Friday, September 15, 2017

"Ann, Not Annie" by Sage Steadman!

 Book Tour

Hiya peeps! Check out my review for this new release, and be sure to enter the giveaway at the end of the post!

Ann, Not Annie


 Anne Not Annie
~Published: September 20th, 2017

~Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult

On sale for $1.99 until release day!

Ann, not Annie, is tired of her nominal existence and has vowed to turn things around by dating the hottest guy in school, Jacob Waters. Easier said than done since Jacob isn’t even aware she exists. The truth is, due to Ann’s lively temper she spends more time in detention with the rest of the school rejects than she does fantasizing about Jacob Waters wearing spandex.

Her best friend and devout alien believer, Lisa, doesn’t like the changes she’s seeing in her BFF. Neither does Danny Feller, a fellow detention inmate and resident lost boy who has started keeping an extra watchful and unwanted eye on Ann.

When a chance encounter in an empty hallway changes everything, Ann finds all her dreams coming true and she is well on her way to living the perfect life she’s always wanted. But appearances aren’t always what they seem and Ann is going to have to face not just cold hard facts, but also her past.

Tuesday, September 12, 2017

"Touch of Fondness" Audiobook Review!

 Book Tour

Hiya peeps! I've got a new audiobook to share with you today. It's a new adult contemporary romance, and hopefully you'll enjoy it. Not too steamy, check out the excerpt and my review, before you enter the giveaway for a chance to win a $10 gift card!

Touch of Fondness

(Stay In Touch Series, #1)

 Touch of Fondness
~Author: Joy Penny

~Narrator: Susan Marlowe

~Publisher: Snowy Wings Publishing

~Released: July 12, 2017

~Length: 8 hours 17 minutes / 299 Pages

~Genres: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance


Four friends. Four college grads. Four people figuring out that life doesn't always turn out the way you expected.

Brielle Reyes may not have post-college life planned out like some of her friends do, but she figures she'll work for her mother's home cleaning service while job hunting for something that makes use of her history and philosophy degrees. It'll work out as long as she doesn't fall in love. Her last relationship was a disaster and she has no idea where she'll be in a few weeks, let alone the rest of her life. Since the only guy in her age range she sees now on a regular basis is cantankerous if handsome client Archer Ward, she probably won't have a hard time sticking to that vow. Probably.

Archer Ward likes very few things: illustrating as a somewhat-celebrated comic artist and his privacy. When his meddling mother hires him a cleaning service on an almost daily basis because she doesn't fully trust her son to live on his own with his disability, he's at first annoyed - even if his house cleaner is the most beautiful woman he's ever spent more than a few minutes with. When he realizes her dreams may take her far outside of his restricted orbit, he has to decide whether to stifle his interest in her or risk messing up her plans to explore if there's something more between them.

Neither can deny they're growing a little fond of each other, even if falling in love just now makes no sense whatsoever. But how often does love ever make perfect sense?

Monday, September 11, 2017

"Anticipation" by S.D. Thomas!


 Anticipation Blog Tour

Hiya peeps! I'm super excited to share a brand new release with you today. Anticipation is a young adult christian contemporary romance - how awesome is that!? I'm so excited to see more of this genre hitting the shelves, and am so happy to help share and promote this one! It sounds super sweet, so be sure to check it out, see the author's playlist and dream cast, and enter the giveaway at the end of the post!

Anticipation

 Anticipation
~Released: July 2017

~Publisher: Bookerfly Press

~Length: 245 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Christian, Contemporary, Romance


Cassie Smith wasn't expecting to fall in love with her best friend, Mark Santos, or the emotional turmoil she encounters in the relationship. But, this newfound love has her questioning the only commitments she's ever made: to God and to leaving her hometown. Will she change her mind and stay with Mark? Or will she risk everything she's ever known and loved to continue with her original plan?  

Thursday, September 7, 2017

"The Supernatural Pet Sitter" by Diane Moat!

