, the threat of war constantly looming in the distance. He shows his character in several situations, following his artist's heart, even when life gets surprising and a little messy. The secret thread connecting him and Lindsay was easy to guess, and I supposed a bit predictable from the first few chapters, however I didn't feel as though I missed out. The progression was done well, and revealed in an entertaining way.

I liked Lindsay quite a bit. She was the kind of girl most of us enjoy having in our circle of friends, and is always an interesting person to be around. I enjoyed her personality, and how she interacted with other people. I can't help but take notice of how women are thought to have behaved in the past, and the contrast between her Hannah were striking, given their relationship. I think she was naive for constantly defending Hannah, instead of admitting the woman needed some help, and being more realistic about the overall situation. Still, it fit her personality to be a bit stubborn, and was more of a character trait than an actual complaint.

In the same ways the author described Travis painting, he created this book with a lot of color, making it easy to see what is meant to be important. The focus isn't so much the state of the war, or any particular country. It isn't a political statement piece, but rather a look into what an ordinary life would have looked like, and a taste of reality, from the view point of some well-created characters. Each one grew quite a bit, and were defined very well throughout the story.

My only complaint, is that the story lagged somewhat in a few places, with a bit too much emphasis was put on keeping things 'mysterious' for the reader, while other places felt far too rushed. It seems as though details could have been explained a in a more crisp manner, and the flow balanced better. Even so, the story overall was entertaining, and I would recommend it to other historical fiction fans.

*I was given a complimentary eCopy of this book, from the author, to read in exchange for an honest review.



The Satin Sash


 The Satin Sash
~Released: April 4th, 2017

~Length: 198 Pages

~Genres: Historical Fiction

~Parent's Guide: PG-17


After the Japanese attack Pearl Harbor in 1941, American lives change dramatically. The Satin Sash continues the breathtaking lives of Travis Kane, Lindsay Wayne and Jean-Paul Renault with all the inherent dangers of the French Resistance, President Roosevelt’s live or die missions, and death defying action when German spies secretly enter the US through it’s ports. A wedding reception and the lives of Travis Kane and his family are thrown into chaos as America enters World War II.

The Satin Sash is set against the explosive backgrounds of New York, France, London and Ireland. Travis Kane becomes President Roosevelt’s tool in bringing one of the world’s most famous paintings to New York. Racial tensions surface. A famous black activist enters politics and an actress makes choices in the face of heartbreaking tragedy. A public enemy serves his country in wartime and a black artist becomes famous. When a baby is born the future shows promise.

With tension, suspense and surprising plot twists, we continue to follow the lives of the people we loved in The Velvet Prison


 My Review


The gang is all grown up!

Travis and his companions seem to have a knack for finding and creating drama. The overall feel of this book reminded me of The Great Gatsby, with it's flare for dramatic and flamboyant situations and overall feel. While the characters all fit themselves, they each seemed to become a bit emotional - which was even noted in a joke by one of the characters.

While I enjoyed the progression of the story, I had been hoping for a different kind of story. The actions of each character were far more influenced by world events, which is fitting, but made it somewhat predictable and not quite as satisfying as the prequel. I suppose it's all in personal preference, but from the synopsis, I had simply been expecting something a bit different.

All that to say, this was still a good story. Seeing each character handle the different aspects of the confrontations made for an easy look at the different nations involved. While there didn't seem to be an overall point or message of the story, it was interesting to see the differences in the nations, and people dealing with war.

I did enjoy this book, and the plot twists surrounding several of the characters. The cultural differences of the period were portrayed well, and gives a stark contrast to the world we live in today. The author set the story up well, and the flow was far better than the previous book. I would recommend this to fans of The Velvet Prison, and would be interested in reading other books by this author.

*I was given a complimentary eCopy of this book, from the author, to read in exchange for an honest review.


Do you enjoy historical novels? Let me know in the comments below!

Thanks for visiting! Have a wonderful day! =D