*Be sure to check out this post on my new book blog!

 Book Tour

Hiya peeps! Today is a new audiobook release perfect for the fall season! A middle-grade fantasy fitting for the modern time. Check out the audio excerpt and my review below, before you enter the giveaway at the end of the post! =D

The Supernatural Pet Sitter

(The Magic Thief, #1)


 The Supernatural Pet Sitter
~Author: Diane Moat

~Narrator: Barbara Goldie

~Released: August 3, 2017

~Length: 4 hours 3 minutes / 140 Pages

~Genre: Middle-Grade Fantasy


Every animal can talk to you. You just have to know how to listen.

Pepper Neely is better at this than most, especially because she is in charge of pet sitting all the familiars in her neighborhood. A familiar is a pet magically linked to a witch or warlock. As a gnome, Pepper is no stranger to spells and sorcery. She also knows that, despite their special name, familiars aren’t all that different from regular animals. They get anxious when separated from their people, so Pepper uses her special gnome powers to calm them down. She watches Cranky the high-strung ferret, Frank the laid-back parrot, King Arthur the elderly tortoise, and many others.

Then, something terrible begins happening to the familiars. Someone is stealing their magic! It not only prevents Pepper from communicating with them but breaks their magical connection with their people. When King Arthur’s magic is stolen, his owner’s powers stop working too. Pepper can sense that the tortoise is very scared.

In order to protect the animal's magic, Pepper decides to track down the culprit. With the help of her best friend, Luna, and her brother, Jax, Pepper fights to protect all of the special pets.

Wednesday, August 30, 2017

Audiobook Review for "Vegas to Varanasi" by Shelly Hickman!

*This post is also featured on my new book blog, Desert Rose Word Candy!

 Book Tour

Hiya! Check out this review for Vegas to Varanasi! It's an awesome audiobook, and a fun tour to be a part of!

Vegas to Varanasi


 Vegas to Varnasi

Fortytude, Book One

~Author: Shelly Hickman

~Narrator: Jazmine Ramay

~Released: July 27, 2017

~Length: 6 hours 35 minutes / 235 Pages

~Genres: Romantic Comedy


Anna has never been the beautiful one; she’s always been the nice one. So when the gorgeous man sitting across the table at a wedding reception remembers her from high school—and quite fondly at that—she’s taken off guard.

Formerly overweight and unpopular, Kiran has never forgotten Anna, the one person who was kind to him when no one else could be bothered, and Anna’s a bit flustered as she slowly comes to grips with his intense attraction for her.

In what feels like a romantic dream come true, all-grown-up, hunky Kiran invites Anna on a trip to Varanasi. But her troubled, whack-a-do ex-boyfriend starts interfering, creating drama at every turn, which begs the question, “Can nice girls really finish first?”

Tuesday, August 22, 2017

Blog Update

Hiya peeps! I've got a blog post update for you all, and I'm excited!


When I started Desert Rose Reviews, I hadn't intended for it to be a book blog. I just wanted to share my reviews of stuff, as suggested by a friend to help boost my confidence, and get me out of my shell a bit. 


I had set it up to review everything, not necessarily to be book focused. When I stared it though, I had recently re-discovered my love for books, and was spending most of my time reading. Therefore, my posts were about reviewing books.


I adore this blog, and it's going to keep going! However, I am making some changes.

I'm ready to expand the kinds of reviews I post though, and still want to use this blog to do that. I want to review books, movies, music, food, places, jewelry, clothes, products - anything I can!


Still, I do adore books. They are a huge part of my life, and I love promoting books and authors! So, I've made a second blog, that is specifically a book blog! I'm so stoked!!

Desert Rose Word Candy

 Desert Rose Word Candy

I hope you'll follow that blog and keep up with my book posts. It'll basically be the same stuff I post here, but even more, as I'd like to delve further into the book world...again.


I do hope you'll stick around here though, especially if you have multiple interests, like I do! I'll be reviewing a bunch of stuff, and sharing them all right here.


Thanks a ton for your support, and I hope to see you in future posts! =D

Ciao for now,

~Rose
@Desert Rose



Monday, August 21, 2017

"Masked" by J.D. Wright!

 Book Blitz!

Hiya peeps! Check out this awesome book!

Masked

Superheroes Undercover, #1

 Masked
~Published: August 15th, 2017

~Publisher: Limitless Publishing

~Genres: Paranormal, Superheroes, Young Adult


Vada’s To-Do List:
– Turn 18 (check!)
– Register super name
– Order supersuit
– Attend superhero indoctrination
– Graduate high school
– Start kicking criminal tail

Vada Lawson can’t wait to be a superhero. Born into a family with special powers, she’s been training to fight criminals and villains her whole life. But her indoctrination into the underground super community is derailed when normals start breaking out in superpowers themselves.

Not trained to control their new abilities, the normals are frightened and vulnerable. Then their mutilated corpses begin turning up all over town. What the heck?

Somehow, with the help—and hindrance—of an annoying newly-minted super named Orion, Vada has to stop the chaos before it destroys her and everything she holds dear…and ruins her superhero debut.

Friday, August 18, 2017

"Dream Frequency" by S.J. Lomas!


Hiya peeps! I've got a sequel to share with you today.

I shared the first book in the series (Dream Girl), including a Top Ten post of too listened to songs by the author, a couple years ago. Now, the sequel is finally released, and I'm excited to share it with you today!


Dream Frequency

 Dream Frequency
~Released: June 30th, 2017

~Length: 413 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy


Christine would never have considered herself new recruit material for a secret U.S. agency. Until recently, she's just been an ordinary girl graduating from high school and wondering if a friendship with Gabriel, a mysterious coworker, would grow into something romantic. When Christine's fascination with Gabriel leads to her discovery of dreamworlds, she learns that she's anything but ordinary. In this thrilling conclusion to Dream Girl, Christine and Gabriel must choose their allegiances and face corruption, conspiracy, and the complexities of love in order to save themselves and everyone who matters to them - or die trying.

"The Unlikeable Demon Hunter" by Deborah Wilde!


Hiya peeps! Check out this new romantic urban fantasy!

The Unlikeable Demon Hunter

Nava Katz #1

 The Unlikeable Demon Hunter
~Published: April 18th 2017

~Genres: Adult, Romance, Urban Fantasy

99¢ for a limited time only!

Bridesmaids meets Buffy with a dash of the seven deadly sins.

The age-old story of what happens when a foul-mouthed, romance impaired heroine with no edit button and a predilection for hot sex is faced with her worst nightmare–a purpose.

Ari Katz is intelligent, driven, and will make an excellent demon hunter once initiated into the Brotherhood of David. However, this book is about his twin Nava: a smart-ass, self-cultivated hot mess, who is thrilled her brother is stuck with all the chosen one crap.

When Nava half-drunkenly interrupts Ari’s induction ceremony, she expects to be chastised. What she doesn’t expect is to take her brother’s place among the–until now–all-male demon hunters. Even worse? Her infuriating leader is former rock star Rohan Mitra.

Too bad Rohan’s exactly what Nava’s always wanted: the perfect bad boy fling with no strings attached, because he may also be the one to bring down her carefully erected emotional shields. That’s as dangerous as all the evil fiends vying for the bragging rights of killing the only female ever chosen for Demon Club.

Odds of survival: eh.

Odds of having a very good time with Rohan before she bites it: much better.

Thursday, August 17, 2017

"Rowan Wood Legends" by Olivia Wildenstein!

 Book Tour

Hiya peeps! Check out this paranormal novel, featuring faeries!

Rowan Wood Legends

(The Lost Clan #2)

 Rowan Wood Legends
~Released: August 14th 2017

~Genres: Paranormal, Romance, Faeries

Lost Clan #1:
Rose Petal Graves

Goodreads
Amazon

SOME LEGENDS ARE BETTER LEFT UNTOLD.

I wasn’t the sort of girl who believed in fairytales, let alone tales about faeries. But that changed the day Faeries came to my small town and Hunters rose from their graves. 

On that fateful day, I received a book, a peculiar collection of myths and legends. Turns out it was so much more than stories. And just as I was on the verge of unlocking its secrets, it was stolen from me by someone I called a friend. 

Now, I don’t know whom I can turn to, whom I can trust. All I know is that there are two sides, and I am straddling the great divide because I am both Faerie and Hunter. And although I swore I would never choose, I am slowly falling for one of those sides…

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Shapeshifter Review for "Aranya" by Marc Secchia!

 Aranaya

Hiya peeps! I've got an exciting fantasy adventure to share with you today, and I hope you love it!! Check out the audio excerpt and my review, and be sure to let me know if you're adding this one to your reading piles!

Aranya

Shapeshifter Dragons, Book 1

 Aranya
~Author: Marc Secchia

~Narrator: Siromi Arserio

~Released: April 05, 2015

~Length: 14 hours 33 minutes / 454 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance


Chained to a rock and tossed off a cliff by her boyfriend, Aranya is executed for high treason against the Sylakian Empire. Falling a league into the deadly Cloudlands is not a fate she ever envisaged. But what if she did not die? What if she could spread her wings and fly?

Long ago, Dragons ruled the Island-World above the Cloudlands. But their Human slaves cast off the chains of Dragonish tyranny. Humans spread across the Islands in their flying Dragonships, colonising, building and warring. Now, the all-conquering Sylakians have defeated the last bastion of freedom–the Island-Kingdom of Immadia.

Evil has a new enemy. Aranya, Princess of Immadia. Dragon Shapeshifter.

Thursday, August 10, 2017

Shameless Self Promotion!

Hiya peeps! I had a couple of open days this week, so I thought I'd fill one of them with some (very awkward) self promotion!

Becoming an author has been the best experience of my working life thus far. At the same time, it's also the most difficult job I could have picked for myself, as I hate talking about myself, or things I've done.

But! To be an author, you must talk about your books! So, I'm sharing one of my books with you all today. It is perma-FREE on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Smashwords! Written to appeal to fans of young adult paranormal adventure, this is the first book in a clean, action-packed series. It is finished for the moment, with all three books available, so you can plow through the story as quickly as you'd like!

Check it out below, and if you do pick up a copy, please leave a review. Thank you! =D

Desi Pere
Swirling Secrets, #1


 Desi Pere
~Released: February 2nd, 2016

~Length: 444 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Supernatural, Adventure

~Parent's Guide: PG-17


Magnhild, is a freak. From her name, right down to her naturally bizarre visage - she's an odd duck.

Her life has taken a swirling plunge into the drain the past few months, but it's nothing compared to what's coming. All she wants is to finish school, and start over somewhere fun. 

Fate, has other plans. 

Enter the Desi Pere underground organization, and three of it's loyal members. They've enlisted Magnhild's cooperation, whether she likes it or not. They mean to exploit her superhuman gifts - secrets she didn't think anyone knew about. The bait: reuniting her with her mother…who's supposed to be dead.

Overnight, she's dragged into a hidden world - and a war - the normal world knows nothing about. 

Danger, confusion, deception, and self-loathing fog each decision Magnhild faces. She desperately hopes to find her mother, and bring meaning to her past of abuse and isolation. Will she see through the web society has spun around her, or fall captive to century-old lies? In her search for the truth, she discovers she cannot find what she seeks, without first accepting herself, finding her inner strength, and embracing her bizarre life...


Praise for Desi Pere


"Entertaining, quirky, creative, and adventurous - this book is a lot of fun. ... This novel is an 'X-Men meets Dr. Evil' kind of young adult paranormal adventure." An Amazon Customer

"Very poignant and a page turner!!" Amazon Customer

"This is one of those books you can't put down!" Amazon Customer

"I definitely recommend for fans of young adult paranormal." Author Jessica Frances



Add to Goodreads!

Desi Pere (Swirling Secrets, #1)
Desi Pere (Swirling Secrets, #1)



Thanks a bunch for visiting, and be sure to let me know if you pick up a copy! =D


Saturday, August 5, 2017

Two Historical Fiction Novels! ~ My Reviews!

Hiya peeps! I've got two interesting novels today, for a virtual blog tour organized by Roger Charlie.

These books are fitting for anyone who enjoys historical fiction. One focuses on the lives of two people living in 20th century NYC, and how their lives unfold for a time. The second is the sequel, where this couple join a few others in dealing with the post Pearl Harbor bombing, as the U.S. enters WWII.

Be sure to check them out, and see my review for each book below! =D



 Sheldon Friedman
Sheldon Friedman was born in St. Joseph Missouri. He lives in Denver, Colorado. He is a University of Denver graduate and practiced law in Denver until 2008. He taught legal courses at the University of Colorado Law School, University of Denver Law School and Daniels School of Business at the University of Denver. After leaving his law firm he joined a national mediation and arbitration firm until January, 2016. He is also an accomplished playwright, having a number of local readings and productions. His play The Long Goodbye was staged at Denver's Crossroad's Theater in 2010. His book, The Velvet Prison was named as a 2017 fiction award finalist by the Colorado Author's League.

~ Connect with Sheldon Online ~




The Velvet Prison


 The Velvet Prison
~Released: September 14th, 2016

~Length: 244 Pages

~Genres: Historical Fiction

~Parent's Guide: PG-17


Against the pulsating back drop of a New York City in social and economic change, young Travis Kane struggles with his passion to be an artist painter, and the conservative demands of his strict grandfather, Barclay Kane.

His mother, unable to come to terms with tragedy, has taken Travis’s infant sister and abandons him, leaving their house in Gramercy Park, and Travis to be raised by the grandfather he adores.

Travis enters a New York speakeasy, with a unique idea, that will change his life, leading him on an exciting journey, meeting Manhattan’s privileged, studying in art in Paris and, finding his way to Broadway.

Meanwhile, Lindsay Wayne’s mother, seamstress, has a secret, and a passion. Her daughter will become a famous stage actress, and this is her focus.

Lindsay and Travis’s worlds collide.
Their lives will never be the same again.





A flashback to the past.

History has always fascinated me. I adore learning new ways people used to survive and thrive - how did life used to look? It's hard to believe where this book starts off is already a hundred years ago, especially considering how relatable the characters and their life are.

Travis's life is, sadly, all too common. Echoed again and again even in today's current climate, growing up with pain and the constant tension in the world, the threat of war constantly looming in the distance. He shows his character in several situations, following his artist's heart, even when life gets surprising and a little messy. The secret thread connecting him and Lindsay was easy to guess, and I supposed a bit predictable from the first few chapters, however I didn't feel as though I missed out. The progression was done well, and revealed in an entertaining way.

I liked Lindsay quite a bit. She was the kind of girl most of us enjoy having in our circle of friends, and is always an interesting person to be around. I enjoyed her personality, and how she interacted with other people. I can't help but take notice of how women are thought to have behaved in the past, and the contrast between her Hannah were striking, given their relationship. I think she was naive for constantly defending Hannah, instead of admitting the woman needed some help, and being more realistic about the overall situation. Still, it fit her personality to be a bit stubborn, and was more of a character trait than an actual complaint.

In the same ways the author described Travis painting, he created this book with a lot of color, making it easy to see what is meant to be important. The focus isn't so much the state of the war, or any particular country. It isn't a political statement piece, but rather a look into what an ordinary life would have looked like, and a taste of reality, from the view point of some well-created characters. Each one grew quite a bit, and were defined very well throughout the story.

My only complaint, is that the story lagged somewhat in a few places, with a bit too much emphasis was put on keeping things 'mysterious' for the reader, while other places felt far too rushed. It seems as though details could have been explained a in a more crisp manner, and the flow balanced better. Even so, the story overall was entertaining, and I would recommend it to other historical fiction fans.

*I was given a complimentary eCopy of this book, from the author, to read in exchange for an honest review.



The Satin Sash


 The Satin Sash
~Released: April 4th, 2017

~Length: 198 Pages

~Genres: Historical Fiction

~Parent's Guide: PG-17


After the Japanese attack Pearl Harbor in 1941, American lives change dramatically. The Satin Sash continues the breathtaking lives of Travis Kane, Lindsay Wayne and Jean-Paul Renault with all the inherent dangers of the French Resistance, President Roosevelt’s live or die missions, and death defying action when German spies secretly enter the US through it’s ports. A wedding reception and the lives of Travis Kane and his family are thrown into chaos as America enters World War II.

The Satin Sash is set against the explosive backgrounds of New York, France, London and Ireland. Travis Kane becomes President Roosevelt’s tool in bringing one of the world’s most famous paintings to New York. Racial tensions surface. A famous black activist enters politics and an actress makes choices in the face of heartbreaking tragedy. A public enemy serves his country in wartime and a black artist becomes famous. When a baby is born the future shows promise.

With tension, suspense and surprising plot twists, we continue to follow the lives of the people we loved in The Velvet Prison


 My Review


The gang is all grown up!

Travis and his companions seem to have a knack for finding and creating drama. The overall feel of this book reminded me of The Great Gatsby, with it's flare for dramatic and flamboyant situations and overall feel. While the characters all fit themselves, they each seemed to become a bit emotional - which was even noted in a joke by one of the characters.

While I enjoyed the progression of the story, I had been hoping for a different kind of story. The actions of each character were far more influenced by world events, which is fitting, but made it somewhat predictable and not quite as satisfying as the prequel. I suppose it's all in personal preference, but from the synopsis, I had simply been expecting something a bit different.

All that to say, this was still a good story. Seeing each character handle the different aspects of the confrontations made for an easy look at the different nations involved. While there didn't seem to be an overall point or message of the story, it was interesting to see the differences in the nations, and people dealing with war.

I did enjoy this book, and the plot twists surrounding several of the characters. The cultural differences of the period were portrayed well, and gives a stark contrast to the world we live in today. The author set the story up well, and the flow was far better than the previous book. I would recommend this to fans of The Velvet Prison, and would be interested in reading other books by this author.

*I was given a complimentary eCopy of this book, from the author, to read in exchange for an honest review.


Do you enjoy historical novels? Let me know in the comments below!

Thanks for visiting! Have a wonderful day! =D

Thursday, July 27, 2017

Seraphina Series Review & Giveaway!

 Book Tour

Hiya peeps! I've got an epic post for you today. It's an entire paranormal romance trilogy I reviewed from this promo tour, as well as a mega giveaway at the end!

Check it out, and be sure to let me know in the comments what you think of this series!


Wednesday, July 19, 2017

"The Essential Carl Mahogany" Promo Post!

 Book Tour!

Hiya guys! Check out this new novel! I've included an author interview below - check it out!

The Essential Carl Mahogany

 The Essential Carl Mahogany
~Released: March 24th, 2017 

~Length: 270 Pages

~Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, Neo-Western


What can an award-winning Nashville singer/songwriter learn about himself by agreeing to a best-of tour in a beat up old van? If it means getting out from under the thumb of a label that considers him washed up, he’s willing to find out. At least until an ex-lover wants to come along for the ride.

Carl Mahogany’s not your average protagonist. In the practiced drawl of the aging country singer, and echoing Edward Abbey’s Henry Lightcap, Boddicker takes us across the country in an Americana-steeped journey through Mahogany’s roots. Encounters with old friends and lovers, including the Eisenhower Interstate System, a firecracker tenured professor, former bandmates, and a down-to-earth small town mechanic, shake the dust out of Mahogany's creases to revision his life.

If a lifetime of travel, songwriting and performing equates to learning to work with the monsters inside us, The Essential Carl Mahogany is that journey. Grab a six pack, settle into the cushions, and come along for the ride.

Friday, July 14, 2017

Audiobook Review of "Gold Rush" by Jennifer Comeaux!


Hiya guys! I'm super stoked to share a new audiobook with you today! I've featured this author on my blog a few times already, but I hadn't  yet had the opportunity to read on of her books. I'm a huge fan of ice skating though, so her book topics always appeal to me.

When the chance to review this one came up, I jumped on it! Check out my review, and be sure to let me know what you think of this book in the comments below!

Gold Rush

 Gold Rush
~Released: January 9th 2017

~Length: 11 Hours, 39 Mins

~Narrator: Emily Stokes

~Parent's Rating: PG-14

~Genres: Young Adult, New Adult, Romance


Liza Petrov’s entire life has been about skating and winning her sport’s top prize – Olympic gold. She’s stayed sheltered inside her bubble, not daring to stray from her destined path. Until she meets Braden Patrick. He makes her heart flutter with possibility, and for the first time she gets a taste of a normal teenage life. She longs to have both the boy and the gold, but stepping outside her bubble comes with a price. As Liza begins to question both her future and her past, can she stay focused on the present and realize her ultimate dream?

Saturday, July 8, 2017

"The Book of Dragons" Audiobook by E. Nesbit!

 Book Tour!

Hiya peeps! I've got another audiobook review to share with you today, and this one is pretty darn cool! It's a modern narration of a classic collection of tales, all about dragons! Check out my review, an interview I had with the narrator, and an audio excerpt!

The Book of Dragons

The Book of Dragons, Books 1-8

 The Book of Dragons
~Author: E. Nesbit

~Narrator: Karen Krause

~Released: January 26, 2017

~Publisher: Listen2aBook.com

~Length: 4 hours, 53 minutes

~Genre: Classic Fantasy


Edith (E.) Nesbit was a master at weaving imagination and real life into timeless fairy tales, with fantastic mythical creatures, princes and princesses, magic, and just the right touch of silliness. This is a collection of nine of her fairy tales with a common theme - Dragons! For children from five to 95, these stories are not to be taken seriously. Let your imagination run wild!

Friday, July 7, 2017

"Mind Virus" by Charles Kowalski!

Book Tour!

Hiya guys! Today I'm participating in a review tour hosted by Roger Charlie, for a brand new thriller - Mind Virus. My review is below, so be sure to check that out, and let me know what you think in the comments below!

Mind Virus

 Mind Virus
~Released: July 1st, 2017

~Publisher: Literary Wonderlust

~Parent's Guide: PG-17

~Genres: Adult Fiction, Mystery, Thriller


Robin Fox is a peace-loving professor of world religions, trying to atone for his crimes as a U.S. Army interrogator. But at a Washington prayer rally, a suspect is caught trying to disperse a rare encephalitis virus, the same one used in an attack in Iraq that Fox once foiled. A CIA agent, John Adler, asks Fox for help.

Troubled by this request, Fox consults Emily Hart, his colleague at the United States Peace Research Institute and wife of its strongest supporter in Congress. She, however, has her own troubles. Leila Halabi, a Palestinian peace educator, has disappeared on the way to Washington for a lecture tour. Fox accepts Adler's request, in exchange for the CIA's help in finding Leila.

Fox works with a joint FBI-CIA interrogation team, and worries that Adler's prejudice against Muslims is clouding his judgment. The suspect eventually reveals that he is part of an international conspiracy to eradicate religion, "using one virus to cure another".

Fox deduces that the next attack is planned for Israel during Passover. Meanwhile, Emily learns that Leila has been imprisoned in Israel, and travels there to campaign for her release. Spurred by danger to the woman he loves – although he could never admit it, even to himself – Fox boards a plane that will reach Tel Aviv before her.

By careful observation, Fox catches another suspect at Ben-Gurion Airport. Now a hero to Israel, he persuades the head of Shin Bet to release Leila and let him interrogate the suspect.

He infers that the next attack is planned for Jerusalem on Holy Saturday. Joined by Adler, he sets up surveillance at the Church of the Holy Sepulchre, but fails to prevent an explosion.

Suspecting that this attack was a diversion, Fox reinterprets his clues and concludes that the real target is the Vatican. He and Adler fly to Rome in time to catch a suspect in the act of planting an aerosol device in the dome of St. Peter's during Easter Vigil Mass. Fox breaks her silence by intimating that her love for the group's mastermind has been betrayed. She reveals the name by which she knows him, and gives up enough information to identify the next target: Westminster Abbey, at an Easter service with the Royal Family attending. But at the same time, he receives a menacing message: Emily has been abducted by the mastermind, who threatens to kill her if any cameras catch Fox there.

Fox goes to London, enters the Abbey in disguise, and uncovers the most elaborate strategy yet: a sleeper agent in the Abbey choir planted the virus in a fire extinguisher, and used a time-release flammable agent to make the Archbishop's vestments spontaneously combust.

After stopping the attack, Fox roughs up the suspect but learns nothing. His escort from the Security Service takes him to question the mastermind's mentor at Oxford. Shocked to hear how his teachings have been twisted, he gives up a name: Theodore Gottlieb. They go to Gottlieb's house, to find him calmly awaiting them with high tea and high explosives.

After a standoff, the bombs detonate and set fire to the house. Fox, cut off from the police, has to chase Gottlieb to the room where Emily is being held hostage. Using his military training, he succeeds in seizing Gottlieb's pistol, but his principles of nonviolence will not allow him to shoot. They struggle, Gottlieb falls, and the firefighters rescue Fox and Emily in time.

They return to Washington. Adler has promised to tell the Saudis about the final target, Mecca during the Hajj, but Fox suspects he is lying and goes to the Saudi embassy himself. A furious phone call from Adler confirms his suspicions: the CIA was planning to let the attack proceed, and use an Army-designed antiserum to blackmail the entire Muslim world.

After launching Leila's tour, Fox and Emily walk together through the GWU campus. He yearns to tell her that, when he was sure his life was over, his only thought was of her. But discretion trumps valor, and when they say goodnight, his true feelings for her are still a secret.

Thursday, July 6, 2017

"In Her Blood" by Janice Jones!


Hiya peeps! Check out this new adult supernatural romance! It's the first book in the series, and is featured with a giveaway at the end of the post!

The Dagger Chronicles #1

 In Her Blood
~Published: May 1st 2015

~Publisher: Amberjack Publishing

~Genres: New Adult, Romance, Supernatural


Alex Stone wants to pretend the supernatural doesn’t exist.

As the owner of a hot new clothing line, the only thing she’s killing is her competition – until she gets a phone call from her past. As the Dagger, she was a member of the covert ops team tasked with hunting threats of the supernatural kind. For the super soldiers of Night Command, the rules were simple: take the pills, fight the bad guys, and live to tell no one. After putting a bad-ass vampire on ice landed her in a padded cell, Alex thought she’d left the hunting game for good. Now she’s in the orbit of a handsome vampire with a problem. And sometimes keeping secrets bites.

Jason Stavros has the best of everything and life eternal. To the human world, Jason was just a poor boy who made it to the top. For a human turned vampire, the fight for a place in the inner circle of the ruling class hinges on one task: convince the best ex-vampire hunting assassin to become his personal bodyguard and save them all.

Join Alex, Jason and a new team of young hunters as two worlds unite against a common enemy. As the body count begins to rise, Alex and the Tracker Team fight friends and enemies to find the answers they seek.

What’s been happening in the dark will finally come to light.